We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 10% off Room Rates
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth a visit. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very warm and inviting golf resort. The staff really make this hotel special. They're very attentive and extremely helpful. The food is good, not great, and I'd characterize it as solid American fare. Good wine list.

The spa is excellent and hotel is conveniently located near many SD sites (zoo, SeaWorld). Although I would not call it a family resort it is fairly kid friendly. A modest pool close to the main building discourages rambunctious kids.

The ocean is fantastic and easily in view from many rooms. Make sure you have an ocean-facing room on a top floor.

The mission-style, Arts & Crafts decor with many Stickley pieces is warm and a feast for the eyes. One can live in this decor and never tire of it.

My complaints are two. First, as I write this review I am gazing at the course from my room. A crew of workers are operating noisy machinery as they set up the grandstands for the Farmers Insurance Open. The noise and yelling has really spoiled paradise. This has been going on all day for 4 days and shows no sign of stopping. Lots of yelling in Spanish. See picture.

A smaller point: their internet policy is frustrating. There is a free low speed service that must be renewed daily. The high speed costs around ten dollars a day. In the business center, you must pay 7.95 per 15 minutes. This is really passé, and reminds me of a mid-tier European hotel.

All in all a beautiful property, but with some opportunities for improvement.



Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    128
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
137
275
18
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I'm not a big fan of golf resorts because of all the focus on golf-related activities and we're not golfers. However, we chose this hotel because it does have an ocean view over the Torrey Pines golf course, provided you have a course-facing room. Some reasons for not rating this hotel as excellent:

1. Room wasn't ready at the time of our arrival, had to wait almost an hour to get into the room.
2. The hotel doesn't have breakfast service in the main building of the hotel. We had to walk outside to the Grill, adjacent to the pro shop and full of golfers. Fairly small restaurant for the size of the hotel.
3. That same Grill charged me $2.90 for a San Diego Union Tribune newspaper after the hotel failed to honor my request of having one delivered to my room. Considering the prices in the Grill, this seemed a little chintzy.

On the plus side, they acknowledged that it was a special occasion and did give us a split of champagne.

Room Tip: Ask for a full course view, high floor, you get the ocean as an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you were still able to have a tranquil and enjoyable stay at The Lodge at Torrey Pines. We apologize your room wasn't ready at the time of your arrival. Your arrival did not live up to our standards. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams work expeditiously to have all rooms ready by 4:00 p.m. and we apologize that we came up short in this case. We are looking into why you encountered a delay.

Our signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, does indeed only serve breakfast on weekends. The Grill, meanwhile, serves breakfast seven days a week or another choice that many guest choose is to enjoy room service on their balcony for a special treat.

We are surprised to hear about you not being able to acquire a San Diego Union-Tribune. That newspaper, as well as The Los Angeles Times and USA Today, is always complimentary for our guests through the concierge. We apologize for the breakdown in communication and have already remedied the situation so it never happens again. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and we hope you'll visit us again so we can give you a much better experience than you had from this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a short vacation while house hunting. The property is unparalleled, just stunning. Very good service, the staff is very attentive and accommodating. The valet guys were awesome, made our mornings being greeted by cheerfulness. The rooms were very stately and elegant. Our air conditioner didn't work in our first room so we were promptly moved to another room that had one that worked. Our first room was larger and I liked the location better because it was much quieter but we needed the air since it was extremely humid while we were visiting. Oh well.... But I would stay here again definitely.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at TLaTP over Christmas. The Lodge was quite busy but it mostly didn't show, as the facility is large and rambling. Service was good -- very attentive. The rooms were excellent -- large, with fantastic herbal bath products. The location is beautiful, and very close to the amazing Torrey Pines State Park, although most people at the Lodge seemed to be there for golf. The only negative was that, upon showing up at the only restaurant open for breakfast were made to feel foolish for not having a reservation. The restaurant was full, "with a long waiting list", which was highly disappointing for a place of this caliber. At the front desk the manager informed us that "reservations are recommended", which would have been important information to share at check in. Overall, a great lodge, but breakfast is mismanaged.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we're happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location, your room, and the overall service. Because our signature restaurant A.R. Valentien is only open for breakfast on weekends, The Grill is indeed the only option - aside from room service - Monday through Friday. The holiday season has been a busy time of year for us and the world-renown Torrey Pines Golf Course, but that isn't an excuse for The Grill being unavailable to our valued guests. You're right, communication should have been better at check-in and we always want to give dining priorities to our guests. We have met with our guest service team members to make sure this never falls through the cracks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Lodge proved to be the perfect venue for an extended Thanksgiving weekend for my wife and me. The setting of the place right on the golf course is alone fantastic. But the interior also is lovely and romantic, especially when enhanced by an aromatic floor-to-ceiling Christmas tree and poinsetta plants generously scattered throughout the property.

The service here is at the far right-hand end of the bell curve. From the servers at the Lodge's two restaurants to the reception desk to the bellman, the entire staff was extraordinarily friendly and professional, engaging with us at a personal level and making us feel like houseguests.

The prix-fixe Thanksgiving menu offers several options for each course. We traditionalists opted for the turkey, and it was the best we've ever had in a restaurant - magically flavorful and moist. In fact, with the exception of a couple of entrees (swordfish and sable) our first night whose preparation was overblown for our taste, we thought the food at both restaurants was excellent. Portable heat lamps on the terrace of A. R. Valentien permit outdoor dining, complete with a great view - once we discovered this we never ate inside again.

Our Reserve room was a bit on the dark side and I thought the carpeting was drab (my wife disagreed on the latter point), but it had an attractive terrace which we took ample advantage of. A minor suggestion to the hotel would be to make "Please Make Up My Room" signs available so that housekeeping could be scheduled at convenient times - on three of our four days at the hotel our room was being made up at the very time we wanted to access it after breakfast so that we could get started on the day's adventures, so we had to figure out a way to kill 10 or 15 minutes until they were done. (On our third day we thought we could outfox housekeeping by leaving the morning newspaper hanging from our doorknob so they would think we were still sleeping, but they somehow (an NSA tie-in...?) saw right through the ruse and came in anyway, neatly depositing the paper on our coffee table.)

A number of trails through the Torrey Pines State Reserve are within easy walking distance of the hotel. We hiked on one of them (Broken Hill), which ultimately leads to a black beach, with spectacular views en route. We look forward to trying the other trails when we return to the Lodge (which will be soon!).

Note: You don't have to be a golfer (neither my wife nor I are) to love this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lodge. What a beautiful resort, just an outstanding property. There really wasn't a single thing we were unhappy with. The staff was very friendly an accommodating, from the front desk, to the gift shop. The concierge was helpful in finding us a place to eat on Thanksgiving day. A gentleman by the pool noticed my son was cold and went out of his way to get a towel to wrap him up in, then offered us waters after our hike to the beach. The bellman offered us waters after I asked directions to the entrance to the beach hike. The Grill was amazing and affordable. Everything truly was above and beyond, we've stayed in many nice hotels, but this one was comparable to the service we've gotten on the SilverSea cruises we've been on. Top notch! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent 6 days and 5 nights at the lodge with my family. It was absolutely beautiful, the grounds are amazing and San Diego is now on our favorite places to visit. The front desk was extremely helpful and professional. The concierge desk was a huge help at guiding us for things to do and restaurants to eat. We love to travel, we have 2 girls 8&4...they were in love with San Diego as much as my husband and I. Looking forward to our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.