We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“5 Star Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

When I booked this hotel several months ago, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this 5 stars hotel at a legendary golf course. It was between this fabulous hotel or the Tennis Club, I am extremely happy to end up at this hotel. Don't let the pictures on their website fool you, this hotel is only 11 years old and their hallways and rooms are superb!! The service from valet to bell to reception to room service to their amenities are all 5 stars!!! We have a suite and faces the golf course; my son's first words entering the room was, "I like the room!" And yes this hotel is extremely hotel friendly from accommodation-wise to its restaurant. Room size is very generous, clean and the bathroom is very comfortable and good size. It may not be right next to the beach but it has made it up in every single way I could think of. Highly recommend for any families who enjoy great service and luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    119
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
124
254
17
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here with a baby girl for three nights this September. A nice and cozy place, great for golf players (Tiger Woods played and won here), but as good for nature lovers or simply people looking for a relaxing holiday. Breakfasts at the "casual" restaurant are ones of the best ever. Sometimes there is some smell of an old place, and it may be way too conservative for young couples, but otherwise a great choice for this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were a family with three teenagers who stayed for four nights while we explored San Diego. The hotel itself was lovely - yes the rooms are a bit dark, but that sort of goes with the "mission" feel of the place. The grounds are lovely, the service was great.
The hotel is slightly out of the way. We appreciated being surrounded by the beautiful golf course, and to be able to walk to the nature reserve, but there were not restaurants, coffee shops, etc. nearby. You had to jump in the car and drive 7-10 minutes to either Del Mar or La Jolla. The hotel restaurant was very nice, but pricey to use for breakfast for a family of five. We appreciated the complimentary coffee and tea in the morning which was ready early (by 6 AM usually) but I found it was put away a little early - I think one day it was cleaned up by 9 AM. Would be nice to have it until 10 or 10:30.
I did not mind the 15 or 20 minute drive to get into San Diego itself - easy access to Sea World, the zoo and many of the other touristy areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

sitting poolside for 3 days totally relaxed me, I was planning on visiting the nearby beaches but not this time. The pool has everything you to enjoy the lodge. The Grill served a great fried chicken dinner, just what I needed..

I was a bit put off when I caught a roach in our closet as we entered the room, I was about to make contact with the front desk but i moved on!! I think when the customer is paying 350 a night you should never have to share the room with a roach.

I have visited the lodge on previous occasions and every time it is professionally run property. The lodge provided us with a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our special getaway.

Room Tip: I have never stayed in the rooms that face the golf course due to expense but I would suggest if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful privately owned golf resort with beautiful grounds in California craftsman design. The rustic decor with 2 wood burning fireplaces blazing in August cannot be beat! The staff was very personable and had great attention to detail. Easy access to downtown, the zoo, Old town, La Jolla and much more. Our stay in the San Diego area was perfect! Five store resort at reasonable prices!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. Maybe request over looking the beautiful pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple nights and could not have been happier. I recommend treating yourself and go with the ocean view room (not a bad deal after AAA discount). In the mornings you can have a cup of coffee on the patio overlooking the 18th hole of the South course & the Pacific and substitute cocktails in the evening while the watching the sunset. Both restaurants on-site are good and offer a wild variety of selections.
Overall, a very relaxing spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Torrey Pines and our expectations were very hight before the arrival. Soon found out that most of the rooms face the parking lot or the arrival lobby entrance and very noisy . The highway is right behind it, so i recommend getting a golf course facing rooms only, if you want a view and quiet, though even then expect some noise, since the lawn mowers are on ..
So you will not get a resorty feeling there. The Botanical recreation of the Torrey Pines State Reserve views are just couple of Torrey Pine trees that hide the parking lot and the lobby entrance.
Overall the room was very spacious and comfortable, was cleaned twice a day, etc. But did not enjoy our stay due to the noise from the people who were pressure washing till 12 am and the constant noise from the highway, even in the middle of the night. The balcony door was not opening so the bell boy had to send someone to fix it. The wicker furniture was torn apart . We booked through Expedia so maybe that is why we got bad rooms? Still stunned about it.
The clubhouse grill was nothing special at all. So after the first night we ate at the A.R. Valentine which was really good.

Room Tip: Only get rooms facing the golf course and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.