We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip with my girls” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Cove Suites to your Saves list
La Jolla Cove Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Snorkel & Scuba Tours!
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Auburn, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Road trip with my girls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

When I booked the room I booked it for 3 people, when I reviewed the booking it was for 2 people. I call the hotel and arranged for a rollaway for the room. When we arrived and checked in they produced a billing that was almost twice the price of my conformation. I was told my total price was actually the price per night I pointed out that my conformation said total price. After a bit of back and forth the manager relucktenly agreed to honor my conformation. After settling into the room going out for something to eat and getting back to the room I had to go down and point out again we requested a rollaway. Due to their less then friendly welcome and the over all lack of welcoming feel to the hotel I would say you should look for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Laurieljs,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

I want to personally apologize to you for your recent experience. While it is always our goal that our guests have an exceptional experience, based on your comments it appears we fell short. I want to assure you that I will be addressing your concerns with each department manager to ensure that we as a team improve on the areas that you have brought to our attention.

Once again thank you for your feed back.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    181
    59
    55
    69
See reviews for
183
161
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I searched for a pet friendly hotel and this one came up but when I got to the hotel they saod it wasnt.. I endes up just stayong one night and changing plans the next day.. the rooms seemes small and old fashioned.. and the breakfast didnt have much variety..

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear David B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

I would like to apologize for the pet policy that is something that the hotel has just recently changed. We do have a variety of different room types we offer and some are smaller than others. We hope you can visit us again and try one of our other room types that might suit you better.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I just finished staying 4 nights at this hotel. It was terrible. I will start off with the room. The day/night covering was too small and did not fit the window. We stayed in a suite with a pull out couch bed. This old nasty mattress was so bad the springs stuck out at the bottom. The bathroom is super tiny and out dated with leaking fixtures and hot/cold issues when showering. This hotel does not have any ac. We were never told this during several conversations over the phone about booking. The only reason we stayed here and didn't leave is because we had already lost $500 for the first night and the Del Mar Race was in town and La Jolla was booked up. The view was nice however the noise level from the park across the street was 24 hours. The hotel hosted a wedding one night we were there and the PARTY was on the roof and non stop noise all night. The elevator is old and works only now and then. I would never stay at this hotel again and definitely would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear azlegadventure,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

The breeze off the ocean is what we like to call our “natural” air conditioning, but you can also have an a/c unit placed in your room upon request. We do apologize that you found your stay less than desirable.

Thank you for your feedback,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Jolla Cove Suites for 5 nights and were not impressed at all by the noise in the hotel, the quality of the rooms and by the terrible smell left by the seals. We would have to cover our noses every time we left the hotel until we were far enough away to not feel we were going to gag. The area is absolutely stunning but this hotel was way overpriced for the experience. For anyone wanting to enjoy La Jolla I would recommend La Jolla Shores Hotel instead. Next time, that is where we will stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Dahlia,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

Our location is considered the best when visiting La Jolla, as we are only 220 feet from the ocean and the wild life which sometimes results in a natural smell occurring which is what you experienced during your stay. We are sorry to hear that this caused such a bad experience for you and your sister.

Thank you again for your review

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The La Jolla Cove Suites is neither a very nice house nor is it particularly cheap, but you can have (if you are wiilling to pay for a view with ocean view) one of the most spectacular views on the Pacific in Southern California. The rooms there are spacious but not particularly nicely furnished and in the corrdiors, stairwells and lifts the hotel looks quite run down. The staff is ok (it is more many of the other guests who are rude) and the complementary breakfast on the top floor brings you again a nice view into the cove.

Room Tip: Spend the money and ask for a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JoachimBruxelles,

Thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites for your recent stay! We are glad you enjoyed our great ocean views! We are working on ongoing improvements to our rooms and property and hope you will be back to see the changes soon!

Sincerely,

Tracy White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This location is hard to beat. We watched whales from our room one time we visited. Do not make the mistake of picking a two bedroom suite. The rooms are very small and awkward, and in serious need for fixing up. The one-bedroom suites are better -- and much fresher, too. We did not try the breakfast here, but walked over to Nine-Ten just a block away, where the food is great.

Room Tip: Some rooms could really use fixing up. Ask for a "new" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear _M_A_A_97,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property. I' am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our Two Bedroom Suites we do have a variety of other Two Bedroom Suites to choose from if you are in the area again.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location is terrific, staff are wonderful, complimentary breakfasts are plentiful. I particularly liked the roof top restaurant with stunning ocean views.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bath suite. Very spacious. The kitchen and bathrooms are in need of a refurb, but the rooms and furniture is all very good.

The pool deck is very nice and well kept.

The hotel represents good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Downunderjason,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with guestrooms, full suites with kitchenettes & cottages, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private ocean front guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.