We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is NOT everything!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Inn to your Saves list
La Jolla Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
El Cajon, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Location is NOT everything!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

First let me say I purchased a voucher for a two night stay through The Goods for $363. Here is what the offer said: "Get 67% off a 2 night stay in the luxury Junior Suite at the La Jolla Inn. Just steps from the ocean & downtown La Jolla. Receive flowers, chocolates & Champagne upon arrival. No black out dates!" So I bit and purchased a two night voucher. I looked over the hotel web site and was looking forward to being steps from the lovely La Jolla Cove and the opportunity to sit on my deck, drink wine and look at the ocean. First, YES were steps from the Cove, BUT we had no Ocean view, no deck, no fresh flowers, no chocolates and no champagne......there was a stale musty odor in the room and the bed was a very uncomfortable double. Now the positive side, there were two bathrooms and a kitchen area. Should I have complained, probably.....We stayed one night sleepless due to the discomfort and size of the bed as well as the musty smell. Again the positive side, we did spend a lovely day in La Jolla walking around the Cove and going to the Museum, so all was not lost. However we checked out rather than stay the second night and when we checked out we were asked "WHY we were leaving early?" I pointed to the pictures being shown in the lobby of the rooms, the same as on the web site and asked "WHERE are these rooms?" The Junior Suite we paid $183 per night, a 67% discount off regular price looked nothing like these....I was told I could wait and talk to the manager, but I told her "no thanks"....BUYER BEWARE!!!! Perhaps the upper ocean view rooms are nice, but DON'T be suckered into the street level rooms!!! This room was worth maybe $75 a night. TWO losers here, The Goods---I WON'T purchase from them again, and the Hotel, we are local and enjoy "staycations" and we won't return to this hotel and we will pass the word about this "Boutique" hotel. ASK questions if you book here and be sure you are getting what you think you are getting. I have walked out of better hotels than this one.....

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor Ocean View room, if you dare to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    28
    30
    52
See reviews for
19
101
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The charmless owner didn't have a record of our fully pre paid booking via Expedia on arrival. Not a great start. The place makes Fawlty Towers look 5 star. Behind the scenes looked chaotic, our room was horrid and noisy all night. Wildly overpriced for what you got. No breakfast. Reminded me of a European YMCA student hostel in the 70s.

Room Tip: In a different hotel for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we will take all steps necessary to address the concerns you have made evident in your writing. I will personally make sure that the issue of a misplaced reservation does not occur. --Michelle Mead, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful- it is by far the BEST feature of the hotel. The hotel staff- young ladies at the front desk are delightful--those are the positives.
The NEGATIVES-
1. Check your bill- they overcharged me and I produced the original quote from the website and was told- well we don't know who helped you with that then I never heard from them again.
2. Free internet-, yes, but it hardly ever works.

Room Tip: Note that there are rooms in the hotel and ones that are on the street- decide on your own comfort l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We wanted to get away to the beach for Xmas and didn't want to pay an arm & leg. Spent 3 nights in unit 18. Had a beautiful view of the ocean. Couldn't have been in a better location for walking to shops, restaurants, the beach, etc. The continental breakfast was fine with us - bananas were actually fresh, oj was terrific and muffins and bagels were fine. Didn't need more than this with our lunch and dinner plans. The fresh baked cookies daily were great. Having read previous reviews, we were skeptical but knowing up front what you were getting was helpful, so we weren't expecting a 5 star experience and were quite satisfied for us. The rooftop terrace was a nice place to enjoy the views and have an afternoon cocktail. If you're looking for a quiet retreat, this won't be your place. We're early risers so street noise after 7 wasn't a problem. The walls are thin but we had very courteous neighbors on each side and kept our noise down after 9 pm. Great location for people watching from the balcony. The young ladies at the front desk were very pleasant and did everything to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Units 17-22 all have a good view of the ocean (2nd floor). Wouldn't recommend street level. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I purchased a Deal Chicken offer for 2 nights in a Junior Suite at La Jolla Inn (w/bike and snorkeling rentals), with the intent of escaping the Phoenix heat in the summer. When I called to make my reservation, there was NO Available weekends until after Thanksgiving. The "deal" I purchased was no longer a deal in December! Salt was added to the wound when we arrived to find our suite smelled musty, the carpet was stained, and the sleeping accommodations were average at best. The walls were paper thin, so we had to listen to the footsteps on the floor above, as well as all of the people walking and talking outside. On Saturday, we called to order our "complimentary" breakfast, which was supposedly available starting at 7:30 AM. At 8:00 AM, it still hadn't arrived, and we had plans for the day, so missed out. On Sunday, we did get the breakfast, but they got the order wrong, and then we had to walk inside anyway to toast the bagel and get our coffee. Not a very hospitable environment.

In comparing what we paid for the room relative to other hotels in La Jolla for the same weekend, it was a COMPLETE rip off, and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

I will end on a positive note - which earns the 1 star. The location in La Jolla is great...can walk everywhere and it is very close to the water.

Room Tip: Buyer beware. Look for other options before booking here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Centrally located in the heart of the Village once you park you are walking distance to every were you want to go.
We were visiting family and it was our first time staying in La Jolla. Because we don’t usually spend much time at all in the room we also did not want to pay a lot for the room.
Price was great less than $100 per night and based on reviews we decided to try it and it included a continental breakfast.
We expected a no frills room and that is exactly what you get and the carpet at least in room 7 was in need of cleaning. You are however steps away from shopping and the sea so we got about what we expected and life was good.
That evening I noticed a couple of bugs in the shower that must have come in through the drains, not to worry we flushed them and all was good.
The next evening just after dark we entered the room and a large cockroach ran across the floor…. This was not okay with me if you don’t know what they say if you see one there are many more that you don’t see. They have a pest problem and do not seem to care much about it. I did not sleep well that night and was glad that we were leaving in the morning. We shook all of our clothes and luggage out before leaving as we did not want to bring any passengers home with us.
For the money I think the next time we will try the Best Western a few blocks away!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to find this charming, small, friendly spot right on Prospect Street, next to La Valencia, and at an unbelievable price. The rooms range from cozy to spacious, with balconies that overlook the street and the ocean a block away. We had a suite with full kitchen for one-third the price of La Valencia. Yes, it's an older property, no elevator, and the "breakfast" consists of a limited selection of low quality bread products, ripe bananas, and dry cereal that they deliver promptly to your room and quite good coffee that you get yourself from a first floor library. The staff is friendly though not particularly knowledgable about the neighborhood. It was not hard to find free street parking nearby, and the location is outstanding for shopping, eating and exploring the beach. Be warned that the seals, pelicans, and other birds create an extremely unpleasant odor along the beach, at times quite nauseating, and at other times totally absent. The smell does not reach Prospect Street, generally, but the early morning commercial traffic often serves as an unwelcome alarm clock. Check out this small spot with the blue awnings, and if you appreciate a great deal, you'll check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Inn

Address: 1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jolla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.