We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

If you want to go to a place that will make u feel welcomed and appreciayted. Then the Lodge is your place. All the staff cannot do enough for u. Food is excellent. And the golf courses overloking the Pacific is awesome. A finely tuned machine. Saddest part was leaving. Jim S.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    119
    38
    16
    5
See reviews for
124
254
16
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very nice property and it has great service as well everyone was pleasant and eager to please. The breakfast was at the golf area and it was priced quite reasonable. An adjacent diner said it was a lot of food for the money. The room was well laid out with good beds and toiletries. It was so relaxing. Looking for the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Really lived up to our expectations for an anniversary weekend - beautiful room - loved the decor, the view, the comfort. The Valentin restaurant was just fabulous - the staff, individually, were superb, the setting romantic and wonderful, and the meal was absolute perfection. The problems? Amazing lack of co-ordination by the staff on trying to get the mini-bar key to work - tried 3 different times, but by checkout it still wasn't working - and they seemed surprised. But at least we were brought two separate lots of drinks on two of the occasions free of charge- but nobody seemed to have logged that there was a problem. Co-ordination needed. Anyone in charge? Then the breakfast. Getting to the 'other' restaurant, the Grill, is no joke - It's a major (but pleasant) hike through the hotel grounds - apparently no internal route, Does the hotel own/run that restaurant, or is it there for the benefit of the golf club? Whatever, our breakfast was verging on the inedible - very burned corned beef hash. In order not to spoil the anniversary mood I elected not to fight and send it back. Should have done. And finally, yes, as many others have noted - why the $22 for self-parking in what is essentially the hotel's own garage? Leaves a bad taste - just increase the rates by $20 and offer free parking with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The buildings: Near perfection. I did not see a single scuff mark on any wall. Every surface was spotless. Not a thing out of place. The room was large, open and bright. The bathroom walls had a strangely dark wallpaper, but everything else was new, colorful and tasteful. Definitely a 5 star setting.

The food: We were with a large group, so the buffet meals have to be judged separately. Still, they were average at best and not what I would expect at a 5 star resort. The meals we ate in the restaurants were OK, but again not as good as I would expect. The service was incredibly slow. One breakfast took more than an hour to get food to our table of 4. The reason ? "A party of 12 had their order in in front of you." Really ? 12 breakfasts take an hour ? The grill restaurant (golf course level) was so loud, we left. The balcony restaurant was very pleasant and a good place to linger over a bottle of wine.

The staff: Very efficient and eager to please, but not all that friendly. The exception being the valets and bellman staff. They could not have been more cheerful, friendly or helpful. Great bunch of guys.

Just to the north of the golf course is a state park with very nice walking trails stretching out near the water. Beats a treadmill. They have maps at the front desk.

Very expensive, but worth it although I would recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at the lodge last year and had enjoyed it enough to return while on our resent trip to San Diego. This years stay was a very different experience. Our room which was on the second floor facing the courtyard was like a cave. It was so dark that you could not be in the room without all of the lights on. Our room was at the end of a hallway near the spa and the elevators so there was constant noise outside. But most annoying was the constant drone of the elevator machines running almost nonstop from 5AM until midnight. The machine rooms for the elevators are located on the lower level adjacent to the elevators, avoid rooms in this area at all costs. The elevators if functioning properly would be noisy but I am in the elevator business and these units are so poorly setup and maintained that no one should be asked to stay in a room near these machines. The staff at the hotel where extremely pleasant and helpful except when it came to golf related activities. I had requested to book a tee time which last year was not a problem. This year I was directed to the director of golf. After numerous unanswered calls to the director of golf I decided to walk over to to golf shop and book a tee time directly. To my surprise the golf shop staff does not manage golf they are only there to sell merchandise. For a tee time you need to go outsider to negotiate with the starter. This is about as much fun as it would be at any public facility. For the price of our room at the lodge I expect access to the golf course without having to negotiate my own deal. For these reasons we stayed only one night before checking out and moving to the Hilton next door. Much better room at roughly half the price.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, General Manager at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit with us. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by noise outside of your guestroom. Our guests’ comfort is very important to us and I’m sorry that your experience did not measure up to your expectations. I have shared your comments with our Director of Maintenance to evaluate our elevator operation with our existing contractor to determine if there are any challenges that require addressing to ensure your experience is not repeated.

The Lodge has its own Golf Services Department to manage golf reservations for our guests at Torrey Pines Golf Course as well as a number of other golf courses in San Diego County. It appears from your comments regarding merchandise that you were dealing directly with Torrey Pines golf shop. Unfortunately the Torrey Pines Golf Shop is a leased operation of the City of San Diego and not part of The Lodge at Torrey Pines. I’m sorry that your interactions with them were less than positive on the day you arrived there. Normally, we would prefer to handle those arrangements for our guests in advance of your visit with our Golf Services Department here at The Lodge at Torrey Pines.

Please contact me personally to discuss these issues further. I would hope that we could leave you with better memories of The Lodge.

Yours sincerely,

Dan Fullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We switched from another hotel when I ran across this hotel online. Spent 3 nights with wife and kids. The hotel is everything and more than you see in the photos. It is maintained like it was a historic treasure. The staff is beyond excellent, the views are amazing, and the food first rate. Not only would I stay here again, I would come to La Jolla just to stay at this hotel. Be sure to eat at the new grill (great for the family) and take a dip in the hot tub. Great gift shop as well.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ocean view. Worth every penny. Make reservations even for the grill. It gets busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Father & Son three day stay created lasting memories. The Lodge complimenents the Torrey Pines golf experience without being overbearing. We prefer the Lodge over the big chain resorts. Service was outstanding as demonstrated by the the fact that every request or question was followed by an immediate response. The Grill, next to the pro shop has the best burgers in the San Diego area . Coffee and pastries/muffins in lobby or shop would be helpful for guests up early and on the go.

Room Tip: Lodge has many room offerings and prices, book in advance to ensure room of your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.