We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coastal california getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
St. Petersburg, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“coastal california getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

excellent location, within walking distance of beach,shopping and dining. Good-sized rooms, excellent public areas, exceptionally clean throughout property. Afternoon coffee bar in lobby a welcome amenity, breakfast poolside was satisfying, and enjoying the ocean breeze from room balcony was delightful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    164
    110
    28
    21
See reviews for
158
128
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I came in with a group, so the price was right. The property is older, and had signs promising a renovation soon. Parking was a challenge, but I always managed to succeed. I was here for two nights and was on the second floor. The staff was quite great, and I had nice open windows overlooking the pool. I didnt use the balcony but appreciated having it, The room, although dated, was clean, and the bed was comfortable. I never turned on the TV. Breakfast didnt have much that interested me, but I enjoyed the sausage links :)

I have two minor complaints. First, the internet really was insufficient. I had planned on my nightly entertainment being on my computer, but the internet spun when just checking on Facebook, so that really limited my options and was disappointing. The other was sound. There was just an ambiance of loudness in the building. Doors opening and closing, plumbing in the walls, and any time the guy next door tinkled, I could hear every drop. It didnt bother me much, or interrupt my sleep, but it was there.

I'd stay again if I needed a Best Western in the area, but I'd probably check other options first. As mentioned, the price was right and I got what I paid for: a comfy room, a good sleep, and friendly staff (I wish I could recall the guy's name who checked me in, Wednesday night just shy of 11pm...he was really friendly).

Room Tip: Parking on the street, which seemed ample, saves you the $12 nightly fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great location. Easy access to stores and restaurants. Loved the view from our room however did not like alley noise and wish there was a fridge in room. Staff was professional not real friendly. Breakfast was very good. Loved La Jolla Cove and all the sea lions. Would stay again if traveling to La Jolla.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, it's only a couple blocks from the beach in La Jolla and within easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms do now, however, have good views. The hotel itself is just ok. The decor is dated and the beds aren't very comfortable. The room was clean, but all of the towels were faded to different shades and it seemed a bit shabby. Overall though, the room was fairly quiet and wasn't too bad given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. There was constant noise from the elevators and apparently from the stairway. Our hot water would come and go for no apparent reason. The free breakfast was above average with nice variety.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a wedding. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anything. The staff was very friendly. Check in and check out were very easy. They had 3 separate wedding groups that they were working with. So the Hotel was full. The pool is nice and the water was warm. The hotel lobby was nice, and the fresh Apples, Pizza and Coffee bar was a nice bonus. But the Hallway, The Rooms & Bathrooms seemed a little run down and outdated. The Showers would be the perfect temperature one minute and then either become scolding hot or extremely cold. We had to give our kids baths… for fear they would get burnt with the hot water.

The Free Hot Breakfast was ok. The fresh cut up fruit was great and the ladies who oversee the breakfast buffet were very helpful and were quick to clean a table after the guests were done.

One thing we did miss is Refrigerator in our room. This is pretty standard in most hotels now and would a great Bonus if they were to add them...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great location to everything. The closeness of the beach, and shopping was wonderful. The hotel was very very clean, and the staff and service was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel. This was my first experience with Best Western and it will now be my hotel of choice

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.