We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the name "Lodge" fool you...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't let the name "Lodge" fool you...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Lodge at Torrey Pines is anything but my idea of a lodge. The only thing that resembles a lodge is the mission style decor...other than that it is a first class hotel all the way. The staff is outstanding from the person that cleans your room to the front desk staff.

Our room was terrific--nice bathroom with great bath products and wonderful towels. Each evening the turndown service included not only turning down the bed but placing rugs by your bed with your slippers on it and little surprises on your pillow, Each day the robes were re-hung and tied.

I felt like they thought of everything--two luggage racks, two chairs at the desk, a leather chair with ottoman, make up mirrors for the women and a patio or balcony for sitting outside and enjoying the weather.

My husband and I ate a late dinner at the Grill the night we arrived and lunch one day. The wait staff were excellent at the service aspect as well as making suggestions for what to have for the meal. The wine list was quite nice with reasonable prices. We had a $40 bottle of albarino. Our dinner consisted of a chicken stew with mashed potatoes and roasted root vegetables.. We also had a salad. Total bill was $115 including the wine and gratuity..The Grill offered the opportunity to eat outside if you wanted. I had delicious homemade granola and blueberry pancakes for breakfast one morning and the wait staff suggested that I get a smaller portion and she reduced the price of the bill.

As my husband was here for a conference many of our meals were planned therefore the times to enjoy the restaurantsl were somewhat limited.

The surrounding grounds were beautiful with many walkways for running or walking. The pool area was large enough to accommodate families and also adults relaxing at the pool and reading.

It was an enjoyable trip and we would love to revisit it again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor with a limited view but plenty of privacy. The higher floor rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    119
    38
    16
    5
See reviews for
124
253
16
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We live in San Diego and this was our 35th wedding anniversary and a surprise getaway for my husband. We have traveled extensionively and this is the finest hotel and restaurant we have ever stayed in. We felt like royality from arrival to exist. ALL the staff or any employee we passed said hi and how can they help. The dinner at AR Valentien was amazing fro the first bite and the corn muffin (heavenly) through dessert was terrific. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the 18th green with an amazing sunset and could get to the main lobby in 5 minutes. We did stay on a Monday night after Labor Day tourists but this was one of the most memorable anniversaries, up there with our 25th in Moorea Tahiti.

Room Tip: Room 313 is lucky and great view of 18th green and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the staff to the suite, this was a superior resort that should not be missed.

We arrived around lunch time, hours ahead of the regular check in time. Front desk staff said if we had lunch at the Grille, they'd have the room ready when we were done. They stored our bags and promised delivery after we checked in.

After lunch, the room was ready and it was AMAZING. We stayed in the Robinson Suite, which is on the ground floor, and opened on to the golf course. It was the finest hotel room I have ever had. From the entry way with custom artwork, to the sitting area with fireplace, to the outdoor patio with 2 seating areas, I was blown away. A Bellhop brought luggage to room within the first five minutes of our arrival and was great in showing us around the suite.

We enjoyed many features of the room, including sipping wine in front of the fireplace as well as on the patio watching the sunset. We also enjoyed room service dinner on our own dining table. Food was above average and service was excellent and prompt.

The suite (and entire resort) was impeccably clean. Linens were of very high quality and the bed was comfortable.

We enjoyed the pool, whirlpool and a game of billiards in the game room. Don't miss the atmosphere of and the view from the whirlpool.

This resort should be on everyone's list of places to stay. It is really a special place, meticulously designed, well kept and with world class service. There is nothing about my stay that could have been improved upon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A most excellent Hotel, situate overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Courses, where Tiger Woods last won the US Open in 2008. As the name suggests, it's wooden lodge style and pine trees literally abound. The rooms are capacious and comfortable, always sparking clean and fresh. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. First night, we ate in "The Grill" which is down beside the Golf Course, and on the third night we ate on the verandah of the hotel Restaurant. The dining menus are good, although not exactly inspiring, and be forewarned that the drinks in the Hotel Bar are not cheap. But really, that doesn't detract from the amenities on offer. There is a lovely heated pool with its own bar facility, and an abundance of comfortable sun-beds. Eating breakfast on the terrace outside "The Grill", watching the golfers - some good, some very good and some pretty awful - driving off the First Tee on the South Course, makes for a marvellous hour or so in the sun. The only downside is that because of the Hotel's inherent location, it's somewhat isolated, and if you want to eat out elsewhere, you have to drive. Nor are there any local shopping facilities. Second night, we ate at George's At The Cove at La Jolla, maybe twenty minutes drive from Torrey Pines. Make sure you book - it was very busy the night we were there. Watch the sun go down from the bar and then repair upstairs to the restaurant, where George offers an extensive fish menu, albeit with some strange mixtures and combinations! Not overly expensive but not cheap either. And even if you don't want to eat there, the trip to La Jolla is worthwhile as you can sit and watch the sea-lions dive and sunbathe on the rocks in the bay. Overall, our stay at Torrey Pines was very enjoyable indeed, and we're almost certain to return there in 2013.

Room Tip: Better rooms look to the front of the hotel, down towards the pool and the golf courses, but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love this hotel because it is so charming. The entrance is storybook lovely. It is on top of a cliff overlooking the ocean surrounded by pine trees. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very quiet. We had a nice balcony that overlooked a courtyard on the 3rd floor. Our bathroom was large with lots of granite and big soaking tub/shower. Our favorite part of the hotel is the lovely grounds and salt water swimming pool. The view is spectacular and the service poolside is friendly and fast. We also loved the close self parking and easy in and out with fast access to La Jolla, Del Mar, and the freeway.

Room Tip: Quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines for two nights. We were here to see my nephew get married at the Torrey Pines Gliderport. What a fabulous stay we had! The rooms were clean and very comfortable for 3 people. With 3 of us trying to get ready for a wedding, we had no trouble at all -- bathroom was very accommodating. The balcony was fantastic with a view of the golf course. The pool was very nice and quiet. We had drinks out at the pool, which were a bit pricey, but you are at a 5 star hotel. The staff was so nice, as well. We didn't eat on the property, due to other family obligations, so I can't comment on the food. I happened to love the mission style decor and didn't think it was dated; I thought it was really cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverlake
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose Torrey Pines for a quiet getaway; taking the train from L.A.
The room was peaceful with a view of the trees - we didn't mind not having an ocean view. The pool was nice - not an amazing pool by any means but the service was great. In fact, all the service was excellent.
We don't golf but enjoyed the view of the golf course and at night we took a walk on it which was beautiful and a little spooky because it was so dark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.