We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empress Hotel La Jolla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Save Saved
You added Empress Hotel of La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking Package
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lyons, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Empress Hotel La Jolla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Empress is a nice small hotel in a great location at a good value price. The friendly and helpful staff is a strong point. We have stayed there multiple times and will again. It has always been a positive experience, easy going and happy.
The physical hotel is pleasant but not perfect, so adjust your expectations accordingly, be nice, and you will enjoy your stay. Its not the Four Seasons and you are not entitled royalty - or if you are, stay someplace else.

Room Tip: It depends on the season and the days of the week and your preferences. Stay there once, check it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jefraz,
Thank you for your comments, we value your feedback. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location within walking distance to nearby beaches, village restaurants and shops. We're pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of service possible. I'm pleased to inform you that the Empress Hotel La Jolla is under renovation with new designer rooms, public areas, elevators and more. Please come again soon.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    146
    34
    9
    14
See reviews for
82
157
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was our 4th stay at La Jolla Empress. It suits us perfectly for location, cleanliness and cheerfulness of the rooms, helpfullness of the staff and good value. They are beginning to renovate the rooms though they hardly need it but it shows how important it is to management to keep them up to date and modern. It's obvious they are committed to preservation of resources (see photo) which is a challenge in running a hotel. Breakfast is good with the usual, but additionally they have very tasty small french pastries. And you can sit outside! Parking on the street is free and plentiful after 6 pm until 9 or 10 am. And there must be 6 fitness centers within one block with the La Jolla Yoga Center right across the street with may drop in classes. (Nice to stretch after a day of sightseeing.) They have so much going for them that we don't feel the need to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear EatApple,
Thank you for your valued feedback and comments, we appreciate your business! It's always a great pleasure to host returning guests such as yourself! We're so pleased that our central location suits you perfectly and that you enjoyed our clean rooms, helpful staff, and good value. Guest service is our top priority and our staff prides itself on providing the best possible service.

As you mentioned, the Empress Hotel is upgrading guest rooms, public corridors, elevators and more. We are taking steps to ensure the renovation is made without disruption to our guests. We offer Stash Rewards to our guests with each stay. Please come again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here while attending a wedding. It's not on Prospect St but still within walking distance to the beach and shopping. You do have to pay $18 for the hotel valet service but it was convenient. There was a great place for breakfast The Cottage at the other end of the block but the hotel does offer a free one. I would stay here again if I found myself in La Jolla

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear momof7pa,
Thank you for posting your response. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed our convenient location within easy walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants within the La Jolla Village. Please come stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel was in walking distance to shops and restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. The staff was helpful. Valet parking was available for a price, but the staff told us about the free street parking rules.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lax
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

booked sight unseen and couldn't have been happier. great room -- good size, bright and airy. nice bathroom with the right amount of shampoo, towels... auto lights on was a nice feature. wifi was fantastic -- very fast. had room service from the restaurant downstairs, was very good Italian delivered very quickly. lots of great restaurants right in the area. only issue was that one of the elevators was down so if you're on an upper floor, get ready to walk or............ wait. great value. will go back again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear paul518
Thank you for posting your feedback, we value your opinion, which is most important! Our staff prides itself on providing the highest level of guest service. Thank you for acknowledging our impeccable and spacious rooms. I am glad you enjoyed our many amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi as well as the room service from our onsite restaurant. You will like the hotel even more as our renovation gets under way to update and make improvements to the rooms, public areas, elevators, outside patio and more. Please come back again soon as we appreciate your business at the Empress Hotel La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We moved to this hotel after a business trip stay at the Marriott in La Jolla as a short vacation break near the beach. We were pleasantly surprised at the nice facility and the friendly service we received at this small boutique hotel. There were fresh apple and cookies at the reception counter when we checked in. The room is not large but has all the amenities including Starbucks coffee, camomile tea and free wifi! The free continental breakfast was excellent. They even have waffle makers that you can make your own waffle. Coffee is from Coffee Bean an Tea Leaf brand.
It is only a short walk to the beach for a leisurely stroll.
The room price we got from the internet was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Ho Chi Minh,
We thank you for posting your comments as your feedback is very important to us. I am pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location just a short walk to the beach. Thank you for your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff and I am glad you enjoyed the many amenities we offer including complimentary wifi, in-room tea and coffee, and continental breakfast. Thank you and please come back again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Empress is a nice boutique hotel within walking distance to everything in La Jolla. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well-kept. The included breakfast is adequate. The baths looked to have been remodeled recently. There is a restaurant on site which we didn't try but looked very nice. We were in town for a wedding. The Empress is reasonably priced, a good value in La Jolla.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.