We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and price trump the few negatives to the property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Village Lodge

La Jolla Village Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Jolla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
La Jolla Village Lodge
Save Saved
You added La Jolla Village Lodge to your Saves list
1141 Silverado Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Location and price trump the few negatives to the property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Most the prior reviews by fellow travelers on this property have been accurate. You can't beat the location for the price. It is 1 block off Girard St. the main shopping street in La Jolla with stores, restaurants, and bars conveniently close. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the La Jolla cove.
The owners are really nice. I paid $134 for a King Bed room on a Saturday night in high season (June 30-2012). The rooms are clean but in need of upgrades and paint. The bathroom was tiny and the room barely adequate- but then who stays in the room all day? You do get a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Our room did have a TV but it was not a flat panel TV. There is a deck on the 3rd floor with a gas BBQ and loads of space for guests who want to hold a party or dinner. You have a limited view of the ocean. A really great option. There may be nicer motels/hotels in La Jolla but you can't miss this one if you want prime location on a limited budget.

Room Tip: Room 128 on 2nd floor- 1 King Bed- right off the stairway on the end. You have a covered patio with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, IA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great place to stay for families with a dog - located in center of La Jolla - 5 blocks to the ocean.
Maureen and staff are very courteous and eager to serve - loaned us beach chairs and towels for our trip to Del Mar beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin Park, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I left on a friday night and knew we were going to La Jolla, but we hadn't booked a hotel, we were kind of an adventure I guess. Once we reached the city, we parked at a gas station and used our phones to search for hotels. The La jolla village lodge was the most inexpensive hotel we found and they had rooms available!! Staff was friendly and when we got our room, we were pleasantly surprised by the cute restroom, soft bed, massage chair and flat screen tv. If you want luxury, its not here, but if u want a nice, comfortable, clean place to stay that's near the beach then this is your spot. In the morning, there was continental breakfast out by the patio, and it was a nice surprise for the price we paid we didnt think it offered that much. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. You spend most of your time out enjoying La Jolla anyways, so what you want is to rest and sleep when your back at your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our son is going to UCSD so we like going down to San Diego area as often as we can. We have tried many hotels in that area and since we are on a budget it can be hit and miss. We found this place through another hotel we stayed at . We couldn't stay there because of our new edition ,Sammy our Labradoddle . Maureen ( the owner ) was really nice and informative on the phone . the place is three blocks from the beach and downtown La Jolla .the Lodge has been in the family for 60 years , and it shows around the edges but nothing to worry about ! Tommy Bahama bedspreads, comfortable beds , and the place was surprisingly clean for a "beach Hotel "and the fact it's dog friendly . We maybe going back for a week in August .Also if you stay here try the Come on Inn right down the street gourmet foods at burger joint prices..all in all I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

First the positives: a pleasant, helpful couple that are the owner-managers; walking distance to beach; in the center of La Jolla. The less positive: overpriced for what you get; on a street that is sometimes noisy; a breakfast of orange juice, tea or coffe and bread or pastry. If one of your reasons to come here is to be near La Jolla Cove the beach is small and crowded; the snorkeling mediocre. On our trip the underwater visibility was 10 feet and the water temperature was between 62 and 66 degrees in August.. The better restaurants here are pricey. But there is a very pleasant walk by the cliffs and the ocean air is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I was a little nervous booking this hotel but overall we had a good stay. The rooms definitely show their age and need renovation, but the beds were comfortable and the location was fantastic. There is a deck on the roof with tables, chairs and a grill. This was a great feature for us to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the sunset. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. Be sure to request the queen room on the 3rd floor, which has an extra set of windows and is adjacent to the roof deck. This room seemed to be more updated, and much brighter and quieter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

but this lodge is very pet friendly and welcomed our 70 lb bulldog mix for an extra $20. The hotel is friendly and funky. What we liked the best was the feel of being in the real La Jolla and not on the tourist strip. Location is easy walking distance to galleries, shops, beach and restaurants and the owner's are happy to recommend their favorites. (Try Cafe Uropa for b,l or d. Great food at good prices and music on Fri night). Free parking but had to drive to Ocean Beach for a day at the beach with our dog. La Jolla doesn't really have any place for dogs to run without a leash. Some folks recommended the dog beach at North Beach in Del Mar, but dogs have to be on a leash there. OB seemed to have a more gentle surf and lots of friendly dogs and owners. Our dog appreciated the chance to run in and out of the surf without a leash.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Village Lodge

Address: 1141 Silverado Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
La Jolla Village Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;