We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd recommend it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Hotel of La Jolla to your Saves list
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking Package
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I'd recommend it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beds were comply, front desk staff very helpful. Nice breakfast on the terrace. We skipped the $18 valet parking and had to jockey the vehicle a few times on the street, but that was our choice. Nice central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel of La Jolla, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and value your business at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. Our staff makes every effort to provide the highest quality guest service to make your stay the most memorable and pleasurable experience. We are sorry you did not choose to use our valet parking, we charge less then the rates most hotels in the area charge for parking and it does include valet service when you come and go during your stay. We hope to see you again and value your business.

Thank you,

John Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    161
    38
    10
    14
See reviews for
90
176
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NM USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Pros: great location, old wold charm, friendly and helpful staff, rooftop sitting for the continental breakfast, quiet and clean room; Manhattan restaurant on ground floor.

Cons: room was a bit "tired"; there is no parking lot, valet parking is $18/night (if you stay on a Sunday night you can park on the street 'till 9:00am the next morning for free)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Empress for 3 nights and had a standard room with two beds. Ideally we would have liked 2 rooms as it was my mom, niece, brother and myself, but rooms in La Jolla are quite expensive. However the location was great. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Beach about 2 blocks away. Lego Land and Sea World were about 30 min away (20 the way my brother drives har har). The staff was very friendly. They had fresh apples every morning and housekeeping brought us chocolates in the evening :D I don't normally eat a big breakfast so the pastries, waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and drinks were plenty for us! Room was clean, a little tight for 4 people but nothing unbearable. I didn't care for the pocket sliding door to the the bathroom but I got used to it. Nice big shower and lots of hot water, plenty for all 4 of us! Would definitely stay here again. Valet parking is $18 a day, I think parking is free on Sundays.

Room Tip: Ask for 3 floor and above to reduce noise from street and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. Stayed here for business. Room was large, clean, had everything I required. I went for a standard room which had a sofa, coffee table, and desk/dining table which was great for when working from the hotel room. Bed was very large and comfy and had good quality sleep. Shower was large, good pressure, heaps of hot water. Bathroom was generally clean and had everything I required.

Location wise the hotel is a close walk to Prospect St which has a lot of bars and restaurants. But even closer than that were some nice places including Japanese, Italian, a fancy burger place and pizza. Try the Thai one block over - best Red Curry Duck in years! Was about 5 minutes walk from the beach.

I used the valet parking for 3 days which was prompt and easy to use.

Breakfast was average but I'm not a huge fan of continental. Free WIFI worked all the time and was easy to connect and authenticate.

No pool, no spa. Crap view from my room (308).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Empress La Jolla in late Feb, 2013, and couldn't have been happier. We reserved a regular room but when we found it didn't have a bath we asked for another. We were told it would cost an additional $100/night to upgrade to this room but after a bit of negotiating were able to get this room for an additional $50/night. Was it worth it? Absolutely!!! It was a huge 2-room suite with a dual vanity, a view of the ocean, and best of all a HUGE (think 2-person) jacuzzi right in the bedroom! The breakfast was fair but no big deal! The location was great and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely be returning to the Empress! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Exactly what you ordered. Rooms are well equipped with all the usuals. Iron & board in situ. Free wifi - great signal, no problems. Large rooms that have a sofa seating area too. Excellent for my business trip. Fresh orange squash, apples & fresh cookies at reception are a nice touch. Breakfast is good, gym is good.
Would consider booking for a family trip - very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Empress. It is a nice, clean, conveniently located hotel right in the middle of La Jolla. We arrived a little early, but were able to check in anyway. The room was a good size, clean, and had all the usual comforts (flat screen tv, wifi, small fridge, coffee maker, etc.) We didn't have a view, but didn't expect one. The great thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance of everything you would need. All within a few blocks were a grocery store, many restaurants, shops if you want them, and the ocean.

We didn't experience any problems during our stay. Everything in the room functioned just fine, no loud noise from other guests, outside, or the restaurant. The hotel had a continental breakfast that was nothing fancy, but enough to fill us up until lunch. Cereals, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, pastries, fruits, cold-cuts and cheese, juices, coffee, and even waffles. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment.

The only thing that was somewhat inconvenient was the parking situation. The hotel offers a valet service, but it was pretty expensive. We instead chose to take our chances with street parking. Just one block behind the hotel is a mostly residential street that allows overnight parking without restrictions. We didn't have a problem finding a spot during our stay - one evening we had to walk a few extra blocks, but otherwise were usually within a block or two of the hotel.

There are much fancier places to stay in La Jolla, but given it's location, I think this was a good hotel for the price (around $130/night average during our stay).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.