We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Snoqualmie, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I cannot say enough great things about this place. The room, location, staff, and service was excellent. Our room (#207) was a one bedroom condo style room with street view. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, blender, toaster, etc. A basket with Starbucks coffee, cocoa, and popcorn was refreshed each day by housekeeping. The unit was large, clean, has free internet access and free parking. The hotel is located on the beach, and includes free use of boogie boards and beach chairs. I did not use the pool, tennis courts or golf course but they looked nice. The staff is awesome. When we got to our car one morning and discovered we had a dead battery, the staff was right there with a battery to help jump start the car. They even offered to shuttle my son and a few other boys to their lacrosse tournament in Del Mar in case the car did not start. We paid $159 a night and it was well worth it. I will definitely stay here again when I am in San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    44
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
88
26
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club for a convention at the beginning of December. So many times I go to conventions with low expectations, but I was blown away by the scenery, the service and the food! I would definitely recommend this property for conventions, as well as leisure. I hope to go back for vacation with my husband sometime. Everything was in close proximity, and when I stepped out of my room, I was on the beach. It was beautiful. Did I mention the food?

Room Tip: Pick a beach front room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club while we were at the annual Father-son Hardcourt Tennis Championship at the hotel. We had a great time there and really enjoyed the proximity to the beach as well as the tennis courts. We stayed in one of the beachfront suites. The suite had a king-sized bed and a queen size sofa bed in the living area. There was also a big lounge chair and small kitchen eating area. The unit had a large, clean bathroom and 2 TVs (one large HDTV). The unit had a full-size fridge, stove top, microwave and all the kitchen utensils. Our unit was so close to the courts that we could leave our stuff in the room and just go back to get tennis stuff when we needed it. The beach is right outside your door and you can walk, run or swim there very easily. We got a great rate for the tennis tournament but I believe it's pretty expensive otherwise. The ground have a pool, 12 lighted tennis courts, a 9-hole short course and workout facility. We'd recommend the hotel for a great getaway weekend on the beach for couples or families.

We will DEFINITELY stay here for all future tournaments.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have always stayed at La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club when we go down for a family vacation. The hotel rooms are small, but the location is the best! You wake up to the beach that is only steps away from your room. If you enjoy tennis, strolls along the beach, swimming in the large pool or ocean and like to play a 9 hole tiny golf course than is the place for you to unwind. The ocean swims and beach facilities are ideal to just soak it all in.

Room Tip: If you like hearing the roar of the waves to put you to sleep, ask for an ocean front room. It is m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great place right on the beach, older rooms but excellently maintained. Cannot beat the tennis courts or the professionals. Could be more economically priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have stayed at this property for the past 19 years at least once per year since we moved to the LA area in 1992. It has done nothing but go downhill in that time. The rates are outrageous, the rooms are dated and the staff is inexperienced. The only thing good about this place is that you are right on the sand (if you like dark brown sand) and you can have fire pits and barbecues on the beach. The last time we were there, we were grilling burgers on the grill at our cottage. I called the front desk and asked for a "spatula." I was told that they don't have those on "the property." When I said, "its one of those things with a long handle that you turn burgers with" I was told' " Oh that, why didn't you say so." This place is way overpriced for what is. Sad, but true.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, IN USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The LaJolla Beach and tennis Club is the best vacation or get-away spot in the US. I have stayed there a number of times and never been disappointed. Rooms have everything you could want, but are decorated in an understated way full of charm. Step outside of your room and walk out to the Pacific Ocean or walk out the gate to some of the most charming eateries, shops, etc. They will provide almost anything you could want, be it pitch-and-putt golf, spa, or even a cookout on the beach at dusk. Tennis courts are first-class and plentiful. Most rooms have kitchens.You will feel like you stepped back in time as tradition is everywhere. If you are seeking glitter-and-tinsel, then this is not your place, but if you enjoy luxury couched in tradition and elegance then you'll love the LaJolla Beach and tennis Club. great restaurant, friendly staff, with the joys of San Diego just a few miles down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words and warm feelings to our Club. We were honored to have you join us and hope that you will be able to return in the not-too-distant future. We appreciated that you enjoyed who we are as much as what we are. By noticing our staff, you truly saw the magic of our property. They are the ones that make us special. We will continue to strive to live up to your sentiments that "the Club is the best vacation spot or get-away in the U.S.

Respectfully,

Dennis Rush
Director of Operations
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TIG Global, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.