We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott La Jolla to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Missoula, Montana, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The outdoor areas are just lovely after a long day of being inside a conference room. The rooms and service were clean and efficient. This was a nice hotel for a business meeting. If you are looking for a vacation spot, this is not your hotel. While there is amble shopping and restraurants available within walking distance... "touristy" things like the beach and places to sight see are not convenient. The FOOD / MENU for lunches that was offered was terrific...very light, healthy and delicious. If you are a planning a meeting in the area, this would be a place to consider.

Room Tip: No matter where you are the noise from the passing fighter jets overhead can be very loud when tryin...
See more room tips
Green Features: They were very consistent with many other hotel's efforts as of late.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    144
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
118
75
16
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you happen to be in San Diego for business and aren't planning on staying downtown, the La Jolla Marriott is a great option. Parking is plentiful and you are just a 5 minute drive from La Jolla Cove. Additionally, the UTC Mall is walking distance from the hotel which has plenty of shopping and food options. What sets this hotel apart from the other properties is how well they treat their elite guests. I spend over 180 nights a year on the road and the staff here are one of the best. I always feel welcome and they make business travel as easy as possible. This is not your Ritz Carlton or St. Regis by any means but if you are looking to make life on the road as easy as possible, I highly recommend staying here. Side note- have fun on Wednesday nights with Salsa dancing in one of the ball rooms!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really like this hotel, especially, there staffs super friendly! Amanda and Amelia they both super cool! Amelia serves breakfast in the morning and Amanda serves dinner in the evening. Best hotel ever!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have traveled the world and stayed at the nicest hotels imaginable (yes including Dubai for those that travel). the service from one individual stood out in such a way it is well owrth puting in the time for a review. His name is Bilal and he provided the best service I have ever seen in the hotel industry for our family. He knew all of our names each day, other guests names and was by far the most accommodating individual I have meet in the industry. The other people at the hotel also did a great job but he was over the top and we observed he was that way with all the guests....not just us.

Room Tip: Use your marriot membership to get awesome deals including free breakfast and a reduced rate for par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Marriott just after the new year and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located on the left side of the 5 freeway in the center of several office buildings. We were there on a weekend so the area was very quiet.

We were given a very nice and quiet room with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Comfy bed with nice linen, and plenty of towels.

The staff, from the valet guys; to the housekeepers; to reception; to Johnny our bell man were all very professional, nice and helpful!! Check-in was a breeze. There is a small restaurant were we had breakfast and a separate Starbucks which serves to go items in addition to coffee.

My only con is that they charge for parking. This is right up there with a resort fee, since most people drive to San Diego. If they want a higher fee they should just increase the room rate. Other thank this, I highly recommend the Marriott La Jolla. We had a great time and will be back!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony was a treat!!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is following the practices that other hotels are doing.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our first trip to San Diego we chose to stay at the San Diego Marriott at La Jolla because it looked convenient to a lot of places and shopping, and it didn't disappoint. It was a few steps from the USC Westfield Mall, near the bus route that took us to Balboa Park and Old Town, and a 20 minute drive to Cabrillo National Monument. During our five night stay, we were waited on hand and foot. On a rainy day, we were lent an ultra big umbrella for our walk to the mall. Service in the concierge lounge was superb. Amanda always came smiling to our table with water, a big linen napkin, and silverware. Whenever she saw an empty plate, she whisked it away. And when it was time for dessert, she let us know right away. Food on the concierge level was always fresh, tasty, and plentiful. Breakfasts included fresh berries, melons, and strawberries; pastries, muffins, and cake, assorted breads; sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, and hash browns; hot and cold cereals with dried fruits, brown sugar, and cinnamon; as well as yogurt, cold milk, and hot beverages. The evening buffet on the concierge lounge included lots of fresh veggies and assorted salads; cheese and cold meat platters; hot appetizers; and a hot entree followed by a choice of at least two desserts. We also ate in the main diningrooms and were impressed even moreso with the selections and beautiful presentations od our food. The associates at the front desk were extremely helpful and pleasant to work with as were the attendants at valet parking who plied us with ice cold water and printed directions before we took off for site seeing. Our room had two large beds with extra comfy mattresses and a nice balcony. The view from rooms ending in odd.numbers was quite pleasant and the sunsets from this orientation could be extraordinairy. Corner rooms had balconies on both sides, one with room for seats. If I were to ask for any room for improvement, it would be to have a stronger connection to the internet. At times it was very good, but at other times it could be slow.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the higher floors ending in odd numbers have pleasant views and a balcony with seats...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you opt out of room service, the hotel donates money to a charity.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While visiting recently, I loved the comfortable beds and excellent showers. I was treated very kindly by office staff went, beyond expectations in taking care that my needs were met!
Food was good! I had the dorado fish tacos in bar restaurant, Amuse's lovely outside seating
Birthday truffles were fabulous!
It was very easy to get to and from airport as well as local sites!
I would definitely stay here again if our conference is returns!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, the San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, outdoor pool, and outdoor patio/bar. San Diego Marriott La Jolla is ideally located in San Diego's Golden Triangle. The hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. Our San Diego La Jolla hotel charms guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.