We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation with Toddler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Chandler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation with Toddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just returned from an amazing vacation at La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club.

The good first: We arrived on a Tuesday and were shown to our room. It was very small and old feeling, but five minutes later, we were told that we had been upgraded to a beachside one-bedroom suite. It changed the tone of our vacation. The room was breathtaking and I wish I had known the difference in room styles when I booked -- I would have sprung for the oceanside one-bedroom from the beginning.

The resort was an AMAZING experience with a 2-and-a-half year old. It was extremely kid friendly, with kid toys on the beach to the ease of being close to the room from the beach for naps and meals. The beachside BBQ was also a nice experience, although a little pricey.

A few not-so-great points: We were told upon check-in that the water would be shutdown from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. due to an emergency issue. It didn't bother me at the time, but when I went to turn on the water at 3:40 p.m…. nothing. We called several times over the next few hours for an update, and each time we were told it would be another half hour. The front desk staff seemed genuine with apologizes, but it was frustrating and prevented us from showing and going off property for dinner. I chalked this experience up to part of what happens when you select an older hotel. Another downside was the flies on the beach. There were massive amounts around 11 a.m. and 4 p.m. everyday, but I was told the flies are never this bad.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone seeking a very relaxing, traditional beach-style vacation. We had a few hiccups, but overall, I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    45
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
91
26
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just what we were seeking. Great location, excellent blend of clean beach/ocean access (immediately out your door) and heated swimming pool. They cleaned the beach of natural debris first thing every morning.
Attentive staff, somewhat secluded location and older facility, but within easy & safe walking distance of La Jolla. Also, a very nice mix of local members/residents and resort guests. Wonderful place for kids and parents -something for everyone. Easy access to activity centers (for information and scheduling) just a couple blocks away - and the actual activities launched from the north end of the property several times daily!
Don't miss the beachside fire pit and/or grilling opportunity - nicely done.
Sophisticated feel, a wonderful history of accomplished tennis players, and very kid-friendly.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This place is interesting. Awesome location, staff seems nice bit only go to a certain point. I wish the staff would really mean it when they do something. The rooms are dirty but the beds are made really nice. Wireless is very slow (frustrating) .

Again the view is incredible. Note: The pictures online are NOT totally accurate.

Room Tip: Be very specific on what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've been to the club a few times but had never stayed there. The place is a secluded enclave -- you can't even gain access to it normally because it has its own security gate.

I'd recommend everything on the dining room's menu -- everything I've had there is spectacular (so tender prime rib sandwiches, great ice cream and carrot cake!) and the service comes from an era that doesn't exist anymore, it is that good.

The rooms are close to anything you need -- there are tennis courts, a pool, a fitness center, great playground and of course, the wonderful beach. Our stay there was pretty wonderful.

That said, the rooms could use an update. I slept pretty well and was thankful for their complementary wi-fi but the decor has a dated appearance. Our room had a shower only, which normally would be fine but made it hard for the little one's bath time.

Everything said, I'd still recommend it to others because of the great service and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We just spent four nights here and truly enjoyed our stay. La Jolla Shores is such a great place to be with kids, and this puts you right on the beach. It was so easy to go down to the beach and run back to the room for snacks, etc. They have towels, chairs, tables and umbrellas and will set them up for you. Beyond the beach, our toddler enjoyed the pool, duck pond and little playground on the grounds, as well as the big playground just down LJ Shores. We took surfing lessons from Menehune, which was walking distance from the hotel. We were also able to walk to the town but usually drove because it took 20-30 minutes.

If this hotel could improve, it's just on a few points. The little cribs they have for babies/toddlers are old, metal and noisy. After the first night with squeaking each time our son moved, we asked for another one. It too was noisy but not quite as bad. They either need to oil or reinforce these or upgrade to modern pack n play cribs. Bring your own if you can.

The only other thing is drink service on the beach. We aren't huge drinkers, but like to have the luxury of someone bringing us a cocktail on the beach on vacation. For some reason, we always had to go down the beach and hunt for someone to take a drink order, and ended up having to ask 3 times before someone came over. It's a nit-pick, but it happened several times.

Room Tip: Second floor did seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. It is the perfect hotel for families with young children because of the beautiful beach and many amenities for children. We enjoyed the beach very day and appreciated that the hotel had sand toys and boogie boards available for use. The playground was great and we had fun playing crochet and ping pong also. We had a room on the beach with a separate bedroom and kitchen which was awesome. Our room also had a patio at the back where we ate all our meals. The staff and service was exceptional. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After a few years hiatus our family returned to the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 20 minutes from San Diego and found it as welcoming and brimming with things to do as ever. Most of the rooms open onto the mile-long beach and the never-ending parade of surfers, joggers, swimmers, snorkelers and kayakers. While a multitude of eating spots, and ice cream, pizza, and a general store are just a short walk away in the nearby village, we found ourselves eating many of our meals in the private dining room, or on the beach or poolside. Wonderful food. Enthusiastic service. Relaxingly informal. The extensive, flower-bedecked grounds provide an array of leisure activities. Our grandson even learned to play bocce. At night the air was filled with the aroma of beach barbeques set up on request for individual get-togethers. If there is a better West Coast vacation spot, we haven't found it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an unobstructed view of the beach. Use the private dining room (reservations use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.