We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Ideal Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

La Jolla Marriott besides being at a very convenient location for my regular business travel provides perfect abode for me, being home away from home. But more than any other amenities I look forward to being in the 15th floor concierge lounge for breakfast. I can count on Bilal and Amelie to be there to take care of my smallest needs. Their attention to detail about my preferences from bringing in my choice of plain yogurt to croissants, make them the finest hospitality professionals I have encountered in my years of business travel.
Lisa in sales is also someone who is always going above and beyond her duties to make sure I keep coming back to this high standard hotel.
Ali (Chicago)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    127
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
104
62
13
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have to say that the parking and front desk personel are some of the best I've ever encountered. To start with Johnny, I believe the bell captain greeted me with a friendly smile and was very polite and helpful in taking the car and bringing my luggage into the hotel. Once inside I was greeted by friendly front desk help(Teresa, Wes and Mirian) they made me feel like family. They quickly checked me in and talked to me about the hotel upgrades from last year. In addition I had trouble with my Mariott App. working and they were all very helpful in making it work on my cell phone. Hats off to them as again they made me feel like one big family.

Thanks and I'm sure to return and spread positive news about this hotel.

Bill

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed there for a week on a business. There is hard to find something to complain about in this hotel. The service was great throughout everywhere, at the reception, breakfast and room service. Breakfast is good but rather expensive. The only thing I didn´t like was that you have to pay over $10 for internet access for every 24 hours which is way over the top.

Green Features: Giving out disposable coffee cups at breakfast is not environmentally friendly
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On 11/1 my wife and I stayed at the marriott. We had an excellent experience from the beautiful lobby to our clean and quiet room with a great view. Theresa at the front deal was amazing. She completely understood our situation having a night without our son and took care of us. She made sure we had a room on the 9th floor away from any noise. She recommended things to do and places to eat. Everything was amazing. I recommend this hotel to anyone on business or looking to get away for the night. The surrounding area is full of places to eat and fun things to do.

Room Tip: Higher floors have cool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Marriott is centrally located and is close to UCSD, downtown La Jolla, San Diego, etc. rooms are clean and spacious. Nice balconies with views of the city. Excellent breakfast with an omelet bar. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I travel 50-60% of the time for business and visit this hotel at least once a month. This is one of the most customer-oriented hotels that I have ever stayed at. Everyone is very attentive and they are always extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge staff--Amanda, Amelia and Bilal--are exceptionally fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

While Traveling on business it's important to have a nice relaxing atmosphere with great customer service. I am a frequent traveler and choose Marriott La Jolla becuAue of the amenities, fast Internet service, good food, ample parking, and a friendly front desk. Mariam, who works at the front desk greets me by name and always offers great places to eat. It's like home away from home, I highly recommend staying at the marriott la jolla.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, the San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, outdoor pool, and outdoor patio/bar. San Diego Marriott La Jolla is ideally located in San Diego's Golden Triangle. The hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. Our San Diego La Jolla hotel charms guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.