We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club to your Saves list
La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club over the weekend. It was a perfect family getaway. With grandparents and 3 kids in tow we chose a 2 bedroom with ocean view. Perfect location-right off the beach! Not many hotels are this close to the sand. While it is upscale in price-the rooms are a bit dated but really large and with nice sheets/amenities. I would recommend the ocean side as that is really the beauty of this hotel.. The grounds are nice country club style. But if you are expecting a lush resort than this is not it. The services are all top notch. Beach service with chairs/table/umbrellas and towels all complimentary. Big bin of beach toys and bar/food service too. The nightly set up for BBQ looked like a great idea-we will have to try that next time. Every staff member was very friendly and helpful. I would love to make this a family tradition and come at least once a year. I loved that they also encouraged you to bring your own drinks/food-perfect for a family. We ate a few meals at the beach shack which was very tasty and quick. Fresh fruit in the smoothies. We also walked into town for a few meals as well. Very close to a side street with lots of dining options. Downtown La Jolla is only a free shuttle trip away for those who want more upscale shopping.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms make the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    51
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
101
34
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a lovely vacation at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. We had a room overlooking the garden patio. This room was very small (smaller than expected) and a bit dated, but extremely clean and the kitchenette was a huge plus. A bit cramped for a family of four, BUT we literally only slept there, there was so much to do outside! The beach was lovely with towel and chair service included. They even had a communal toy box for the kids beach toys. The beach itself is clean, pretty seaweed free and gentle waves. Great for small kids. We got to play a few holes of golf on the cute 9-hole 3 par golf course, also clubs and balls included. The kids loved the pond full of ducks & swans and the playground. The Club restaurant was reasonably priced ($9, 3 course kids meal with drink? Yes, thank you!). We didn't get to experience it ourselves but they offer on the sand, beach side BBQ and fire pits! We will definitely do on our next trip. There are plenty of off-site dining locals within walking distance. Also kayak & snorkeling tours within walking distance. You can not beat the location! Hardly any hotels ON the beach in La Jolla. It's also a bit off the super touristy part of La Jolla so it's just less crowded feeling in general. We loved it here and hope to make it annual trip. Oh, service was first class!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My one night stay was short, but I arrived early on a Saturday for the prestigious Pacific Coast Doubles tournament in early March, so the place was teeming with top collegiate tennis players and the weather was summer like. The impressively tall mexican fan palms on the grounds create an amazing landscape. But, alas, the property is in need of a make over, which would also require a far improved people flow. It's a bit quirky, with odd ingress and egress. I'm not sure you can actually walk directly to the Marine Room from the rooms. I had a tiny inside room.

The pool was overrun with children which made it impossible to go near it. At the other extreme, breakfast was heavily skewed toward older folks.

Great tennis history, but the accommodations are mediocre.

Note: dinner at Herringbone in La Jolla village was first rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was very late in making plans for Memorial Day. I called the beach club and was offered the fairway cottege. I was concerned at its slightly offsite location. It is at the enterance to the property. It was large and well kept. The backyard are was very large. More than enough outdoor furniture. If you dont mind being off the ocean this is a fine alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood,CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I ended up through a mistake done by Hotels.com. It was perfect! My family has had special dinners at The Marine Room. I knew it was a private club and never dreamt of staying. It turned out to be the perfect mistake.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I hate to write a negative review because the grounds are lovely, the location is wonderful and the staff is excellent. There may be great rooms available at this hotel but the room we were shown was extremely small, and extremely musty. We didn't stay. Instead, the hotel was kind enough to offer us a room at their sister hotel, La Jolla Shores - which we loved. I have no problem with outdated rooms - considering the beautiful location - but the room we were given wasn't just outdated.....it was uninhabitable (due to the mustiness). Our room was not an ocean view room and perhaps those are much nicer. Our room was on the ground floor of a two story building. Based on my recent experience, I would choose La Jolla Shores over the Beach and Tennis Club in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we loved being on the beach with use of the umbrellas, chaises, table and towels. It was fun watching the tennis competition. The food was very good at poolside, Shores and Marine room. I wAS PLEASED TO HAVE LANES SET UP FOR SWIMMING Nancy and Bill

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.