We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“o.k. with a nice view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    165
    110
    28
    21
See reviews for
158
129
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Block of rooms were reserved for a family wedding. This would not have been the place I selected, however, it turned out to be clean, reasonably priced and a nice stay. THe hotel was located close to the wedding and reception, it was very near the shopping district of town and near the beach. All in all, a nice stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We didn't have breakfast as the room was tiny and very busy. Not really big enough for the size of the hotel.
Wasn't the cheapest place but La Jolla is expensive. We enjoyed our stay and slept well. Before arriving we were advised that there may be noise from building work on the morning of our departure. We didn't hear a thing but appreciated the warning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location, walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping as well as the children's pool with hundreds of seals. The service was great, room cleaned promptly. Although there was construction while we were there we were notified, and barely affected. They are updating the property, probably so they can charge double or triple what they are now :(. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Parked the car and never got in it again for our whole stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This property has an ideal location in La Jolla but is absurdly overpriced. The hotel desperately needs a renovation and strikes me more as a Motel 6 or Super 8 quality level.

The rooms either face the street or an alleyway behind a couple of restaurants. I have stayed at the property twice and had an 'ocean view' room. 'Ocean View' is a huge stretch and you can only see the ocean past telephone lines and between other buildings. All of the ocean view rooms are on the alley side so most mornings you're waking up to trash collection and employees arriving for work and talking loudly.

If the rooms were priced under $100, I would have been satisfied but some of the rooms are close to $200! Totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

During my stay there was construction taking place. I feel the desk clerk should have said something like "pardon our dust" so I was surprised the next morning when the water was turned off and there was no air conditioning. The water was turned back on later in the day. As far as the air conditioning I was told to open patio doors or they could send up a fan. I realize these are only inconveniences but I expected a little more from a Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.