We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“Professional and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was staying in the area due to a meeting at UCSD. I received an excellent price per a promotion. I found the hotel staff ( including Jerry (Valet/Bellman) and Nadine (Front Desk) ) to be both friendly, helpful, and professional! Accommodations were excellent as well! I have no hesitation in saying I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    127
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
104
62
13
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed there for three nights. Hotel was so beautiful,rooms where clean and the best part of the hotel was restaurant a sweet talker BILAL who was giving us a very good service and good company. I think hotel should have few more of him fills all the gaps. But overall it was. Great experiences

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Reception desk lady was business like. No pleasantries, but explained what needed to be explained. It appeared that the hotel was not too busy, but I was put in a room overlooking the roof of the lobby driveway. Right at the same level. Although I am supposed to be an Elite member, I didn't think it mattered. The room was nothing special. What surprised me was the cheap radio alarm clock they provide. I never thought a Marriott would have these. See my pictures. I'd say the best thing about this hotel is the address, being in La Jolla. You also have to pay for internet access unless you are in the lobby for WiFi access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear soverdi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is imperative to our growth and we truly appreciate it. We always encourage our guests to reach out to a Manager on Duty during your stay so that we are able to better your experience and ensure that you are happy prior to your departure.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us this growth opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

the location is convenient, close to 2 major highways and right next to the UTC mall. the room was very clean and the bed and pillow were really soft and comfy. a special word for Amelia & Bilal working on the 15th floor concierge level during the morning breakfast hours. always treating every guest as if one of their own, they exemplify what is excellent service. a small quibble, however, on the maids who had forgotten to wipe my desk but have otherwise done their room cleaning job admirably.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale,az
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been staying here for the past 6 weeks. Amelia Bilal in the concierge on the 15th floor is the Best!!!!!!
Jeff that works at the bar is wonderful, what could be better than that? He the greatest too!!!!!!!! I love it that Jeff remembers my name and knows exactly what I want.
Best service anywhere! I would highly recommend the Marriott just for the wonderful service that we have received!
Just excellent service!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was lovely. Very Clean with a semi-balcony that had a hard to lock/unlock door (I didn't report this, however). I was increadibly dissapointed that the parking was $20.00 a day with no other options...what-so-ever! I Loved The Hotel! The Service Was Fabulous!!! Ceasar was my server in the breakfast buffet, and we was increadibly friendly and helpful. He was the only reason I felt good about paying nearly $20.00 for a breakfast buffet!
As I was checking in, Theresa was our assistant and she was wonderful! She answered every question I had and was super patient! This was my first trip to San Diego and I was there for my daughters wedding and she gave us some terrific tips! She went above and beyond! She was amazing! Kudos to both Theresa and Ceasar and thanks to them both for making my stay at that Marriot more than pleasant!
on another note...There were picketers in the front of the hotel, early in the morning, on Friday the 4th of October of my stay...I understand that they would like to see a union...some of the workers that remain with the hotel, under the new management, might be considered for raised and better health benefits, if not health benefits, all together....happy employees make for happy guests,....just a thought from a fellow manager....

Room Tip: I have only stayed one time and the room that I had was nice...the bed and pillow were comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. Everything was perfect.

Highlights:

-- Staff treated everyone as an individual and genuinely cared. I cannot praise them enough.
-- Wi-Fi speed. No dead spots and plenty of bandwidth.
-- Restaurant. Great food, service, and the patio seating is perfect for the So-Cal climate.

Nit-picky item because nothing's perfect :-) :

-- Elevators slow during the morning rush. Add a few extra minutes to your commute

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, the San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, outdoor pool, and outdoor patio/bar. San Diego Marriott La Jolla is ideally located in San Diego's Golden Triangle. The hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. Our San Diego La Jolla hotel charms guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.