We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay at this intimate hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Hotel of La Jolla to your Saves list
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay at this intimate hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

WE stayed two nights at this hotel with young children. The location met our needs to walk around and to restaurants for dinner. It is not a hustle bustle noisy hotel and is quite small and intimate. Nick at the front desk was friendly and helpfull showing us around. The kids enjoyed the large red apples at the front desk and we discovered the fresh cookies on the 2nd day.
We didnt even see the hot tub area. The continental breakfast was more then fine for just 2 mornings. WE would of tried the Cottage next door if we stayed another night.
(boiled eggs, yogurt tubs, fresh fruit,bagels,danish, cereals). Rooms were clean and modern.

The whole area was nice and relaxing we would definatlly go back here.

  • Liked — close to the attractions
  • Disliked — a pool would of been nice
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    172
    40
    10
    14
See reviews for
102
200
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

This hotel is super cute and is in an awesome location! There are tons of great restaurants, bars, and shops within walking distance. And the beach is only a few blocks away, including the area of La Jolla cove where all the seals hang out!! The customer service was great, and the room was really pretty and comfortable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

If I ever have an opportunity to visit La Jolla CA again I will definitely stay at the Empress Hotel. The staff is so friendly and accommodating.....they couldn't be nicer. The room was great.....expecially the large walk-in tiled shower. I happily recommend this hotel to anyone......given the location, the rates are good. It is located in the heart of the Village of La Jolla -- walking distance from everything, including the beach!

  • Liked — it's proximity to everything and it's great service.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachLizard_MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

I was in La Jolla for a wedding and, having never been there before, relied on a recommendation for a hotel. Well, I hit the jackpot! The Empress was perfect for my needs. My room was spacious and comfortable (LOVE the shower). The hotel staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, was attentive, friendly, and attentive without being overbearing. Although it's not on the beach, the Empress is perfectly situated in the Village of La Jolla and easy walking to a wealth of shops, galleries, and restaurants. Getting down to the beautiful cove is also easy, only a few blocks away. Take my recommendation . . . you will not regret staying here.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable room, quality, service.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

A really cute hotel near La Jolla cove. The location is great - walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beach. The service and staff were all very helpful and friendly.

I stayed in one of the hotel suites - which even has a piano in it!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to other friends!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Great hotel in the heart of La Jolla. Great location to shops and restaurants. Free internet and breakfast. Hotel clean, well maintained with large rooms. I plan to stay at this hotel again next time we travel to La Jolla, CA.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittygrl
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

This hotel is centrally located to nice restraunts, shops and within walking distance of the ocean. The hotel room itself is quite confortable and the perfect size for 2. The newly renovated walk-in shower is a wonderful upgrade! The hotel room we were originally brought to had a terrible view of the garbage cans and smelt horrible. We polietly requested to be moved... which was done without hesitation. Needless to say, that was the only hiccup during our 4 night stay.

If we ever return to La Jolla, we would stay at the Empress again.

  • Liked — Continental Breakfast, variety
  • Disliked — Velet service was poor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.