We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location but we felt cheated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge La Jolla Beach to your Saves list
Travelodge La Jolla Beach
6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good location but we felt cheated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

WE stayed at this hotel on the second week in July 2011, on holiday. We chose it because of its great location just two minutes from the beautiful Wind and see beach, home of some marvelous surfers.
The room was very good for the budget: clean, comfortable and with a small kitchen (sink, fridge and refrigerator).
No common room for breakfast, which was rather poor as usual for this kind of accommodation, but there is a nice bakery nearby and for supper a good mexican restaurant is just in front of the hotel.
But we had a rather nasty surprise with the bill: we had used our room telephone to call relatives in Italy and were VERY disappointed to see they charged TEN DOLLARS for two calls I made when nobody answered.
When I complained Olga, the rather unresponsive receptionist, told me "It's the computer's fault" and then offered to cancel one of the two.
She thought it was a deal, but I don't see why I should be pleased to be charged for calls I didn't make, then having to argue with the receptionist and be charged for something I didn't buy all same.
I would love to hear a more satisfying reply form them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We are surrounded by lots a great restaurants. There are half a dozen within 2 blocks. Downtown La Jolla is just a mile and is nothing but shops and restaurants. Our motel was built in 1957, prior to the age of continental breakfast. We serve the same breakfast that every Travelodge does and we serve it in our office. From 7-10 a.m. each morning we have: fresh coffee, orange juice, tea, bagels, muffins, danish, apples, oranges and two kinds of cereal with milk. Many of our guests take the breakfast to their room and some sit by our pool which has tables and chairs.

As the guest stated, each of our rooms has a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. Every room also has air conditioning and free wireless internet.

We don't want to ruin an otherwise great stay over a $10 phone call so of course we will refund that as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    201
    51
    28
    8
See reviews for
158
192
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a fabulous stay in June of 2011. We were greeted by the manager who had a great talk with us as we were registering in. Since he noticed we had stayed here a few times before, he upgraded us to the best room they had ...the penthouse !!
The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The view was also great.
We would recommend this little jewel of La Jolla to stay at ...anytime !!!
My husband and I will definitely be back next time we are in San Diego !

Room Tip: I recommend rooms on the second floor, there is less chance of noise of people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I've been staying at the Travelodge in La Jolla, for over 15 years, when ever i come to San
Diego. They have always treated me like family.
I've never been disappointed in the room or amenities. It's close to many restaurants and
the beach. I highly recommend the Travelodge at 6750 La Jolla Blvd.
Ryan Sevin
Houston, TX

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I am not one to stay at the budget locales for more than a night, but using tripadvisor as my guide I took a chance and booked five nights here over the long Fourth of July holiday. I was not disappointed. The Travelodge delivers what you pay for--a clean, comfortable room located only a few minutes walk from a beautiful Pacific Ocean beach. You use the basic room as a pit stop for your California gateway--not a destination unto itself. But the bed was comfortable, the wi-fi worked, noise was not a problem (although the old fashioned air conditioning could be a bit annoying), on-site management was courteous and the place was clean. It was budget priced for a couple of my nights, but the rate skyrocketed--as it does everywhere for July 3 and 4. Still, you are not going to beat the value. This is an especially easy place for singles and couples. The kids were in sight and there is a pool, but it seemed a little cramped for the little ones. The on-site parking is available and welcome. No charge. You are a few minutes away from the downtown of La Jolla village--a truly wonderful respite. But the real plus is that short stroll to windansea beach behind the hotel. Congrats to Travelodge on this set-up. Can't speak for others in their chain, but having spent nearly a week at the La Jolla locale, I can confidently say that if you are shopping for a good, basic hotel in La Jolla with a good location this one deserves your serious consideration.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great location, can't beat the neighborhood and proximity to beach as well as safe and secure. Staff very helpful. Will definitely stay here again. Free wifi if you bring laptop

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I don't know where to start. The staff has been amazingly helpful and friendly both times we've stayed there, and they were wonderful about fulfilling our request for a specific room even when we had to alter our original reservations. The rooms are extra clean and have every thing you need to enjoy your time there. While everything and everyone is very professional, the atmosphere is not stuffy. The location is great, right between downtown La Jolla and PB - every where you need to go is quick and easy to get to. And they are within walking distance to a beach that isn't overpopulated. If you just want to a place to get away from everything, totally relax and enjoy yourself, this is ABSOLUTELY your best bet.

Room Tip: Book on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel was comfortable, quite clean, quiet & well priced. Staff was friendly, gave good local recommendations & appeared to enjoy being there. Having the incredible Windandsea Beach within walking distance was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyBearLaJolla, General Manager at Travelodge La Jolla Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
There are only 3 of us at the front desk. Myself, Olga and Natalia and we have all been here long enough to know the area well enough to help our guests with most all of their needs. WindanSea is a real jewel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge La Jolla Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge La Jolla Beach

Address: 6750 La Jolla Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge La Jolla Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge La Jolla Beach Hotel La Jolla
Travel Lodge La Jolla
La Jolla Travelodge
La Jolla Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge La Jolla Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.