We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My parents and I visited from the UK for my niece's wedding and stayed here from the 12th - 18th March this year. As soon as we walked into the reception, we had a very warm welcome from the staff. They would always speak to you when you passed throughout the week. The large lobby was bright and open, there was plenty of room to sit down and a computer available for anyone to use. It was a great place to sit and chat. There are two lifts, one having glass walls facing the front of the hotel. We were on the 3rd floor along with many family members and friends who were attending the wedding. My parents have mobility problems and the bathroom had handrails all around so they felt safe when using the shower. The rooms were bright and were cleaned daily. Also with free wi-fi and tea and coffee facilities in the room. The breakfast selection was amazing, various types of teas, coffee and juices. Everything from a cooked items to toast, cereals, pastries and fruit. The staff here were very helpful and would constantly replenish the hot food. I asked at reception one evening for a recommended place to eat. I was told that Amici's across the road from the hotel was good. I asked if we could take the food to our room and was told this would not be a problem. We had a wonderful stay here. I recommend it to anyone. It's in a great location for the shops and restaurants and only about 10 minutes walk down to the sea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    138
    96
    22
    18
See reviews for
130
94
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As a frequent visitor to LaJolla, I've been generally disappointed in the cost/value ratios of most hotels. This Best Western is by far the best value. The rooms are dated and not very "fresh," but the value is excellent with free wifi, a surprisingly extensive free breakfast, and superb location. I've seen the property for years and always assumed it was "downscale," but staying for the first time was surprised to find the staff so helpful and consistently friendly. I normally stay at the Hyatt for about twice the price, and have to drive everywhere. This Best Western has so many dining options within a couple of blocks, and the beach and waterfront walk is just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location was good. Our room was clean. The room was very noisy. Our upstairs neighbors walked around all night. People ran up and down the hall during the night and we could actually hear the people talking in the next room. If you are staying for a few nights, request the top floor. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was most impressed by the continental breakfast, and the staff helping with breakfast. There was a large variety of food and the friendly staff was constantly stocking it. Maximo was super nice and so was another woman working breakfast. The rooms were clean and good sized and the balconies are nice, even though there isn't really a view. The shower pressure was pretty bad, but do-able. The pool was sparkling, but I wish there was a hot tub. My one complaint is that parking is $12 a night.... which makes me angry because it was not noted anywhere when I booked the room and I think it should have been included with my already pricey nightly rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Love the location. Many restaurants nearby with good shopping. parking onsite, but you are better off with a compact car. Our jeep wrangler was a tight squeeze. even the staff stated that the underground parking was tight as well. Beds are comfy. Room was on the cold side. Even with the heater on. Bathroom vanity lacked counter space. Continental breakfast offered in the mornings by the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are said to have less water temp fluctuations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What more do you really want? Its a good place to sleep and close to everything. Plenty if restaurants nearby, free everything as above - easy check in and out - i am truly impressed. Basic breakfast, but it did the trick for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff were very friendly, room was fine and clean. Was on the first floor so some noise in the late evening from people walking and talking on the sidewalk. Breakfast food needs an upgrade, otherwise fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.