We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Spontaneous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Village Lodge

La Jolla Village Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Jolla Village Lodge to your Saves list
La Jolla Village Lodge
1141 Silverado Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Baldwin Park, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Be Spontaneous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I left on a friday night and knew we were going to La Jolla, but we hadn't booked a hotel, we were kind of an adventure I guess. Once we reached the city, we parked at a gas station and used our phones to search for hotels. The La jolla village lodge was the most inexpensive hotel we found and they had rooms available!! Staff was friendly and when we got our room, we were pleasantly surprised by the cute restroom, soft bed, massage chair and flat screen tv. If you want luxury, its not here, but if u want a nice, comfortable, clean place to stay that's near the beach then this is your spot. In the morning, there was continental breakfast out by the patio, and it was a nice surprise for the price we paid we didnt think it offered that much. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. You spend most of your time out enjoying La Jolla anyways, so what you want is to rest and sleep when your back at your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
17
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our son is going to UCSD so we like going down to San Diego area as often as we can. We have tried many hotels in that area and since we are on a budget it can be hit and miss. We found this place through another hotel we stayed at . We couldn't stay there because of our new edition ,Sammy our Labradoddle . Maureen ( the owner ) was really nice and informative on the phone . the place is three blocks from the beach and downtown La Jolla .the Lodge has been in the family for 60 years , and it shows around the edges but nothing to worry about ! Tommy Bahama bedspreads, comfortable beds , and the place was surprisingly clean for a "beach Hotel "and the fact it's dog friendly . We maybe going back for a week in August .Also if you stay here try the Come on Inn right down the street gourmet foods at burger joint prices..all in all I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

First the positives: a pleasant, helpful couple that are the owner-managers; walking distance to beach; in the center of La Jolla. The less positive: overpriced for what you get; on a street that is sometimes noisy; a breakfast of orange juice, tea or coffe and bread or pastry. If one of your reasons to come here is to be near La Jolla Cove the beach is small and crowded; the snorkeling mediocre. On our trip the underwater visibility was 10 feet and the water temperature was between 62 and 66 degrees in August.. The better restaurants here are pricey. But there is a very pleasant walk by the cliffs and the ocean air is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I was a little nervous booking this hotel but overall we had a good stay. The rooms definitely show their age and need renovation, but the beds were comfortable and the location was fantastic. There is a deck on the roof with tables, chairs and a grill. This was a great feature for us to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the sunset. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. Be sure to request the queen room on the 3rd floor, which has an extra set of windows and is adjacent to the roof deck. This room seemed to be more updated, and much brighter and quieter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

but this lodge is very pet friendly and welcomed our 70 lb bulldog mix for an extra $20. The hotel is friendly and funky. What we liked the best was the feel of being in the real La Jolla and not on the tourist strip. Location is easy walking distance to galleries, shops, beach and restaurants and the owner's are happy to recommend their favorites. (Try Cafe Uropa for b,l or d. Great food at good prices and music on Fri night). Free parking but had to drive to Ocean Beach for a day at the beach with our dog. La Jolla doesn't really have any place for dogs to run without a leash. Some folks recommended the dog beach at North Beach in Del Mar, but dogs have to be on a leash there. OB seemed to have a more gentle surf and lots of friendly dogs and owners. Our dog appreciated the chance to run in and out of the surf without a leash.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I have never written a review before but I use tripadvisor.com religiously so I think it's only fair that I share my opinion.

Just to give you an idea of who this review is coming from, we are an upper-middle class family of 2 adults and an 18 and 16 year old from NY. We hate pretentious places and are not picky (have stayed at holiday inns and best westerns) We don't need super contemporary furniture or someone following us asking us if we need anything. All we expect is a clean room, a good location, and basic amenities.

Now, La Jolla Village Lodge has the friendliest staff! We arrived late and the woman at the front desk knew exactly who we were, offered to recommend a few restaurants with kitchens open late, etc. She showed us a map of the area and said that she has beach chairs and towels for us and that the beach is just 2 blocks away. We went for a stroll to check out the beach and.... it was not the BEACH! La Jolla Village Lodge is 2 blocks away from the cove which is nice to visit but definitely not somewhere you go to relax amidst the sand and waves. And, this hotel does not have a pool so that's not an option either.

Our room was pretty filthy. This is a pet friendly hotel so I'm sure that had something to do with it. The rug was stained and the bed linen was really rough. We also saw a little roach underneath the bed. The room decoration was horrendous but who really cares? The table had a glass top that wasn't attached... thereby making it useless and utterly impossible to put anything on it without moving the entire glass top. There was also a window in the bathroom that made everything visible to whoever walked by.... However, there was a microwave and mini-fridge. The AC worked well. BUT do not even try to get an internet connection here! It was abysmal and seriously frustrating when we tried to switch hotels.

The free breakfast consisted of frozen bagels (and not even based on a NY opinion) I would have rather not been offered a breakfast because I was continuously disappointed.

I would recommend this hotel for someone who is on a very tight budget, is driving down and appreciates the free parking, is staying in La Jolla for only a night or two and wants to see the village and coves rather than relax on the real beach (La Jolla Shores Beach) which is 1.5 miles away! And dont try driving there because parking around there is horrid (again coming from someone who parks in NYC for free)

One of the people in our family is very frugal and opted to pay 200 dollars more a night to move to the La Jolla Shores Hotel which allowed for us to have a relaxing vacation and see La Jolla the right way (and was not pretentious at all)

Although La Jolla Village Lodge staff are super friendly, you forget their smiling faces as soon as you walk into your room! If you are on a budget, dont stay here, go to Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

La Jolla Village Lodge isn't for the snooty, pretentious, look at me crowd (thank god). It has real people who run it and make you feel like out of town family guests. No corporate rules and regulations with the "screw you we are here to make money attitude" that you'll find at most places these days in coastal California.

We booked a ground floor room so we could bring our our 90lb American Bulldog with us and he was welcomed with out hesitation. The property was well cared for and clean. The room was nicely decorated, it had a king size bed, nice plasma tv, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot, and a small cafe style table to sit at. The bathroom was a bit small and more counter space may be desired by some, but it certainly wouldn't deter us from staying again. The decks on the 2nd and 3rd floors are nice and provide a nice place to sit with out having to be in the room. All be it limited, the morning continental breakfast had tasty items and made for a good start to the day.

From the hotel/motel/lodge it's a short few block walk to just about everything La Jolla has to offer. Our dog was a welcomed guest at restaurants recommended by the staff and thus he went everywhere we did.

All in all, a great couple days and we will go back as soon as our schedule permits.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Village Lodge

Address: 1141 Silverado Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolla Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Village Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Village Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.