We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas surprise....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Christmas surprise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

We are currently staying at the Inn by the Sea and honestly I was terrified to book here after the last two reviews. I decided to give it a try due to it's location near our family that live in La Jolla. We booked a ground floor room with a AAA discount which made the room very affordable. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a 5tth floor balcony room facing the ocean. Our room is clean, spacious and we watched the sun set over the ocean today. The front desk staff were professional and very helpful. We were so pleased we booked a second room for some family members. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for two reasons. The location is excellent and the price cannot be beat. We are very happy with our stay and hope to extend the stay if all goes well with our visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    198
    120
    30
    25
See reviews for
190
161
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Walking distance from the ocean, newly remodelled reception, reasonably priced. We use it whenever we are in La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We recently stayed two nights because we had a problem with our first hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful in helping sort out the problem and offered me a reasonable room rate. Our room was facing the street but we didn't hear much noise from there though the walls are a bit thin. The rooms are quite big but have that dated blue-green design, the bathoom and sink area are a bit old too. Everything was clean enough though. Wi-fi is advertised but did not work well, it didn't work down in the pool/breakfast area at all. Breakfast was great, complimentary but oh so civilised compared to our first hotel. Everything is really simple but the room just runs nicely. No pushing or shoving, no fights to grab food before it's gone because it's replenished very quickly. The staff there were very friendly and helpful to, pointing out a refill/replacement of something I asked about. The hotel is so conveniently close to shops, restaurants and the beach area. What more could you ask for. Parking is easy and free on the streets around the hotel otherwise pay the$12 for a guaranteed spot. Oh, yes, they were doing a lot of noisy, dusty work to the rear of the lobby area. It didn't bother us except when we had to walk past to go to breakfast.
We ate at George's (perfect view and service) and Roppongi next to the hotel. My kids have allergies and both places were so accommodating to our requests. The gelateria was also a favourite pitstop!
We would stay there again. It's an easy drive to San Diego or Legoland. Beware traffic at times though, going in and out of the village area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Chose the hotel based on value and location which included advertized claim of wireless internet in all rooms and on the property. This proved to be untrue. The wireless signal was nonexistant in our room using both Macs and PCs. A call to the service provider for help resulted in a remote diagnostic indicating the wireless router outside m room was powered down. A call by the provider to the hotel was ignored. The wireless was also unavailable in the breakfast room. So if good wireless is a priority - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My teenaged daughter and I spent one night here so we could tour UC San Diego the next morning. The location is ideal and the nearby (walking distance) restaurants were excellent. In the morning, we walked down to La Jolla Cove and enjoyed the sea birds, seals, and squirrels that populated the beach.

About the hotel: The lobby is undergoing renovations, so things are temporarily inconvenient. Other than that, the room was clean, everything was in working order, and the staff was pleasant. The breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, coffee, orange and apple juice, a toaster with bagels and breads, cream cheese, jam, yogurt, fruit, pastries and cereal w/milk.

For what we were trying to accomplish on a budget, it was the right place. We had dinner at the Crab Catcher, which is pricey but oh-so-good!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

The check-in clerk was very fast, helpful and courteous. Though I booked online and got a good rate ($99/night) it was supposed to be on first floor. They instead put me on third floor in the back, where I had a slight ocean view off to the right. The room was quiet enough, the bed comfortable, the wi-fi actually worked. The continental breakfast (pastries, cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee, fruit) is plenty, and you can sit at poolside and read the paper. There is a $12 daily charge for parking, but since I was going to be gone all day, I could park free on the street overnight. It was an easy walk to the beach, The Living Room (coffee shop/restaurant, opens at 6 a.m.), stores. In short, this place, while not heavy on the charm or decor, met my needs for this trip perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had been travelling around the States and the place we were going to stay at in Oceanside was not very good so we moved onto La Jolla to find somewhere just for one night. The service here was very good the room was large and clean and for the money was very good value as well as being ideally placed to walk out for dinner. I hadnt stayed at a Best Western before but would definitely stay for a short time again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.