We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge La Jolla Beach to your Saves list
Travelodge La Jolla Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The beach is only 1 block away. The room was clean and as others have said, the bed was comfortable. If we ever come back to the area we would stay here again. Great value for the price. The pool and jacuzzi looked really nice, but it was cool and raining when we were there. There was a great Mexican restaurant across the street, which the motel gave us a coupon for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We really appreciate your great review. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed yourselves even though the weather was cool and rainy. There are a lot of things to do in La Jolla and San Diego on a rainy day. You can visit the La Jolla Museum of Contemporary Art on Prospect Street in La Jolla Village. It always offers a fresh collection of modern art masterpieces. You can also go up to La Jolla Shores and spend a day in Birch Aquarium. The aquarium belongs to Scripps Institute of Oceanography and showcases the latest research in marine biology. It also has an amazing collection of marine animals and a great gift shop. At the front desk we have dozens of brochures and we are always happy to give directions and provide more information about these places and many more La Jolla and San Diego attractions that are easy to drive to or reach by public transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    238
    56
    29
    9
See reviews for
181
226
48
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Are the fancier places in La Jolla? Yes. Are there more expensive places in La Jolla? Yes.
Is there any place we'de rather stay in La Jolla? No. Why? Because of the unbeatable combination of great staff, comfortable room and reasonable prices. Thanks for being there for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
You are very welcome. Thank YOU for staying here, for coming back and for giving us a great feedback. We’ll always be there for you. It’s your comments and reviews that made La Jolla Beach Travelodge a cozy, comfortable and friendly place where people want to come back to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thank you for the greatest time and the cleanest rooms. We are coming back in June and we will stay again at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. We loved that Windansea Beach was just a block away. We rented bikes and travelled all around La Jolla Village, La Jolla Shores and Torrey Pines. It was awesome that we had everything we needed at the hotel: free wi-fi, laundry facilities, pretty warm pool and Jacuzzi, hairdryer in the room and really nice coffee in the morning for breakfast. The front desk clerks helped us a lot with directions and printed our boarding passes. Wow! We stayed 3 weeks in California and it was the best reasonably priced hotel we have found! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I wrote our requests in the comments line when I booked the room on travelodge.com The room was ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The biggest compliment for La Jolla Beach Travelodge is that you are planning to come back. It is always very rewarding for everyone who works here to know that we have exceeded the guest’s expectations and managed to become a comfortable home away from home. Thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you here in La Jolla soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Courtenay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well what hasn't already been said? This place is value for money! It is clean, the beds are so comfy! The staff are lovely. ideally placed-close to La Jolla centre, a very short walk to Windansea Beach. $5 return bus ride to La Jolla shore to go kayaking, use the same bus ticket to ride to downtown San Diego, or even the airport? If we ever return to SD this is where we'll stay be fools not to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did some research and got the numbers that show that we are as you said “ideally placed”. WindanSea Beach - 300 yards, Downtown La Jolla - 1 mile, La Jolla Cove - 1.5 miles, UCSD - 4 miles, VA Hospital - 4.5 miles, Scripps Hospital - 7 miles, Scripps Pier - 4 miles, La Jolla Shores - 4 miles, Torrey Pines Golf Course - 7 miles, Bird Rock - 1 mile, Crystal Pier - 3 miles, Old Town - 9 miles, Del Mar Race Track - 12 miles, San Diego Zoo - 14 miles, Balboa Park - 14 miles, US/Mexico Border - 30 miles, Coronado - 18 miles, SD Airport - 14 miles, Sea World - 7 miles, Legoland - 25 miles. La Jolla Beach Travelodge is located in the most perfect spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you enjoy a classic 50's style while on a road trip, this is it. Clean, comfortable and very friendly!
The value for the area is fantastic. The penthouse has a private patio, a view of the ocean and a private staircase to the pool and spa. An easy walk to the beach. This is not an overdone high buck place but it is a very nice classic and clean place. Nice updates like the flat screen tv, good quality bedding make me want to return. A mid century classic!

Room Tip: Get the penthouse. Private patio and a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
A 50’s style classic! What a great description! We do feel like La Jolla Beach Travelodge is aging gracefully adding those little improvements like a spa and a heated pool that make the hotel more elegant. We did preserve the Hwy 101 spirit, so get in the car and you have a place to stay in La Jolla while you are on your road trip. You are sure to be welcomed by our friendly staff with a clean comfortable room with modern ACs and heating units, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, lighted makeup mirrors, hairdryers, and kitchenette facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge La Jolla Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge La Jolla Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge La Jolla Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travel Lodge
La Jolla Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge La Jolla Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.