We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And a good time was had by all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbarella Restaurant & Bar

Barbarella Restaurant & Bar
2171 Avenida De La Playa, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3215
858-454-7373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,261 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Shores Drive
Transit: Bus Stop is located within walking distance.
Sherman Oaks
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“And a good time was had by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our table of 8 included kids, a diabetic, a vegetarian and a carnivore, and everyone was happy with their meal. Service was a little slow, but it was a busy Sunday afternoon in August. All the food we ordered was very good, and everything was a good-sized portion. The fritti was delicious, as well as the olive plate,and the heirlooms with burrata evoked everything good about summer farm-to-table goodness. The highlight was the Chino Hills corn, simple, delicious, and unbelievably sweet. It's a must try. Outside seating was a plus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast by the beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have only eaten breakfast here, but the lunch and dinner menus look great!! Favorite omelet is the spinach and Brie. Coffee is good and strong. Plus you can sit outside and smell the ocean air. Just an awesome all around relaxing place to start your Sunday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Mean Brisket for a Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Brisket in California? You betcha! I stopped by here for lunch after a nice Kayak-snorkel tour in La Jolla cove/caves. I was pleasantly surprised to have a wonderful outdoor dining experience, which was most notably due to the great food they served. The brisket sandwich was delightful and oozing with saucy goodness; so much so that I chose to eat the sandwich with a fork and knife instead of my hands. I washed it down with a very tasty Strawberry Lemonade.

To finish off, I had some of the best gelato I have ever had, banana with a French chocolate sauce on top that tasted like a delectable banana split. All-in-all, it was an unexpectedly good culinary experience and for a reasonable price by San Diego standards. I would definitely visit again if I were in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved our cozy little couch-type seating outside in the wonderful little surf town of La Jolla Shores. We dined at Barbarella 3 times in our week and had a great experience every time. The service was excellent and welcoming, the food was fresh and delicious and the atmosphere allowed us to relax and have a great conversation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The atmosphere was nice, service was good, but food items were too pricey and the food did not taste that great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbarella Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Barbarella Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbarella Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.