We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have to say that the parking and front desk personel are some of the best I've ever encountered. To start with Johnny, I believe the bell captain greeted me with a friendly smile and was very polite and helpful in taking the car and bringing my luggage into the hotel. Once inside I was greeted by friendly front desk help(Teresa, Wes and Mirian) they made me feel like family. They quickly checked me in and talked to me about the hotel upgrades from last year. In addition I had trouble with my Mariott App. working and they were all very helpful in making it work on my cell phone. Hats off to them as again they made me feel like one big family.

Thanks and I'm sure to return and spread positive news about this hotel.

Bill

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    77
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
38
9
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed there for a week on a business. There is hard to find something to complain about in this hotel. The service was great throughout everywhere, at the reception, breakfast and room service. Breakfast is good but rather expensive. The only thing I didn´t like was that you have to pay over $10 for internet access for every 24 hours which is way over the top.

Green Features: Giving out disposable coffee cups at breakfast is not environmentally friendly
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On 11/1 my wife and I stayed at the marriott. We had an excellent experience from the beautiful lobby to our clean and quiet room with a great view. Theresa at the front deal was amazing. She completely understood our situation having a night without our son and took care of us. She made sure we had a room on the 9th floor away from any noise. She recommended things to do and places to eat. Everything was amazing. I recommend this hotel to anyone on business or looking to get away for the night. The surrounding area is full of places to eat and fun things to do.

Room Tip: Higher floors have cool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Marriott is centrally located and is close to UCSD, downtown La Jolla, San Diego, etc. rooms are clean and spacious. Nice balconies with views of the city. Excellent breakfast with an omelet bar. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I travel 50-60% of the time for business and visit this hotel at least once a month. This is one of the most customer-oriented hotels that I have ever stayed at. Everyone is very attentive and they are always extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge staff--Amanda, Amelia and Bilal--are exceptionally fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

While Traveling on business it's important to have a nice relaxing atmosphere with great customer service. I am a frequent traveler and choose Marriott La Jolla becuAue of the amenities, fast Internet service, good food, ample parking, and a friendly front desk. Mariam, who works at the front desk greets me by name and always offers great places to eat. It's like home away from home, I highly recommend staying at the marriott la jolla.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I love coming to this hotel mainly because of a waitress in the dining area who always treats us like royalty. Her name is Neli Whatley and she is wonderful. Sweet, very professional and it's always a pleasure to go back to this hotel and be served by her. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, the San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, outdoor pool, and outdoor patio/bar. San Diego Marriott La Jolla is ideally located in San Diego's Golden Triangle. The hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. Our San Diego La Jolla hotel charms guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott La Jolla to your Saves list