We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge La Jolla Beach to your Saves list
Travelodge La Jolla Beach
6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    203
    51
    28
    8
See reviews for
161
194
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

La Jolla is expensive period. This hotel is basic and great for the money. The owner is so friendly. They have a heated pool and hot tub, both are small but fabulous. It's located close to the beach and close to grocery stores and such. We have come back here time and time again. Always clean and tidy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Your great review describes us precisely, thank you. We strive to be the best value for the area and we are delighted when we reach this goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Courtenay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

So we came back again...why we wouldn't we? Okay is not a flash place, there is no room service etc. But you do get super value for money. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy a simple breakfast is in with the price. The staff are lovely and are very helpful. Idea placed for a walk into La Jolla shopping area and a lovely walk along the cliffs to La Jolla shores-why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a kingsize room-just a bit nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for coming back and thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. When you start planning your next trip to La Jolla, please call us directly. We love our return guests and we have a special return guest rate, which is always better than the Internet specials! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the La Jolla Travelodge for the second time. The rooms are plain but clean and comfortable. What I really appreciated was the heated pool. A lot of hotels in San Diego say they are heated but this one, though small, was really heated. And the adjacent Jacuzzi was nice as well. I could see that the front desk and staff make an effort to keep this property in order and I appreciate that. The location is great, only a block from the Windandsea beach oceanfront and a few blocks from La Jolla town center. La Jolla is a beautiful part of San Diego which in itself is a beautiful city. We rented bikes for a couple days and got around La Jolla and nearby Pacific/MIssion Beach that way. The only problem is parking. It is tight especially at night when all the guests are back in their rooms. Several nights we ended up parking in the back alley. You can always find parking but it may not be near your room. There are no resort fees and the internet is fast and free. Our room was modern with a frig and microwave and some other extras and if you book for three nites there is a 20% discount. Believe me this a great bargain for San Diego.! We will be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a street level room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. The location of the motel is truly amazing. It is very close to everything, but it is definitely not a tourist catch. The Windansea beach is 300 yards away from the hotel and it is never crowded, perfect for surfing, swimming, sunbathing, walking, looking at the tide pools and watching a gorgeous sunset. You can walk to all the stores, galleries and restaurants or ride your bike. There is a public bus that stops right in front of the hotel. It will take you to the down town San Diego, Old Town, Pacific Beach, La Jolla Shores, La Jolla Village, UCSD, VA hospital and University Towne Center.
Thank you for mentioning our parking. There is a large parking lot in the front of the hotel and there are 2 more parking lots around the building. It is always best to ask anyone at the front desk for assistance if you are having difficulties with finding the parking spot. We always have space for all our guests and we are always ready to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I visited San Diego right before thanksgiving week and got a really good price. The quality of the room was way better than other motel-grade travelodges. This was more like a small scale boutique hotel with flat screen tv and quality bath supplies. We didn't have a tub -but didn't miss it. Pool was small, but nice. Didn't use it either.
The location is amazing. Bus stops, the windansea beach, good restaurants all within minutes of walking.
It was a way better experience than staying in a typical travelodge. Considering its La Jolla, I am not complaining..

Room Tip: Don't miss the sunset at Windansea Beach. Its just 2-3 mins walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are really happy you have found your room had everything you needed on your trip. All our rooms have a fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker. There is an ironing board and an iron. There is a hairdryer and a light-up makeup mirror in the bathroom. We have free Wi-Fi and brand new flat screen TVs in every room. We offer free parking and free breakfast. There is a nice pool and Jacuzzi. The pool is heated to 84° and the Jacuzzi is amazing all year round. There is a guest laundry on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge La Jolla Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge La Jolla Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travelodge
La Jolla Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge La Jolla Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.