We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club to your Saves list
La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Nice hotel - a bit older - but the amenities are great. On the grounds of a private club/beach, the hotel is nice. It is right on the ocean. It is loud at night - we were on the 1st floor and could easily hear the room above us come in around 11pm and stumble around until they went to bed. The beach service of food/drinks is a very nice touch - can't be beat. The restaurants are very nice - but not kid friendly = all high end. The beach is kid friendly, but would like to have an option on site of a casual dining experience. Rooms were very clean and the pull out sofa was very comfortable. Kitchen needed to have a bit more updating and supplies, we ran short on a lot of pots/pans/cooking utensils, but nothing that ruined our stay. We were there for a wedding, which was awesome, and got a group rate. We thought the rate was very fair. Paying the rake rate would seem a bit much for what you get - but you are on the beach. Very close to a lot of site seeing adventures. The service was great - front desk helped us out with movies for kids. Room service was spot on. Cleaning was fine. Hotel is a bit dated and needs some minor upgrades. All in all it was great - not sure if we will return and pay rake rate - but a great experience.

Room Tip: Beach front gets noisy at night - pick 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    51
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
101
34
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a tough hotel to review....I don't know whether to recommend it...here is why.
The location is super-wonderful....the hotel is super-outdated.
The food is high quality....the service is not.
The tennis coaches are friendly....the courts are shoddy.
The pool is big and inviting....the pool area (sitting area) is limited.

This place is due for a make-over...however, if you think this place is expensive now, wait till there is a make-over and the prices will be at least double.

What one can attain today may not be spectacular...but at least you can go.
What this place can be tomorrow may be spectacular....but you probably won't be able to afford it.

I did have negative experiences (constantly) with the food service at the restaurant and on the beach. One evening, we were seated for dinner at the patio and purposely timed how long it would take for the server to come to the table (14 minutes); receive menus (+7 minutes); receive our initial drinks (+8 minutes); receive our food from time of order (31 minutes)....whether or not they decide to update their hotel or not, they seriously need "Four Seasons Resort Level" training. One of the members we met at the bar that evening stated that the owner has a "take it or leave it" attitude. I can see how that permeates to the rest of the staff, at least at the restaurants.

For dinner, I recommend the restaurant next door - The Marine Room. It is affiliated with the LJBTC somehow, but the service here is what you would expect at a top end restaurant. Food is awesome. Ask for a table by the window.

At the beach, the folks that handle the beach chairs are helpful and nice. No complaints here. But the food and drinks servers are also slow. Molasses slow.

We played tennis during our stay. It is not tough to get a court....and I recommend getting a lesson. The pros are great....very friendly. I was dismayed by the condition of the courts. They are due for a resurfacing.

As you can see, it is difficult for me to determine whether to recommend this place or not.

One important note...the beach is so unique. The staff grooms the beach, which does not happen in the rest of La Jolla Shores. This means seaweed is removed from the beach on a daily basis, reducing the amount of kelp flies by 90%. If you go to the portion of La Jolla Shores that is outside the LJBTC zone, you will be swatting kelp flies all day long. (La Jolla Shores beach has a huge kelp forest offshore (don't know the exact marine term). So there is a lot of seaweed/kelp that washes onshore everyday.)

Room Tip: Be wary of the rooms in the inner courtyard. The ones on the beach on the ground level have privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is amazing! We had a beachfront suite which was impeccable clean. We could walk out the door literally just a few steps to the sand. In the evening we had dinner and drinks on the beach while watching the sunset. It was breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and experienced one of our breath-taking sunsets. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Alex W
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is amazing!!! I'm not sure I can find the words to do this hotel justice, but I'll try.

The property is located in La Jolla and is on it's own private beach. Depending on the room you book, you will most likely be beachfront and be able to walk out your front door and onto the sand. We stayed May 23 - 26 in a one bedroom beachfront suite. This was perfect for our family of four (two kids - 5 and 3 yrs old). We could walk right out to the beach and the kids had quick access to the restroom or could run in for a snack and we could still see them from the beach. Included in the suite was a separate living room, one bathroom (with shower and tub combo), a full kitchen (with plates, cups, utensils and dishwasher) and plenty of storage throughout the suite. The couch also converted to a sofa bed.

Once you are on the beach, you can ask the beach attendants for anything. They will setup loungers, chairs, tables and umbrellas in any spot that you want on the beach. (But get out there early as people tend to claim their spots by 8am). You can order food and drinks from the attendants or bring your own. Since it's a private beach you can drink alcohol on the beach (which you aren't allowed to do on San Diego public beaches). You can also reserve a BBQ grill with the hotel and they will set up the grill and a table with 10 chairs for you to have dinner on the beach. If you can't reserve a grill, don't worry because the hotel brings out a large community grill at 5pm each evening.

Other amenities included are: free parking, gym, showers and lockers, heated pool, 9-hole par 3 golf course, tennis courts, free wi-fi, etc... Your guests have access to everything as well. However, they charge $20 per guest/per day and it's charged to your room. But your guest can stay as long as they want (even can spend the night).

I would highly recommend this hotel as there are not many places in San Diego in which you are beachfront and on a private beach. We are thinking of making this an annual event for our family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Derrick,

Thank you so much for the great review! I look forward to sharing it with our team. I am so glad you had a wonderful visit with your family. The La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club strives to create great family memories, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Alex W
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Collins
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Can't say enough about it! We love coming here for Memorial Day every couple of years. It has everything we want- and the ease of eating meals on the beach without the hassle of eating in a restaurant with kids. Room 122 is where we stay- right on the beach and very spacious for our family of five. It's a splurge, but it feels like a real vacation.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We look forward to returning here again, and hopefully often. This resort is more directly on the ocean than I expected. At high tide, the water nearly laps against the building - in fact, it does so against one of the restaurants. The entrance says (figuratively): we are on vacation now. It's very spacious with a 9-hole chip and putt course and many palm trees. In addition to tennis courts, there is also bocce ball, a ping pong table, and little play area for younger kids. We spent four nights in a beachfront suite on the second floor and had a fabulous view of the ocean stretching from La Jolla Cove to the Scripps Institute pier further north. Heading south, there's a great walk/hike along the cliffs to the village of La Jolla; to the north is a lovely stroll along the expansive beach. A few blocks away are restaurants and a general store where we picked up basic groceries for the kitchen. We also arranged for a kayak tour. You can go for days without getting into a car, but you can still enjoy amenities off-site and in town. We found the food to be excellent, as well as the service. We enjoyed their daily happy hour. We did not use the swim pool, preferring the ocean, but the pool area looked very nice. Our kids borrowed the boogie boards that were there for the taking, and we had a firepit delivered to the beach below our room, along with s'more fixings - lovely evening. The rooms in our suite were very spacious. The furnishings are a bit dated but fresh enough, and I find the decor to lend an air of a beach home that's been in the family. In addition to being a public hotel, this is a private club. If you want friends to meet you at the hotel, they will need to check in at the entrance and there is a fee. There is a clubby feel to the dining room and the whole place, so if you're not comfortable with that kind of feel, then this might not be the right spot for you. But we found it to be a special place and enjoyed feeling like part of the club for at least several days.

Room Tip: We are glad we invested in the beachfront suite and found that being on the second floor gave us exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Super super clean rooms! Free parking on site. Right on their own private beach. Right next to all the surf shops and restaurants, you just have to walk through the golf course to a little door that opens up right to the shops. They had a tennis tournament going on when we were there so they had cookies and lemonade out. I dream about those cookies they were so good. Haha. I would stay here time and time again. Great for couples, or families.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.