We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Return in a Heartbeat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge La Jolla Beach to your Saves list
Travelodge La Jolla Beach
6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Farmington, MI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Would Return in a Heartbeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Our room was very large with fridge, wetbar, microwave and in-room coffee as well as a vanity area outside of the bathroom making it convenient for more than one person to get ready at the same time in the morning.

The staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast was copious and staff didn't try to hurry up and put everything away each morning. Additionally fresh fruit was available all day long in the lobby.

The Wind and Sea beach is just one block away and is a very quiet beach compared to others in the area. Hot tub and pool were clean and comfortable temperatures.

We LOVED our stay here and would welcome the opportunity to return!

In the meantime, if you are considering this hotel it is a great value! (A big plus is the "free" parking - many hotels in this area charge a per diem rate for parking.)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    204
    51
    28
    8
See reviews for
162
195
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed here as an alternative to the more pricy hotels in La Jolla. For under $80/night this is good value. The room was very clean and staff was friendly. I booked this hotel based on the numerous other positive reviews and I am happy to say that I am in agreement. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Pretty average Travelodge motel but with very nice staff and an unbeatable location just 2 blocks from the nicest beach (Windansea) in La Jolla. Great coffee shop and good Mexican place just next door. Short walk to nearest 7eleven. Very convenient. There is even a public bus stop to take you into downtown San Diego, so this could even be used for a beach vacation without a car.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This was the best place that my wife and I could of found. First to start of, the staff here is the most friendly we encountered on our cross country trip. We stayed in many hotels from Florida to California and this tops them all. The location is amazing, right down the street from the famous surf break windandsea. You can walk to the beach with your board or go and watch the beautiful sunset from the beach rocks. The hotel is also positioned in just the right place so that you can walk to the beautiful village of lajolla or go for a short bike ride and check out the party life of pacific beach. I would recommend this place to anyone :)

ps: oh and the owner has some cute pugs in the lobby

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annonymous
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Lovely big rooms with small kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Great for preparing kiddies meals and washing bottles. Staff all very helpful. Breakfast was basic but good for the price we paid. Hotel rooms are very tired and in need of a revamp but the cleanliness and size of the rooms makes up for the tired decor and condition of the rooms (especially the bathrooms). Close to the ocean where there is a lovely boardwalk to walk along. Great location to the beach but a bit of a walk to restaurants and other amenities for dining etc. But all in all, it was a great experience and we will most certainly go back if we are in the area. Will most definitely recommend to friends too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Front desk help was awesome. We enjoyed the hotel right in the middle of downtown la jolla and the beach. Nothing to rave about in terms of fashion but this hotel is squeaky clean, has what you need and is a GREAT value!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, MT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

What a great value! Only one block from the beach with shopping and the cove in walkable distance. The bathroom doorway was small but overall the room was clean and quite comfortable with a fridge, microwave, safe, free wi-fi and free parking. For under a hundred dollars, we felt this was the best deal around. The swimming pool and hot tub were well-maintained, clean and just the right temperature. We plan to stay here again on our next visit. The area was relatively quiet and the location was great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge La Jolla Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge La Jolla Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travelodge
La Jolla Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge La Jolla Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.