We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, a bit 'Retro'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Cove Suites to your Saves list
La Jolla Cove Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Snorkel & Scuba Tours!
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, a bit 'Retro'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Location could not be better, especially with a balcony overlooking the ocean. So nice to watch the sunset with a glass of wine. Certain days we did experience the aroma coming from the direction of the sea lions, but it was not constant and did not impact the overall quality of the stay. We had a small 'kitchenette', really just useful for reheating left overs. The included buffet breakfast was adequate. The room itself was dated, and we did not appreciate the window in the shower to the outside common walk shared with our neighbor. Would recommend it but with the understanding that this is a "value" property and not at all on par in price or quality with the neighboring properties.

Room Tip: Go with an ocean-front balcony - still a reasonable option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear lmvacation,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    182
    61
    56
    70
See reviews for
183
163
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The place is old and disgusting...the rooms don't have any furniture to sit and relax and converse. Bathrooms are small, old and dirty floors. Too many rules, seems like we were back in grade school by telling us what not to do.You can save your money and stay at a much place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi bschiveley,
We are sorry you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. As far as our rules, no smoking or no noise that disturbs other guests, they are meant to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. While we are a vintage property, we go to great lengths to make sure our rooms meet our high standards of cleanliness.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location is perfect for panaramic views, access to a dining and shopping. The rooms have a retro feel. The smell outside is off putting at first (I did not know about the seals at the time). I would say a strong sea smell. The rooms are expansive with large windows overlooking the gardens and Pacific Ocean across the road. The cookies left by house keeping are awesome, however non were left second night. Service at desk was less that spectacular, not offensive but not interested. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The seals are everywhere and the natural surroundings are what make this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Brian S,
We are glad you thought the location was perfect and you are right, our rooms do have a retro feel. The smell outside from the cove has not been a problem recently and we are hoping it stays that way! We are sorry the staff last September was less than spectacular however we are very excited about the improvements we've made since then including ongoing training plus the addition of our newest team members. We hope you come back soon to see our progress!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best place to see the ocean is on the beach, the second best place to see the ocean is from any of the La Jolla suites cove suites rooms. It was amazing to sit on the balcony and watch the waves crash on the shore and listen to the seals play in the cove. One of our favorite things to do was to open a bottle of wine and sit on the balcony and watch the sunset. This hotel offers experiences that a fancier, more expensive hotel simply can't match. The location to the beach and to shopping was perfect. The service was great. They offer a complementary roof top breakfast that is worth not going out to eat. The pool and hot tub is a great hub to meet people. we met some great people there and had great conversations. I would stay here again if this is where our next adventure takes us.

Room Tip: Any room you choose will have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Chmcdan,

Thank you for your review and for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the wonderful things we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tracy White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We opted for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. The bedrooms and bathrooms were rather small, but it wasn't a big deal for us. We really didn't use the living room very much since we had 3 balconies facing the coast. It is an older hotel but some updating has been done. It's not a fancy hotel but it worked perfectly for what we were looking for. There was no air conditioning, but when all the patio doors were opened, we were very comfortable. You are right across the street from La Jolla Cove. A small beach where you can go open water swim and swim up to some sea lion colonies. We did end up driving to a couple other beaches in the area. Loved that we were within walking distances to a lot of restaurants and shopping. The breakfast on the roof top was very nice. Just wish there were some more protein options (only hard boiled eggs available). We checked out beach towels from the front desk - a very nice perk when traveling!

Room Tip: May want to upgrade - saw some interior rooms or rooms next to the elevator that would have been ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Heidi W,
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will definitely consider adding more protein options to our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our recent stay in La Jolla coves was better than expecred. On arrival our room was obviously closed up, and my wife and I started searching for the air conditioning, which didn't exist. We called the front desk and they sent up a portable unit immediately. By that time we had opened things up, and it was no longer an issue. The room was of adequate size, and we found everything clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent, and eager to help at all times. Yes, the room was dated, and the appliances could probably use an upgrade, but they all worked well. The breakfast on the roof was a highlight for me personally. The food was better than most, and the view is breath taking. The location is unbeatable if you enjoy wildlife. Scripps park is the only thing separating the hotel from the waterfront, and it's about a minute walk to the shoreline. It is rocky, but there are slivers of beach. There is wildlife galore any time of day lining the rocks that line the shore. My kids and I enjoyed watching them, and watching the waves crash on the rocks. The tide pools are also teeming with life at certain times. It's a short drive to the more family friendly type sandy beaches if that's what you're looking for. La Jolla shores is to the north, and Mission to the south. The stairs and slopes can be a little grueling, especially towards Prospect street so be prepared.
All in all a great stay, and we look forward to a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Drew L,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you found our breakfast on the rooftop a highlight during your stay... We have worked hard on improving the experience on the roof and are happy to hear people are enjoying it. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

La Jolla Cove Suites is a well-established hostelry, located directly across from La Jolla Cove--an area that comprises a green park, walking/biking paths, and most importantly, access to the two beaches and the waters of the cove. The cove is home to many seals, which bask on the rocks, and there is a natural cave formation to explore. As for the hotel, it is a relatively modest accommodation, several stories tall, with exterior corridors. Although bell service and (I believe) valet parking are available, there is a "self-service" quality to the experience; luggage carts are provided, and the on-site parking, immediately adjacent to the elevators at the rear of the building, encourages do-it-yourself luggage moving. However, I must add that the staff are pleasant, attentive, and willing to help with any needs presented to them. Our room, with a king bed, was described as "the first to undergo our current renovation, and it was featured on a Travel Channel spot about the hotel." (This was 10/2012). Perhaps this was promotional hyperbole, but our room appeared to have new furniture, it was clean, and we had no complaints about our one-night stay. It should be noted that the bathroom was on the small side. Hot water supply, heat/AC, and housekeeping responses to requests for extra towels were all without problem. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast, located on the topmost floor, with seating either inside or outside on the rooftop patio. The food was excellent, and the rooftop view--looking out over the cove to the ocean--is superb. The hotel is below most of La Jolla's center, necessitating either a very short drive or an aerobic (but pleasant) uphill walk to restaurants and shops. My wife and I chose to walk on a mild early-autumn evening to a restaurant for dinner, and the ambience of the town was almost European in its quiet, safe feeling--which is partly why I used "Location" in this review's title: This is the only place we've stayed in La Jolla, but our experience was overall beyond reproach, and the hotel's location appeared hard to beat--afternoon, nighttime, and then morning, we felt that we'd found the best location for a stay in this beautiful community.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Richard R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review! You are absolutely right, our location can't be beat! We hope to see you and your wife again soon.
Thank you,
Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with guestrooms, full suites with kitchenettes & cottages, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private ocean front guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.