We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms are old motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Cove Suites to your Saves list
La Jolla Cove Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 30% in La Jolla
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location but rooms are old motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has the best location for visiting the cove and the prices are cheap for the area, but it is really an old motel. The room I was in 304 - overlooks the parking lot and it is very dark. I think there must be some with views out front that would make a difference because you would see the beautiful coast. The room was about 12 X 12 feet and with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. All is very compact but the bed is a full size or maybe a queen. They had a fan going in the room but I did not notice any AC. There is a safe in the in the closet and an ironing board. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. There was no refrigerator. They give you some plastic cups for water and an ice bucket. There is a nice TV with a lot of channels offered. They have free WiFi and an adequate breakfast (cold items such as breads and cereals, fruit, coffees, waffles, etc.) up on the top floor which has a beautiful view. Across the parking lot is a spa and a pool. The walk back to the pool terrace is amazingly contorted to fit the hillsides in a creative way. Parking is in the garage but there was a wedding going on when I arrived so spaces were very limited. The staff is nice and they let me park in their employee lot, not far. Noise from the wedding went on for some time into the night but probably stopped before midnight.

This is not at all a luxury property and it would need a lot of work to bring it into better condition. However if you want to go for a short time to La Jolla Cove, the location is great.

A note about the area that bothered me but may not bother everyone - the smell of the sea lions in the Cove, which is right near the hotel. I could not tolerate that odor walking on the sidewalk near the Cove. From up top on the view floor where breakfast is served I did not notice the bad odor but right outside the hotel I did. It did not seem to bother some people who were fascinated with the sea life. It also did not reach the water and beach where people swim.

Room Tip: I suggest you check to find out if there are events on that top floor and where your room is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
suzanochka, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to LaJolla Cove. We are so pleased our unique property's configuration allows us to offer our guests a variety of accommodation choices. We have quiet, inside courtyard, smaller hotel rooms, that you reserved for your stay, as well as one and two bedroom suites with full kitchenettes overlooking LaJolla Cove and the beach, plus our terrace suites featuring panoramic pacific ocean views. As you experienced, with the best location in LaJolla, we are within feet of the ocean bringing nature to our door step, which is the reason so many of our guests choose to stay with us to enjoy the breathtaking views from their rooms and our rooftop, or walk five minutes across to the cove to watch the lions share their playfulness with us daily, happy you also enjoyed it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    213
    73
    58
    79
See reviews for
214
190
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The La Jolla Cove Suits are in an excellent location overlooking the pacific Ocean. There is snorkling ans scubba diving on the door step. The suits themselves are very well furnished and spotlessly clean, lovely roof top swimming pool and barbacues for you convience. The reception staff where very helpful with their directions to local amienties. Be there for the sunset amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
gint06,
Amazing sunsets and world renown scuba diving is our specialty here at the LaJolla Cove ! We are so pleased you enjoyed both during your visit. Thank you for your lovely compliments about our staff friendliness and our guest suites' cleanliness.Our room attendants, directed by Eugenio
and Iris work tirelessly to deliver our highest standards for our guests. So it makes our day to know you enjoyed your stay, thank you. p.s. Ireland is beautiful !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August of 2013. We stayed in a deluxe suite (1 bedroom and full kitchen).

Pros:
-You can't beat the location and view, maybe that's why the hotel condition and service are so poor.

Cons:
-The room was run down. Sofa-bed in tatters, stains on the carpet. Rusted-out bathroom fixtures.
-It was super hot that week and we would have liked to keep the sliding glass window open, but there was no screen. We had the window closed the whole time since we saw mosquitos outside.
-The hotel staff wouldn't cut us any breaks (room change, early or late check out -not even a few minutes). There excuse was always, "we're too busy".

