We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Save Saved
You added Empress Hotel of La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking Package
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. Stayed here for business. Room was large, clean, had everything I required. I went for a standard room which had a sofa, coffee table, and desk/dining table which was great for when working from the hotel room. Bed was very large and comfy and had good quality sleep. Shower was large, good pressure, heaps of hot water. Bathroom was generally clean and had everything I required.

Location wise the hotel is a close walk to Prospect St which has a lot of bars and restaurants. But even closer than that were some nice places including Japanese, Italian, a fancy burger place and pizza. Try the Thai one block over - best Red Curry Duck in years! Was about 5 minutes walk from the beach.

I used the valet parking for 3 days which was prompt and easy to use.

Breakfast was average but I'm not a huge fan of continental. Free WIFI worked all the time and was easy to connect and authenticate.

No pool, no spa. Crap view from my room (308).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    152
    35
    9
    14
See reviews for
84
160
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Empress La Jolla in late Feb, 2013, and couldn't have been happier. We reserved a regular room but when we found it didn't have a bath we asked for another. We were told it would cost an additional $100/night to upgrade to this room but after a bit of negotiating were able to get this room for an additional $50/night. Was it worth it? Absolutely!!! It was a huge 2-room suite with a dual vanity, a view of the ocean, and best of all a HUGE (think 2-person) jacuzzi right in the bedroom! The breakfast was fair but no big deal! The location was great and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely be returning to the Empress! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Exactly what you ordered. Rooms are well equipped with all the usuals. Iron & board in situ. Free wifi - great signal, no problems. Large rooms that have a sofa seating area too. Excellent for my business trip. Fresh orange squash, apples & fresh cookies at reception are a nice touch. Breakfast is good, gym is good.
Would consider booking for a family trip - very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Empress. It is a nice, clean, conveniently located hotel right in the middle of La Jolla. We arrived a little early, but were able to check in anyway. The room was a good size, clean, and had all the usual comforts (flat screen tv, wifi, small fridge, coffee maker, etc.) We didn't have a view, but didn't expect one. The great thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance of everything you would need. All within a few blocks were a grocery store, many restaurants, shops if you want them, and the ocean.

We didn't experience any problems during our stay. Everything in the room functioned just fine, no loud noise from other guests, outside, or the restaurant. The hotel had a continental breakfast that was nothing fancy, but enough to fill us up until lunch. Cereals, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, pastries, fruits, cold-cuts and cheese, juices, coffee, and even waffles. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment.

The only thing that was somewhat inconvenient was the parking situation. The hotel offers a valet service, but it was pretty expensive. We instead chose to take our chances with street parking. Just one block behind the hotel is a mostly residential street that allows overnight parking without restrictions. We didn't have a problem finding a spot during our stay - one evening we had to walk a few extra blocks, but otherwise were usually within a block or two of the hotel.

There are much fancier places to stay in La Jolla, but given it's location, I think this was a good hotel for the price (around $130/night average during our stay).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently stayed at the Empress Hotel of La Jolla because it was convenient to a location where I was to be a speaker. We were warmly welcomed and assigned a lovely room. However, the electrical outlets were not all working and no one on housekeeping staff was available. We had no TV and no convenient place to recharge the cell phone we planned to program to awaken us.
On the other hand, a satisfactory continental breakfast was available in a small upstairs room connected to an outdoor deck for those who wished to eat in the morning sun. The next day, in order to make our early flight home, we had to leave before breakfast was served and the attendant helped us to pack a little food to store in our in-room refrigerator. That snack was just enough to tide us over until we could get a meal at the airport.

Because there is little on-street parking in downtown La Jolla, only valet parking was convenient, and it cost $18 per night. The staff expediently retrieved our car when we needed it.

Room Tip: Though our room abutted the elevator, we heard no noise in our room and were able to sleep comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Empress – La Jolla
Feb 15 – 2nts
Room – 514 – The Empress Room / King bed

Three things I liked:
The hotel is conveniently located in downtown La Jolla
Internet access was complimentary (with our room category)
The air conditioner worked really well (That’s very important to me!)

Three Things I didn’t like:
The room décor is very dated and dingy.
Parking is limited and we had to park off-site, two streets away on our last night
The room didn’t feel fresh and inviting

I stayed at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla for two nights on a business trip. I chose it because I’ve been working in La Jolla often and wanted to try some different hotels . I made my reservation by phone which was a bit of a chore.

My room was “The Empress Room” – Number 514. The room had a king bed, sofa (which was missing two of the back cushions), small dining table, small desk and chair, 27(ish) inch flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe.

The room looked like a mix of old wallpaper and upholstered sofa and chairs with newer, more contemporary fabrics on the bed and draperies and possibly the carpet (I couldn't be sure). They didn’t match at all. It seems like it was an effort at updating that never got finished.

The bathroom was OK. The shower was very large but it took forever for the water to get hot. The décor in the bathroom was also a mix of contemporary and 80’s your grandma’s house.

We had room service for dinner both nights from the on-site restaurant “Manhattan of La Jolla”, which is a well-known La Jolla hot spot. For the most part, the food was just OK, but not great. Although the veal, beef and lamb cannelloni tasted excellent, even though the presentation was bad.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate. It’s served on the second floor, with options of sitting inside or outside on a patio area. Neither were visually appealing. Food choices were: waffles you make yourself, yogurt, juice, coffee, cereal, bagels, pastries, cheese, fruit.

One bad part of our stay was that the hotel parking was full one evening, so we had to park two streets away on our last night’s stay. The staff however was pleasant.

My overall opinion of The Empress Hotel La Jolla is; it’s just not for me. It was probably great years ago but now, in my opinion, it’s very lack-luster. Earlier in the same week I had stayed one night at “The Grande Colonial” in downtown La Jolla and loved everything about it. So, this property was a big letdown for me. It’s just not someplace that I would get excited about coming back too. Unless the rooms are fully renovated, I don’t think I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, near the elevator but didn't have a problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

On three different occasions over a period of years, my wife and I have stayed in the Empress while I was in San Diego for business. Each time, we stayed for a period of several months. Initially, we had chosen the Empress for two reasons: price and location in the heart of La Jolla. This location allowed me to take the car most days for work, while my wife was able to walk short distances to great beaches, delicious restaurants, shopping, local landmarks, etc. As it turns out, the best reason for staying at the Empress was their warm and supportive staff. One even became a friend we have stayed in-touch with through the years since. Don't think twice about where to stay in La Jolla; it's the Empress.

Room Tip: Request a high room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.