We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Adequacy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Save Saved
You added Travelodge La Jolla Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge La Jolla Beach
6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in Adequacy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had read the reviews of the Travelodge La Jolla and they were generally favorable. The price was right, the location was great (one block from the beach), and the room was clean and adequate. The desk people were all very nice, especially Olga who went out of her way to help us connect to the internet. The internet connection was a bit spotty to the point of being annoying. All in all it was a really good place for the price. We wouldn't hesitate to go back. (this in in spite of the fact that the housekeeper used bleach to clean the bathroom sink counter and my wife had a sweatshirt that got spotted to the point of being ruined)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
At La Jolla Beach Travelodge we have free High Speed Wi-Fi. It covers the whole area of the hotel and it provides strong reliable connection. Recently we made some changes to our network settings. It might have been the time you were having trouble connecting. We can assure you that with our new improvements next time you visit us your Wi-Fi will work smoothly.
Thank you very much for your helpful feedback. We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. We always hear great comments about our housekeeping personnel. They do a very good job cleaning the rooms and the hotel premises. They follow our guests’ requests and directions regarding maid service. The maids won’t use any bleach or air fresheners if you tell them not to. They won’t even enter the room if you put a Do-Not-Disturb sign out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    180
    47
    26
    8
See reviews for
140
170
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

OK, we were lucky, and snapped up the penthouse - an expansive room surrounded by balconies, with a view to Windansea Beach (room 245).
This is a Travelodge with a difference, thanks to General Manager Daniel Nesbitt and his friendly, professional team. Everything was spotless, and the staff were so welcoming and helpful.
It's a reasonably priced, conveniently located hotel from which to explore this beautiful area.
We felt right at home, and would happily return here for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse, room 245. View, quiet, large....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We want nothing more than to make La Jolla Beach Travelodge your home away from home and we will be here for you every time you decide to come and visit La Jolla, The Jewel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved La Jolla and surfed at Windansea. We reserved one night at Travelodge La Jolla and ended up staying for a second. The location is great and its just a few blocks from Windansea surf break. The hotel is dated and the rooms are awkwardly configured. There is no bathtub, rather a stand up shower only, and the room had an old tube tv. However, the pool and spa were immaculate and the spa was the biggest I saw in two weeks of travel in San Diego. The front desk attendants were very nice and helpful, and even let me keep the key to the laundry room past the scheduled closing time. Great value for the hotel. Definitely try Su Casa Mexican next door and pick up the 25% off coupon at the hotel desk. Complimentary breakfast was nice, but not extraordinary.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are located just 300 yards from WindanSea Beach and it is definitely one of the greatest highlights of the stay for many of our guests. There are 6 different types of rooms at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. All rooms with two double beds have bathtubs. We have replaced old tube TVs with the flat screen TVs in many of our rooms already. We will have flat screen TVs in all of our rooms by the end of 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a very nice motel in La Jolla located very close to the beach. Rooms are spacious, with refrigerator and free wifi. Breakfast is quite good with sandwiches, croissants, cereals, coffee/tea. Free parking. Good chinese restaurant just across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
What a perfect review! Thank you!
We put a lot of effort into creating a perfect place to provide our guests with the most authentic California beach experience. We thought about all of the things you might need while staying with us: a truly clean room with a fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker, a hairdryer, a lighted makeup mirror, A/Cs that also work as heaters, free Wi-Fi and a cable TV, free breakfast, all day coffee and tea in the lobby, a pool heated to 84°F and a nice Jacuzzi, guest Laundry, ice machine, snack machine, Coke machine, and free parking. Most importantly – the beach is at the end of our block!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge La Jolla Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Travelodge La Jolla Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travelodge
La Jolla Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge La Jolla Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.