We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar service is best I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott La Jolla to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bar service is best I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you're in La Jolla, San Diego you need to say at the Marriott! Service is amazing from the front desk to the shuttle service, they take care of you. The highlight for me after a long day working is the service provided by Doah and Megan at the beautiful indoor/outdoor bar! If you don't ask for them you're missing out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    143
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
118
75
16
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I went to San Diego for a job meeting and I stayed at the Marriott in La Jolla.
I was looking for the restrooms and a gentleman named Miguel (who is a very tall engineer!) showed me the way. I asked him for a nice restaurant to go to, and he recommended the Nine Ten in La Jolla. He was very cordial and helpful. His recommendation was great! Also, I loved the Hotel. They had a very good service from the engineer I spoke with to the banquet people.
I give them 5 stars!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This review is specifically to highlight Amelia, Bilal and Amanda. They provided excellent service and hospitality and made us feel very welcome on our daily visits to the Concierge Lounge. They greeted our 9 month old son by name on our return visits and did not seem to mind cleaning up all the messes he made after eating. They were very friendly and courteous. 5 stars for their service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have visited many Marriotts before and this one by far is the most friendly, compassionate, and hospitable one. Major major kudos to the Concierge Services staff Bilal, Amelia, Arlin, and Amanda for amazing service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Lovely room, problem with getting my macbook on the internet - Miguel was sent to help us and he was terrific and solved the problem by calling their provider in India! Five stars for Miguel!
Pool was broken but they gave us free WIFI (usually $12.95/ day in room) Front desk staff also very nice! Nice showers, just bummed about the pool, as we like to swim.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn K, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Traveler1Ct,
Thank you for your review and your flattering comments about Miguel! I’m so glad to hear he went above and beyond to assist you in accessing the internet and that he made such a lasting impression. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we did have to close our pool for a short amount of time. We made arrangements at a local pool for our guests to still be able to enjoy this amenity but I sincerely apologize that this caused an inconvenience for you and your family. The sun is always shining here in San Diego so we’d love to welcome you back to enjoy our pool again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Amelia and Bilal do a great job in the executive lounge. They made the experience every morning for me and my kids just amazing. Staff like these two are what makes you want to come back time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent several days at tha La Jolla Marriott last week and was impressed by their consistently excellent customer service. Particularly Bilal and Amelia who ran the Consierge Lounge in the mornings. They were attentive, proactive, and did their best to assure my experience was top notch. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us in La Jolla! We are happy that you received excellent service from our concierge team, and I have passed along your feedback to Bilal and Amelia.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Emma S

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, the San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, outdoor pool, and outdoor patio/bar. San Diego Marriott La Jolla is ideally located in San Diego's Golden Triangle. The hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. Our San Diego La Jolla hotel charms guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.