We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Yorba Linda, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Class Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I spent two days at the Lodge earlier this week. The decor and service is superior. Everyone went out of their way to insure that our stay was comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and housekeeping does an excellent job of preparing the rooms. Unfortunately for the Lodge, but fortunate for us, the hotel was only about 30% full. That made the pool area very pleasant. The Grill, just outside the golf shop, was excellent for breakfast. The grounds of the hotel are very restful and beautiful. We will definitely be back for another visit and will plan to spend more time relaxing around the pool and less time site seeing. Absolutely recommend the Lodge at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    114
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
117
236
16
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned from a trip to the lodge with our two children, 10 and 12. The overall experience was excellent. The service was excellent, with a strong effort from many of the staff to know your name and provide assistance whenever possible. The rooms, including the balconies, are large and comfortable. Amenities are very nice. The views of the ocean and golf course were just spectacular. Our children really enjoyed playing on the lawn, especially with the croquet set. The pool was very nice, with a nice view of the course and ocean from the hot tub. The food was excellent, especially at AR Valentien. The only suggestion is to have more food options for kids and teens at the hotel in general. I highly recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room view. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room 538 is a spacious Signature room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the gardens. We checked in Saturday afternoon and from our balcony I could see a wedding party taking pictures in a nearby grassy area. The balcony was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee and the cool breeze. Loved the plush bath towels but didn't care to see bathroom scale on the floor as the big closet mirror showed me how well I had been eating during this vacation. Also loved the TWO make up mirrors as I am extremely near sighted!

Didn't use the pool but the area was lovely with ample chairs and a few cabanas. Grounds next to the pool were gorgeous with the golf course steps away. Valet service was prompt, and the attendants were very courteous and friendly.

I highly recommend The Lodge - 2 thumbs up!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I did not stay at the Lodge at Torrey Pines but would love to in the future.

We went for drinks and dinner on the porch and watched the sunset over the golf course and Pacific. It was such a beautiful and quiet and comfortable. The service was excellent and the food delicious. A wonderful selection of wines was offered. The pool was lovely as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spend 3 days at The Lodge and loved it. Everything was perfect - service, facilities, appearance, rooms, beds, room service, breakfast at the Grill, the beautiful grounds. The Lodge is just wonderful!

My wife and I do not golf so no comments about that.

We are already planning our next visit.

The sole downside is the Spa is costly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a mini get away with my fiance and was blown away at the excellent service, great restaurants and beautiful grounds. The room was exceptional with a wonderful balcony to soak up the California sunshine and read or realx. The pool was a lovely place for lunch and there are many trails for hiking and great ocean viewing. Would totally recommend this place for a nice getaway and awsome golf.

Room Tip: Most all the suites are very large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

You will love the lodge at Torry Pines. This was the second time in five years that my company has held our President's Club event (at which we honor our top producers) at this property. We came back because everyone (about 20 - 25 of us) had such a wonderful experience last time.

We had the same wonderful experience this time. The property is a lovely, high-end, five-star resort right on the golf course at one of California's most picturesque spots. The restaurant is first rate and handled our banquet dinner superbly. My wife and I also had two lunches at the restaurant and though one was initially (only slightly) marred by a lapse in service (which the manager made amends for with grace and speed), the service overall was 5 star as was the food.

Though we like to mix up the locations of these events so that they do not become stale, everyone was glad that we returned and we will again after a few years have gone by.

This is a first rate property in all regards and we also feel it is good value.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.