We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 10% off Room Rates
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“People make the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was torn between a 4 or 5 review, but ultimately the staff at The Lodge forced my hand.

First, the not so great: Rooms are clean and well appointed, but smallish. Also, lacking some of the modern-day necessities (adequate outlets, bath exhaust fan). A.R. Valentien was disappointing. Tasting menu was so-so, wine list was so-so, wait staff was barely so-so... just not what one would expect from the upper-end dining option at a 5-star facility.

Now the great: Can't beat the climate. Makes the beautiful golf course, pool area, and views even more spectacular! All common areas were kept immaculately clean. The spa was great - on par with what one expects nowadays in these types of hotels. Central location allowed for quick rides to Del Mar, Legoland, Sea World, and the San Diego Zoo.

Finally, the fantastic: The staff at The Lodge is what forces you to give it a 5 star rating. Attentive and proactive, every request is anticipated and delivered with urgency and a pleasant attitude. Faced with the dilemma of packing several oversized stuffed animals (won by the kids at Sea World), the concierge stepped in and offered to have the items packed and shipped home. What a relief! Tickets to all of the area attractions were available (at a discount) at the gift shop, so no lines at the ticket offices!

Overall, a great stay. One I will be happy to repeat in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Try for a view of the golf course/ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    130
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
138
281
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a big hotel in a corporate mold, but done up in the craftsman / Greene and Greene style. It looks great, and the appointments have all been selected to remind you that you're in a craftsman property. Well of course you aren't, they never built on this scale and everything is relatively new.

The hotel is basically a country club. I did not have the time to use or explore the golf course, spa or pool. The Grill at the Golf course was one of the worst meals of the year: the salad was basic and needed seasoning. The pasta was over cooked in a tasteless sauce. It would have been returned if I'd had time to wait. Room Service was fine, though the water for tea tasted of coffee.

On the positive side we had a great dinner at the main restaurant. Terrific tomato soup and the scallop meal was similarly wonderful. Actually, scallops were perfect--both in cooking and seasoning. I also had a 'drugstore burger' from the bar on the balcony for lunch. It was a bit of a contact sport--juicy and drippy--but delicious.

The rooms are large and comfortable. It would be nice to have convenient ports to plug into at the desk. The wifi is nice and strong, although you have to sign in daily. The cosmetic products are really nice and as they're not overly are sweet are good for men and women.

On the whole, not bad, but pricey for what you get.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We wanted to stay at a hotel in La Jolla as we really enjoy this area. The Lodge is rated as the number 1 hotel in La Jolla and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed. We stayed for 8 nights in a Palisades room (Room 421) with 2 queen beds and a balcony facing the 18th green of the south course and the ocean. Another reviewer indicated that the room did not cool down. That was not our experience. The A/C worked well and the room was never too hot. The room was very quiet as was the A/C unit. The staff is very courteous, friendly and accommodating.

We ate at both the Grill (casual) and AR Valentien (fine dining). The food is delicious and all the servers are well acquainted with the menu.

We golfed both the north and south course at Torrey Pines. We booked the tee times through the Lodge for a guaranteed tee time as Torrey Pines golf course is a municipal course which offers preferred access to local residents. Both courses are beautifully groomed with amazing views of the ocean from some holes. Definitely worth the experience.

The spa is very well appointed with excellent services.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and are definitely looking forward to staying here in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the above the second floor. Second floor is where the lobby is located and the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel rings all the bells for the golfer who wants a great golf getaway and needs to satisfy a skeptical wife that she will enjoy herself while he hits the links. Anyone who knows golf knows golf is aware if the two Torrey pines courses, but you might not realize that they are literally outside the doors if this lodge. The hotel is laid back luxury in an arts and crafts decor. The spa is world class so high can send your lady there while you enjoy the course and not experience an ounce if guilt about who is enjoying things more. The restaurants are great and there is a beautiful outdoor terrace to soak up the sun and the views. And La Jolla is a very short drive from the hotel.
Beware the Palisades rooms, though. The two times I stayed in them I have been disappointed that the afternoon sun heats the room up and the A/C will NOT cool the room down for comfortable sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I spent two days at the Lodge earlier this week. The decor and service is superior. Everyone went out of their way to insure that our stay was comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and housekeeping does an excellent job of preparing the rooms. Unfortunately for the Lodge, but fortunate for us, the hotel was only about 30% full. That made the pool area very pleasant. The Grill, just outside the golf shop, was excellent for breakfast. The grounds of the hotel are very restful and beautiful. We will definitely be back for another visit and will plan to spend more time relaxing around the pool and less time site seeing. Absolutely recommend the Lodge at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned from a trip to the lodge with our two children, 10 and 12. The overall experience was excellent. The service was excellent, with a strong effort from many of the staff to know your name and provide assistance whenever possible. The rooms, including the balconies, are large and comfortable. Amenities are very nice. The views of the ocean and golf course were just spectacular. Our children really enjoyed playing on the lawn, especially with the croquet set. The pool was very nice, with a nice view of the course and ocean from the hot tub. The food was excellent, especially at AR Valentien. The only suggestion is to have more food options for kids and teens at the hotel in general. I highly recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room view. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room 538 is a spacious Signature room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the gardens. We checked in Saturday afternoon and from our balcony I could see a wedding party taking pictures in a nearby grassy area. The balcony was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee and the cool breeze. Loved the plush bath towels but didn't care to see bathroom scale on the floor as the big closet mirror showed me how well I had been eating during this vacation. Also loved the TWO make up mirrors as I am extremely near sighted!

Didn't use the pool but the area was lovely with ample chairs and a few cabanas. Grounds next to the pool were gorgeous with the golf course steps away. Valet service was prompt, and the attendants were very courteous and friendly.

I highly recommend The Lodge - 2 thumbs up!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.