We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Save Saved
You added Travelodge La Jolla Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge La Jolla Beach
6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Afton, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you enjoy a classic 50's style while on a road trip, this is it. Clean, comfortable and very friendly!
The value for the area is fantastic. The penthouse has a private patio, a view of the ocean and a private staircase to the pool and spa. An easy walk to the beach. This is not an overdone high buck place but it is a very nice classic and clean place. Nice updates like the flat screen tv, good quality bedding make me want to return. A mid century classic!

Room Tip: Get the penthouse. Private patio and a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
A 50’s style classic! What a great description! We do feel like La Jolla Beach Travelodge is aging gracefully adding those little improvements like a spa and a heated pool that make the hotel more elegant. We did preserve the Hwy 101 spirit, so get in the car and you have a place to stay in La Jolla while you are on your road trip. You are sure to be welcomed by our friendly staff with a clean comfortable room with modern ACs and heating units, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, lighted makeup mirrors, hairdryers, and kitchenette facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    175
    44
    26
    8
See reviews for
129
170
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ever time i go to S.D. for r/r I always stay here. It is clean, very close to the beach, great little
places to dine (Just love "the promiscious fork:) and few other places. If i had two things to
share with I would like to see is. 1) Fresher smelling rooms (air freshners) 2) When housecleaning cleans the toilet from the previous occupants, put the paper over the seat that
show the toilet was cleaned (hopefully you know what that means. 3) Lastly. Your GM Danny
is excellent, I really enjoy his personality and he is always helpful. However, the young lady
who is usually in the morning shift can be more friendlier. I highly recommend she attends some
customer service training and smile more. Other than that, my only place to stay over the last 13 years. Thanks also for the great rates

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for always staying here for the last 13 years. It’s a great reward for all our efforts. We appreciate all your observations and advice. We can learn a lot from looking at ourselves with the eyes of the return guest. All our front desk people attend regular trainings. We believe that if the training is right it boosts motivation and contributes greatly to the person’s performance.

We try to air the rooms out naturally and to use fans and ozone machines rather than to spray air fresheners. Some people are allergic on chemicals and many of our guests prefer not to have their rooms sprayed. We have air fresheners available at the front desk for the guests to use. Also by request the housekeepers will spray the room every time they clean it.

We used to put a paper liner on the toilet seat years ago but no longer. It was a strip of paper that went around the seat and cover. It didn’t mean the toilet was clean because someone could lift the cover and seat and use the toilet. We just follow the Travelodge standards and make sure the toilet is properly cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked our stay here after reading many glowing reviews, and we were not disappointed. The entire staff is friendly, courteous, and eager to please. The room was comfortable and included a table and two chairs, a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. It had everything we could need, as there were several electrical outlets in the room and plenty of lighting in both the sleeping room and the bathroom. The continental breakfast, with bagels/cream cheese, pastries, cereal, and fruit, was generous. The property itself is well maintained and lovingly cared for. The location is terrific, too. The beach is just a short walk away. Plenty of interesting shops and restaurants, as well as a supermarket, are nearby. Downtown San Diego is less than 30 minutes away. This motel has it all, and we wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! Everyone who works here: the housekeepers, the maintenance, front desk personnel and the management sincerely love La Jolla Beach Travelodge. The hotel is close to the beach, to La Jolla Village, UCSD, Torrey Pines, La Jolla Shores, and many other popular places. The hotel has everything a person needs at a home away from home: Free Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, laundry facilities, heated pool, Jacuzzi, Cable TV and a clean comfortable bed and bathroom. We do everything we can so that all of our guests feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible. For these reasons we have many loyal guests who will only stay at La Jolla Beach Travelodge when they visit San Diego. We are grateful for the exposure we get on Tripadvisor because it brings us new many new guests that will quickly become new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very clean and staff is friendly...I really enjoyed the oranges on the breakfast every morning. Pool is warm and hot tub even better. The Wind an Sea beach a block away has really white sand but we went to La Jolla Shores Drive to play in the water, anyways, since thats where the rental places are. Very good value. Older motel but kept up as well as anyone could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at La Jolla Beach Travelodge. We get a lot of compliments on the fresh fruit we serve during our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer fresh apples and oranges, a variety of pastries that are delivered daily from the local bakery, assorted bagels with the choice of cream cheese and jelly, oatmeal, cereal with milk, freshly brewed coffee, black and herbal teas, orange juice and hot chocolate.

La Jolla Beach Travelodge is a perfect place to stay if you are here to enjoy the ocean. We are really close to many beautiful local beaches. It’s less than 300 yards to the WindanSea Beach. The Children’s pool, where the seals are, is a mile north. La Jolla Cove, one of the most photographed beaches in Southern California is about one and a half miles. We are about 3 miles from La Jolla Shores and Pacific Beach. The front desk staff is always happy to help with recommendations, directions, local information and any other assistance that a guest might need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#16 of 23 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
13.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.0 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#8 of 23 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
4.7 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge La Jolla Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Travelodge La Jolla Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travelodge
La Jolla Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge La Jolla Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.