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear JimmyBz,
Yes, our world class location and beautiful views, and excellent customer service is what is normally enjoyed by all our guests during their visits with our LaJolla Cove Suites Team. Unfortunately, it appears that we did not deliver on our standard high customer service execution.
I very much want to apologize we did not do a better job to accommodate some of your requests during your stay, and for the inconveniences you had in your room. Our property has been under going some renovation updates, and while not completed, great progress has been made, and hopefully if we get to see you again in the future you will notice the difference ! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel. We have stayed here a few times. The rates have gone up ALOT but they have deals and such. If you have a big group they have bigger accommodations and an awesome breakfast. We ordered a delicious dinner and sat on the balcony watching the sunset. Perfect night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Verosweet428,
Thank you for sharing your love of our property, we hear that allot ! It is our pleasure to be able to share the unique feel of this special hotel and it's beautiful location with all our guests, and especially our return guests such as yourself, please check out our Preferred Guest Loyalty Rates for your next visit with us. Hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We vacation at La Jolla Cove Suites every year and have for over 25 years. We stay the first 2 weeks of August and some years our trip is a little shorter depending on what is going on in our lives. It is a time when our family connects as we are all spred out across the United States. Gus Salles, an employee at La Jolla Cove Suites is awesome. He greets us, knows our names, asks how the year has been for all of us and usually checks in at some point during our stay to see if we need anything.It is always a pleasure seeing him and that smile on his face when he sees all of us. What a valuable employee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
47August47,
Our team enjoyed reading your comments about our team member Gus, who has been a part
of the family for 15 years at the LaJolla Cove Suites. We are honored that we have many families return to visit with us over the years, and Gus makes it a point to get to know them, and always goes the extra step in assisting them their visits with us. Thank you for your recognition of his efforts, we agree, he is one of most valued assets !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed here although I have been to La Jolla on and off for 30 years since I was a little girl to adulthood. My parents took us to the most expensive hotels in La Jolla and San Diego on our yearly vacationing in La Jolla and the San Diego area and I can honestly say none of them had the views and proximity to the Cove and the Ocean as La Jolla Cove Suites does. This location is simply spectacular and I appreciate this hotel greatly!

I found this hotel to be absolutely perfect for our wants and needs, very functional, very clean and at a nightly rate I could afford for a deluxe suite -- in order to experience the best views of the Cove, La Jolla, and the Ocean. Beautiful clean and soft sheets and bedding, brand new towels, a renewed look here and there, great sized rooms, a complimentary kitchen, friendly great staff throughout, & convenient attached parking.

This is my new vacation hotel! I will be staying here every year (and twice a year if I can) for as long as I can afford it!
.

For prospective guests checking out the reviews on here and other sites, the critical reviews on here are absolutely RIDICULOUS! Take it from me.

These "picky posers" lose sight of the fact -- if this place was exactly the way you wanted it all brand new from top to bottom with all the extras you complain it lacks, you would not be able to afford to stay here! Think of the Ritz Carlton, St Regis, the Montage. I don't see any of you on here staying in $1500/night places on a regular yearly vacation basis.

This is a rare opportunity to stay in a location (right on the Cove with the best views in the world) that would otherwise be out of your monetary reach. Instead you would be walking by saying "Gee I wish I could afford to stay there". Remember how lucky you are to get a hotel in the best location with the best views for such a reasonable rate.

You "picky posers" keep picking away as I am sure that is all you know and you can't help yourselves. However for me, you will be seeing me once or twice a year at the La Jolla Cove Suites enjoying the best location and the best views of the Cove, La Jolla and the Ocean with the best hotel staff around. But I am sure those "picky posers" are in the room right next to me typing away at their keyboards!

Room Tip: Don't think twice about booking this hotel for a magnificent ocean front room. Go for the Deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

You come to this hotel for the location - not the ambiance. It is a nice enough hotel (actually more of a motel) and the staff are great. The property is dated so the rooms are not quiet. The fans create some white noise so you can get a good nights sleep. The seals make as much noise as the neighbors but that is why you come to La Jolla. The view off the deck helps to make the high price worth it (especially when there is an event in the park which is just across the street). The swimming pool is nice and be sure to buy something to barbeque as this is a nice set-up for such an affair. The breakfast is better than advertised (they will cook your waffle and you can either put fresh strawberries and cream or the traditional butter and syrup).
So if you want to visit La Jolla and enjoy the cove - plan to stay at the Cove Suites and chill out!

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean front room on the 4th floor for the best ocean views in La Jolla
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear baileyno6,
We are so happy to hear from you about enjoying our ideal location which we agree is the very best in LaJolla for breathtaking views of the pacific ocean ! And yes, Alma who heads up our breakfast crew takes great pride in taking care of our guests in the morning with hot off the griddle, homemade waffles and fresh strawberries, which happens to be the most popular choice for our guests starting off their day. Thank you for your comments, and we hope you will return soon to enjoy more of the beauty of LaJolla Cove, and our Team's hospitality !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with guestrooms, full suites with kitchenettes & cottages, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private ocean front guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.