We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort 5 Star service and kid friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing resort 5 Star service and kid friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was hesitant about taking a family vacation at a golf resort, and I was pleasantly surprised by how welcoming the staff was to my kids and how they went out of their way to accommodate every need that we had. It is a very family friendly resort, with exemplary service at every end. Natalie, the concierge was extremely helpful and proactive in offering services and recommendations for us. From car service to Del Mar to providing toys for our children to use at the beach, the service was top rate! Our room did not have an amazing view, but was extremely spacious and had a very comfortable bed. The food and service at A.R. Valentien was equally amazing. For an elegant getaway, The Lodge at Torrey Pines is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    120
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
124
264
18
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malone, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our six day stay was a first class experience! Our room was spacious, bed very comfy and the large balcony was an added bonus overlooking the golf course. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by friendly staff who were genuinely interested in making our stay a positive experience. We got up early to walk and even the groundskeepers greeted us with a smile! We travel often and I would say that the staff at Torrey Pines were among the best ever-especially in the Grill restaurant. We were here for a conference and when we had a medical emergency with one of our participants, the front staff acted quickly and with great sensitivity to our needs. If I have one suggestion, it would be to offer an option of smaller portions of food in the Grill-food was fabulous but just too much (and I love to eat!)! We enjoyed our experience so much that we plan a return trip with our adult children in the near future!

Room Tip: You definitely want a room in the main lodge overlooking the golf course to enjoy the sunsets and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Came for a weekend getaway and for some running and hiking at Torrey Pines State Park which was in walking distance so we didn't have to fight the crowd for parking. The hotel is very well maintained nice small touches that made the stay special. I was surprised to see the dated wall paper in the bathroom. Over all a great week end and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely in every way. The staff is outstanding, well-trained and welcoming. Fabulous views from large room with equally spacious veranda. Tranquil setting, good food, next to the golf course. Beds could use new mattresses though, but would return anyway!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. My overall favorite thing about this resort was the view from our room! 18th hole on Torrey Pines Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean! Simply beautiful! My second overall favorite was the housekeeping services! I'm sure that probably sounds strange! This staff was definitely on point! It took a significant amount of time for them to clean your room but it was well worth the wait if you happened to be waiting. They provided fresh linen not once but twice a day, during your morning service and at turndown. At turndown, slippers were placed on mats on both sides of the bed. Mats were also rearranged in the bathrooms at turndown service as well. We did try a few activities at the resort so I will discuss each one individually.

Spa- I had the Spa at Torrey Pines Signature Ritual which was a 140 minute service that included a lemongrass and sage body scrub underneath a Vichy shower, then a warming soak in the hydrotherapy tub with lemongrass and sage bath salts, followed by a full body massage. I truly enjoyed this service. It was very calming and relaxing. Would I pay $295 for this again? I'm really not quite sure. Usually when I pay this amount of money, I can spend the whole day in the spa while my husband is playing golf. This was not the case here. The relaxation lounge is rather small and was really not relaxing. Not a place where I could spend the day reading a book and drinking a glass of wine. You could also see the technician performing other services through a glass panel from this area as well. The spa did not have a hot tub, pool, or Jacuzzi inside either. They did have an inhalation room ( which was very nice), a steam room and a dry sauna.

Restaurants - We ate at A R Valentien upon our first night of arrival. The food was very good. We shared the lamb meatball appetizer. I had sea bass and my husband had a pork loin dish. All were extremely delicious. Our dessert left a little to be desired. We had the bourbon pecan pie. The crust was too hard to my liking and the filling was a little hard as well. The best part was the bourbon glaze. Appetizer, two entrees, two glasses of wine, and dessert totaled $141.00 with tip.
We also ate breakfast at the Grill restaurant everyday. I am not a big waffle or pancake fan but they had the best waffles and pancakes. I even had the waffles twice. My husband said that the omelets were great as well. Please note that you do have to go outside of the hotel and walk to the grill for a meal. It's not a long walk though and the scenery is beautiful. AR Valentien is inside of the hotel but only serves breakfast on weekends.

Golf - Well, what can I say! It's Torrey Pines!!! Husband played north course and loved it! Upon checkout I did notice that the Pro Shop charged us for the South Course instead of the North Course. The receptionist at the lodge called the pro shop and it was quickly corrected.

Overall- a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Loved the view from room 515! Ocean and 18th hole!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at The Lodge at Torrey Pines in early March. Room 523 was practically perfect in every way (wink at Mary Poppins). The room was spotless, the bathroom was great, and the view was stunning. The adequate balcony looks over the 18th green of the South Course, with views continuing to the Pacific.
Enough about the property. The staff are the real jewel of this hotel. Nick took our luggage to the room, and gave us a succinct overview of the hotel. He was well trained. Nathalie was the Concierge on duty when we arrived. She was Awesome! She made wonderful recommendations for our stay, and she was right about every one of them. She remembered our names. Lots of smiles and greetings from all staff. Outstanding training and outstanding people.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Once again we enjoyed the lodge very much. Our room was a golf course view room which I would recommend highly. Room is very comfortable and the porch is great for reading. The look and feel is so comfortable. I especially love the light fixtures in the main entry. The staff are really helpful. I hope we get a chance to return! Also, had a fabulous facial at the spa!

Room Tip: I recommend upstairs golf course room with porch. A little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.