We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Save Saved
You added Empress Hotel of La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking Package
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed the week of July 16-20, and was very happy with the quality of the facilities and service. I was in room 104, which is close to the elevators and restaurant, but the room was very quiet and I had no issues at all with noise or disturbances of any kind. Parking on the street can be very challenging, but Nick and Alan at the front desk were very helpful at providing hints regarding street parking in the area. The Manhattan Restaurant was great. I had the grilled swordfish with capers one evening, and it was perfectly done. I know I'll be back again to sample some of the other dishes. All in all, my stay was very satisfying, and I look forward to my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    152
    36
    9
    14
See reviews for
85
160
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Empress Hotel and found that it deserves its reputation.
It is in a perfect location.
The rooms are quiet, clean and nicely appointed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially Cisco.
We will stay there on our next trip to La Jolla.

Room Tip: Room 416 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff was outstanding, always eager to help and very outgoing and friendly, always with a smile and a greeting. When I asked how to get back to my car rental facility since it wasn't right at the airport, he promptly looked up the address and printed me out directions. Parking is an issue in the area, so we did the $18/day valet parking and never really had to wait for the car. The rooms were nicely maintained and roomy in that it was wide. You can actually open the windows here. We didn't eat at the on site restaurant here but heard it was very good. The included continental breakfast was decent and had hard boiled eggs and you could make your own Belgium waffles and eat on a nice patio. The location is very good and central to everything with a short walk.
Would go back again!

Room Tip: I had read that food smells from the restaurant can be an issue in some rooms but we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Unfortunatley I never actually stayed at the Empress Hotel and never will! I was suppose to stay there one night for business, the day before my reservation (24 hours) I had a family emergency that required me to fly home earlier. My wife's back went out, we have an 8 year old girl with casts on both of her legs and a son that has special needs. We do not have family in our area and my wife's issues required me to get home. I called the Empress to cancel my reservation and they said they are holding true to their "48 hour" cancelation policy. After speaking to "Ben" who answered the phone, I explained my situation to him, he said he would ask the "General Manager Kevin Swenink" to see if there was anything he would do, I asked to speak to the General Manager himself but I was told that "Ben" handled all of his calls for him. To there credit, I did get a 25% discount off my summer rate, but after not being allowed to speak to the person in charge, I felt like I got the brush off. So be aware when booking at this hotel, make sure family emergencies happen 48 hours before you stay there and that the "General Manager" is too busy to actually speak to his customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a Thursday night mid-July. We paid $171 a night due to a special promotion via email. The staff was nice and we enjoyed the little extras they provided such as chocolates and cookies. The breakfast was ok. The rooms were clean but pretty standard. The best thing about this hotel is the location. I loved how close it was to the cove. I would definitely stay here again if I could get a similiar rate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I travelled to La Jolla June 20 for a one-night stay (a Wednesday night.) I had to call several hotels to get a reservation, and finally got one at the Empress. When I showed up to check in, they said they were sorry, a guest had chosen to stay an extra night (no, I don't believe them), and they didn't have a room for me. But they COULD offer me a free night just down the street. I was skeptical but decided I check it out. The place I pulled up to looked like they rented by the hour. There was no way I was going to stay there, free or not.

I feel that a REAL hotel would have found me an equally nice room elsewhere. I would have been fine paying the rate that I as promised at the Empress.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Value for money is terrible. There are better places in La Jolla I stayed before. It is worth while to look around before staying here. Front desk personnel was also not very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.