We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is only my opinion, but it is the correct one!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Lomma, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“This is only my opinion, but it is the correct one!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have to tell a story about this booking....I was staying in San Francisco at Best Western and I wanted to book this hotel in La Jolla for the next couple of nights. I called this hotel from the phone at the room to book.
I said " This is Valle74 from the Best Western in San fransciso, I would like to book a room"
She answered "No problem at all, I do have a great room for you, that will be XY Dollar"
I sais.."Ok, thanks a lot" and hang up the phone....
It turned out that the lady thought I was working at the BW in San Francisco and gave me a HUGE employee discount.....
Never mind, back to the hotel, a pretty good hotel, nothing special. But the town it self and the surroundings are very upscale, pretty epxensive at the restaurants, but close to the hotell, there is a Hard rock café...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    198
    120
    30
    25
See reviews for
189
159
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very standard hotel...but great rates for the location. Only 3 blocks from Prospect Street on the main drag in La Jolla. Hotel was clean. Check in was easy. No cmoplaints

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel is very closed to the UCSD Campus and a walking distance from
Downtown La Jolla. Nothing fancy but clean and quiet. Hot breakfast served
In a tiny room by the pool. The day we visit it had rained the night before and
It was not room for us to sit in the breakfast area, so we asked the cleaning lady
To please clean and dry the table outside. She was very helpful, so it was not
A problem. The front desk Manager looked like he was forced to work there,
So a better attitude could help the overall image of the Hotel.
If you are looking for a great location this is it. Don’t expect a fancy amenities and royal treatment. I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel in March. The location is fantastic, right in the center of La Jolla and walkable to everything. However, despite the refreshed lobby, the corridors and room were pretty dated and dismal. The toiletries look like they were pulled out of storage from the 70's. Our room had an odd smell, I think it was the detergent used on the sheets, that didn't go away the whole time we were there. $12 for parking which one could avoid by finding street parking and moving the car in the morning. It seemed like they were training staff. The front desk person didn't look up once as we walked past entering and leaving. I'm used to a friendlier greeting at most hotels. My mom forgot her toothbrush so around 9:00 I called down to the front desk to ask if they had any. 'Yes, we do", I was told. When my mom went down to get it, the person looked around and said, 'Oh, sorry, I guess we ran out". Just in front of my mom was a man who was asking for some extra coffee. Same story, they had just run out! My pillows were rock hard and very thick. I would stay here again only for the location.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here from Feb. 24-29. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was very impressed with the reception staff who greeted me upon arrival and the great location. I felt very much at home here and felt that all my needs were met. The amazing thing with this hotel is that my unusual requests were met. This is the first hotel that I have stayed at that has a card that you can place on your door knob indicating that you need the room made up early. As a bird watcher, I am always out before sunrise and return to my hotel room early. It was so wonderful to be able to return to a freshly made up room. The included breakfast was wonderful with healthy choices. There were plenty of fruits and hot and cold items. One could not leave hungry and it was more than a usual continental breakfast. The location of the breakfast room allowed you to eat indoors or around the pool. I found that the hotel location was perfect. I could walk out of my room and be at the cove in just a few minutes. I enjoyed strolling downtown, attending the farmers' market and not feeling rushed. The atmosphere is perfect and allows one to relax. I was able to use the pool and found it was fun meeting other guests there. The one time I needed to take the bus, it was just a three minute walk to the stop. In the evening there is iced coffee and apples available. I recommend this hotel for people who don't want to be driving everywhere and can enjoy the atmosphere of La Jolla without parking and route searches. I will definitely book this hotel on my next visit and hope to stay even longer.

Room Tip: I was placed on the fifth floor which is called the Penthouse floor and I had an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located in downtown La Jolla. Benefits include ability to walk to nice shops, beach (cove), good selections for complimentary continental breakfast, fruit and coffee in the afternoon in the lobby. Lobby was renovated in the past 2 years.
Concerns include the lack of A/C when the weather is warmer sooner than expected, side of the building facing the alley has the "oceanview". This side faces west and the heat from the sun can make these rooms unbearably hot with no A/C. Hotel staff are sympathetic but unable to do anything. As the "oceanview" rooms are the most expensive, having hot rooms really doesn't make sense.
The street facing rooms are cooler, but can be noisier. I choose the street side rooms because they are cooler, and hope they have a quieter room.
Overall, I stay here every 6 months when I am visiting my family in La Jolla. I hope that the temperature cooperates as the management is seemingly unwilling to allow guests have the benefit of A/C when needed.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the oceanview in late winter/early spring before management has turned on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

nice hotel in great location. a short and pleasant walk to the beach as well as to shops, restaurants and groceries. room was clean and air conditioner/heat/fan was quiet! street parking is free, most times i was able to find a spot in front. otherwise lots of street parking within a short walk. nice continental breakfast. i do wish my room had had a mini-fridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#14 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.