We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value but some miscues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Hotel of La Jolla to your Saves list
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Value but some miscues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Empress is a great value and is an affordable hotel with great personal touch and location. The rooms are clean and up-to-date. The location is 5 minute walk to the La Jolla Cove and is central to all shops and restaurants. The staff is friendly, responsive and courteous. All in all it was a great choice for our long weekend holiday.

Nothing really lacks, except a few small miscues.

Hall noise, mechanical noise and some funny smells. We asked for a nice vacation room with a view; we got the third floor - no view. The hotel was far from full.

I would recommend the hotel and I would return again.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor with Silverado Street view. Also, stay away from elevators, which is also ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear jimlenox,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for your long weekend holiday. Thank you for mentioning our great value, friendly and courteous staff, and our central location near La Jolla Cove for shopping and dining. Our goal at the Empress Hotel is to ensure our guests receive a personalized experience, and I am happy to hear this was the case during your stay. We’re sorry for the noise issues you encountered and that we were unable to accommodate your request for a room with a view. We do our best to accommodate any special requests when possible. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    172
    40
    10
    14
See reviews for
102
201
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great Hotel in La Jolla when on a budget. My husband and I stayed here while celebrating our anniversary, The staff was helpful and they upgraded us to a King size bed on a higher floor for free. This hotel is clean and close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The only drawback is the parking. Most of the street parking is for 1-2 hours only. Other than that it was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Cecilla P -
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay as our guest. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to take advantage of our excellent location in the downtown village of La Jolla, walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. We offer valet parking to all guests for a nominal fee since it's so hard to park in the village area. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to La Jolla!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I live in the area, and when I have guests in from out of town I put them up at this hotel. Most recently my cousin stayed here and loved it. The rooms are quite large with large bathrooms and a fridge in the room. My cousin told me the bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom only has a shower (not an issue for me, but she prefers baths). She greatly enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

The service is impeccable. The hotel is located right in the heart of the village. The only downside is the parking - it is valet or nothing. So I would drop her off and then go back to my home, park and walk back - not a huge issue for me as I only live a couple of blocks away, but I do like to self-park my vehicle.

Reception always has cookies available - freshly baked!

Great hotel for location and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the Empress Hotel La Jolla. We are so happy you've made our boutique hotel your top choice for hosting your friends and loved ones in La Jolla, what a compliment! Thank you for your comments regarding our central location, comfortable and clean guestrooms, and the exceptional service provided by our staff. We are happy that you would share a recommendation for us and once again we thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you and your out-of-town guests back here soon.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Empress for 4 nights during our first-time visit to the San Diego area. Friends had suggested that we stay in La Jolla. We are so glad we did, as it is a truly lovely area. Service in the hotel was very good. We didn't have a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant. But it seemed to be popular and we heard live music there. The room was spacious, clean, had Wi-Fi, a coffee maker and fridge. In addition to being within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the beautiful La Jolla branch of the San Diego Museum of Modern Art. We enjoyed both the exhibit and cafe lunch there. A highlight was that the hotel is also within easy walking distance of the dramatic coastline for close-up views of seals and sea lions. It was birthing season, so there were a lot of seal pups also close to shore. We went kayaking into nearby sea caves and hiked at Torrey Pines, just up the coast. But it was also a relatively easy ride south into San Diego proper. The free hotel breakfast was adequate and could be easily supplemented with the fridge in the room. We did not have to pay the $18 per day for valet parking and have no idea why anyone would do this unless staying in the hotel all day for a meeting. La Jolla has very liberal free street parking, 1, 2, or 3-hour limits during the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. So for example, if you park near the hotel in a 2-hour space, you could stay there for free from 4:00 p.m. until 10:00 the next morning. If you then go off for the day, even to another area of La Jolla, there would be no need to pay for any parking, valet or otherwise. If we ever return to the San Diego area, we would definitely stay in La Jolla and definitely choose the Empress Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review. I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, amenities, nearby attractions and most importantly, our friendly and helpful staff. We believe our team is truly the best in La Jolla! We value your business, please come back again soon with your next visit to La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Location is amazing! About a block away from the beach, the Museum of Contemporary Art and is nestled in with shopping and restaurants. Amazing Italian restaurant on property and it was always hopping and full of locals, that's when you know its good! Great continental breakfast and lovely sundeck with lounge chairs and sun shades. Comfy beds and updated features at this charming boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for the nice 5 star review! I am glad you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities while you were our guest, including our complimentary breakfast and onsite restaurant. I am also pleased to read that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our location to be ideal for walking to the beach and the many shops and restaurants in La Jolla.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Charming interior, comfy bed, clean rooms. Pretty standard hotel breakfast is on the second floor, with a nice outdoor patio.

I didn't get in until 7pm and headed out first thing in the morning. The location was fab, I slept well, I'd come again.

FYI-There is no parking, so you need to valet ($18- low for CA prices)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent our last 1/2 day in SoCal in La Jolla. Unfortunately (or fortunately, for us!) our flight was cancelled due to the major snow storm in Chicago. Thankfully we found out prior to heading to the airport. We started to search for a place to stay (first thought was to use our Marriott points…) but someone in one of the local shops suggested the Empress. We took a walk down, asked to see a room - and booked on the spot.

Pluses for us:

Two Queen Beds -- I hate when hotels only have double beds. Difficult for a family of four to sleep comfortably.

Clean Rooms and Bathrooms -- Very, very clean, with a nice, modern bathroom

Location -- Walk to everything

Parking -- You can valet, but you can also find off-street parking for free, which is what we did

One suggestion to management: Please upgrade your bath towels! They were quite thin.

Rate was an unbelievable $130 per night. Includes a continental breakfast, but we didn't partake.

Front desk helpful and very friendly.

The elevators were slow and clunky when we were there, but apparently this has been taken care of.

The restaurant in the hotel looks fabulous… but we opted to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for posting your kind comments and valuable feedback, which helps ensure continued improvement to our guest experience. I am pleased you enjoyed your spacious and affordable Double Queen room as well as our fantastic location in the heart of La Jolla.

We just finished our elevator modernization and are moving forward with room upgrades that include much thicker and larger bath towels.

Thank you again for you review and please come back again soon with your next visit to La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.