We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Jolla Cove Suites to your Saves list
La Jolla Cove Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
lafayette, indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved the views we had while at La Jolla. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room occomodations were updated. We had no blanket on our bed or in our closet so we got chilly. Our room was across the elevator and stairs so it was extremely noisy. The desk took our parking bill off to make up for the noise. Ask for a room away from the back of the hotel as it very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at La Jolla Cove Suites. We truly have the most amazing views and we are happy you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    175
    56
    52
    66
See reviews for
177
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for only 1 night but wish we could have stayed for a month. Staff was friendly and the view was fantastic over the cove of La Jolla! You can also go to the roof top for an even better view. Great location with walking access into town. Nice spacious room which worked out great as we have friends in San Diego and they were able to visit us. The room was clean and it was nice to have the kitchen as well. I do need to note that the walls are thin and the bedroom is in the back where people walk by taliking in the morning. But I would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Michelle,

We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites! It is a shame you could only stay for one night as we would have loved to have you be part of our La Jolla Cove family for the month! We thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Since I relied on this board when making my decision to book a room at this hotel I decided it was important that I also leave a review of our stay. The best think about this hotel is the view. Our room, 244, had a great view of the cove and the park. The hotel is in a good location for walking to nearby shops and restaurants.

Our room was a two-story suite in the terraced part of the hotel. There are several stairs up to the room so be prepared to do some walking as parking is not always available in the upper lot (happened to us twice during our four night stay). The room was very spacious and had a full kitchen, two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. The room had a musty smell and really needed to be updated. There was ample closet space; however not very many hangers so most of our clothes went into the dressers. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean. The sofa sleeper bed needed to be replaced as the mattress was flimsy and was higher on one end. Our kids decided to sleep on the sofa bed so they could enjoy the view.

Our biggest end disappointment was the lack of attention that was paid to the patio. While we enjoyed the view from our sliding glass door, we were not able to enjoy actually using the patio because everything was covered in bird poop. We understand there will be some as it is next to the ocean; however, it was never cleaned during our stay and was unusable.

We also had a problem with having enough hot water to get through a shower. We ended up turning the water off half way through to save the hot water.

They provided a breakfast in the morning, but we did not take advantage of it. It looked like several people were enjoying it on the patio.

If you stay in the upper rooms, parking is provided in a small lot on the street behind the rooms. Twice we were it able to get parking as it was filled. Parking is $20 per night. I would like to see security checking the back gates more often as the gates were open a lot.

The pool area was nice. We just used it for tanning; however there were lots of children enjoying the pool and hot tub. They have grills on the pool deck for guests to use. The deck chairs were very colorful and clean.

I think this is a good place to stay if you are looking for a place to stay that is convenient and family friendly. Do not expect it to be fancy or modern. It reminded us of motels in beach towns like Santa Cruz. You hear a lot of noise from surrounding rooms and traffic. You also hear the seals - but in our opinion, that is a plus!

The hotel provided a nice map of the local area. There were cookies in our room to welcome us. The staff was helpful. I think they are trying to make the hotel a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear SFBadgerGirl,

Thank you for your very thorough review of your recent stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. I am happy to hear that you find your room to be spacious and comfortable and were able to enjoy the pool and additional amenities that we have to offer. I thank you for informing me of the lack of attention paid to your patio area, rest assured I have passed your comments along to our housekeeping department. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a solid hotel (not plush) in a superior location. We were on the 5th floor - towards to the north corner - had a fabulous view of the sea lions and water activity during the day and lights up the coast at night. Our one-bedroom suite (recently redecorated) was well worth the reasonable room rate and provided plenty of space for our family of four.

Room Tip: The ocean view was key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear gwenn7863,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the fabulous views. Thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Got here in March of 2013 for a home base between the beach Legoland and San Diego zoo. First night there was a a Saturday and didn't get much sleep. Walls are thin heard teenagers running around at night and any and all toilet flush or faucet turn on. The other nights were a lot less noisy. One thing I wish I knew before I booked it. Is that there is no traditional California beach to hang out on. La jolla is a cove with rocky beaches. It's nice but not what we expected. Overall a good home base. Room was average. View was great

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Briant2331,

Thank you for your review and comments, we do appreciate them. It was nice to hear that you found our hotel an ideal home base for your travels through southern California and we hope we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We travelled from the UK and had booked a suite here for my neice's wedding on March 16th and would be staying here for a week. The staff were extremely unhelpful. When we had booked the room, we were told that we would have a group rate as there were others staying there who were attending the wedding. They denied any knowledge of this even though we had the person's name who we had spoken to (she was conveniently in a meeting). They were also informed that my parents have mobility problems and would need a room with no stairs to climb as they have walkers. My brother, sister-in-law and I went up in the lift, the carpet was absolutely filthy. We walked along a corridor and came to a flight of stairs !!! We asked a member of staff who was passing where the room was and he pointed to another flight of stairs to a suite that was located at the back of the 'hotel'. This made up our minds, we turned around and went back to reception and told them that we would definitely not be staying there and the person who had been in a so-called meeting was standing there. We refused to pay anything then walked out and went to the Best Western Inn by the Sea where there were other rooms booked. This was the best move ever. What a fantastic place and just for starters, there were no stairs to climb and the lifts were spotless. All I can say it, thank goodness there were stairs at this place, otherwise we would have been stuck in this place with a wall for a view !!! La Jolla Cove Suites .... you did us a huge favour !!

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I was the manager on duty who assisted you when you arrived. Your money was immediately refunded and your reservation was canceled with no issue. We truly regret that here was a miscommunication our part concerning a room with no stairs and we sincerely apologize. I am pleased to hear that you were able to find accommodations elsewhere that better fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during a business trip. The view is incredible but the hotel has seen better days and could be modernized. It was clean though! We had multiple trouble with our access card, but the staff was mostly very friendly and tried to help us as good as they could. The security guy was super friendly and helpful!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Paul,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view and superb location that La Jolla Cove Suites has to offer. I thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and security. Perhaps on your return visit, you might consider trying one of our newly renovated deluxe suites that offer some of the best views in our hotel. We thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with guestrooms, full suites with kitchenettes & cottages, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private ocean front guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.