We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

In spite of the fact that we don't play golf and have no interest in the spa, we picked this place because of its location, proximity to beaches, biking, hiking, etc. We expected it to be full of golfers, etc., but were willing to put up with that. As it turned out the Lodge was just great. The staff was fabulous, the service was extremely good, our room, overlooking an lovely interior courtyard, was large and comfortable and quiet. The main restaurant (AR Valentien) is very upscale and expensive, but it was excellent. The grill, where we ate breakfasts and one lunch, was very good...surprisingly so for the lunch. All in all, an excellent hotel. Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: A high floor courtyard-facing room is very good. Less expensive than the rooms that face the ocean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    105
    28
    16
    3
See reviews for
104
211
16
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

It is just incredible. The big rooms, the amazing views (get an ocean facing room...), the exceptional restaurant, the pool, the spa, not to mention the Craftsman architecture. I travel a lot - and the level and quality of service is unrivaled in my experience. Perfection from start to finish.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms (looking over the croquette green) are unbelievable. It's worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

It was our good fortune to be accommodated at this impressive property mid-February 2012. The service, at all levels, was impeccable from the moment we arrived. Our room was immaculate, well-appointed and with a stunning view of not only the legendary golf course but the dramatic Pacific Ocean as well. The bed and linens were perfect, the bathroom was spacious with dual sinks, separate walk in shower and oversize tub, luxurious amenities complete with robes and slippers. The dressing area between the bedroom and bath was a bonus creature comfort. It was a delight to relax on our patio and after we had our fill of the sea air, the fireplace warmed us from head to toe. The food and service was exceptional in both The Grill and the lovely A.R. Valentien restaurant. A quiet, relaxing stay far exceeded our expectations and it is our intention to return to this jewel of Southern California. It is easy to recognize why this remains a five diamond resort and has now become our favorite destination as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

There is no doubt that this is a lovely golf resort with impeccable service, but it lacks the family friendly amenities such as laundry facilities, microwave, and a refrigerator you can really use. The upstairs restaurant is very fine with crystal glassware and fancy dishes. The golf grill is way on the other side of the pool area and is more affordable. All of the staff tried to accommodate our needs- even finding papaya for breakfast and chocolate ice cream at the bar after hours.

We enjoyed the heated pool and swam there daily. It was nice having towels and poolside food service but portions are very large. We also played croquet, which was fun.

The rooms are nice but my son could climb from room to room via the balcony so we really couldn't have the door open. There was no place to hang wet bathing suits in the bathroom, but there was a gas fireplace although his bed was right beside it so it was impractical to use. There was a coffee pot and refrigerator but it was full of expensive drinks and snacks- not one you could use.

The concierges were helpful in suggesting restaurants, reserving rental car which was delivered to the hotel directly, and offering tour ideas. The gift shop sold discount tickets to legoland.

We are not golfers so we didn't try the course. There is a walking path to the ocean. Park in the garage yourself and you wont be charged for parking.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a beautiful facility with a magnificent golf course and ocean view.
Our room was had a very comfortable bed and pillows and furniture. a fireplace and a fabulous view. The bathroom had double sinks and a separate shower stall and wonderful soaps. They could improve upon the robes which were a little rough for me. They did replace with spa robes. I thought that the paper products could be softer. Everything else was great. Service in the restaurants and hotel were outstanding. The staff very much aimed to please and they did in every regard. At first, I found the hotel to be quite dark, but grew to love the architecture and decor and found it to be stately.
We spent a very relaxing weekend here. Breakfast was excellent and both restaurants. You will need a car to venture out as it is not in the center of La Jolla. We will be happy to return here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are lighter and sunny. Specify if you want a separate tub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Wonderful venue for breakfast!
I had best pancakes, they are crispy and crunchy, yet soft...
The breakfast menu is awesome, ranging from the quintessential egg benedict to egg salmon set, and half a dozen more different varieties of egg breakfast, all reasonably-priced.

Great value, for the wonderful taste and quality and variety and spread to choose from!

Great scenery, not to mention the beautiful views of the greens against the cobalt blue skies and pacific blue seas. It completes the full hearty breakfast experience!

Great service! The service staff is professional and they are simply wonderful.

I am definitely returning for the breakfast at the Lodge!!

Small point to note, while we had lunch at the beautiful outdoor patio restaurant upstairs, the food is not as tasty as the breakfast we had. The servings are too small for lunch, overpriced, and not tasty.

In summary, we would definitely be coming back for breakfast! I'm missing the pancakes as I'm typing this......:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines three times and each time I discover just how special it is. The rooms are impeccably pristine; the beds, one of the most comfortable I’ve slept in. Both A.R. Valentien and The Grill offer memorable food experiences.
The views are spectacular- you can see the Pacific Ocean whether you’re having breakfast outdoors, walking the grounds or hiking in the area. The staff is always helpful. I especially like the bar area. Just sitting by the fire and looking out toward the grounds does wonders for your blood pressure.

Room Tip: All the rooms were immaculate and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.