We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Cove Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We needed a 2 bedroom and this was just what we needed. Very clean! Unbelievably, we arrived for a cold, windy weekend so a walk at the fabulous park across the street was out. In spite of using the elevator, our room meant climbing several sets of stairs; for us, not a problem, for others, maybe. Not too fun in the wind and rain, but how often does that happen in San Diego?
It's a simple place. Kitchenette is just that; a small kitchenette. While there were 3 of us, to sit in the living area meant one of us needed to bring the dinette chair over. Bathrooms were tiny and not well lit.
We had a oceanside view; alas, the window and balcony was tiny. It was a beautiful view though.
No Wifi in the rooms and sketchy at best in the rooftop lounge. Not ideal there...
Great for La Jolla--our own parking area!! That rates big!!
We came near the end of the continental breakfast; had to sit at dirty table. Trash can was so full we barely could stuff our dirty dishes inside. We didn't eat there the second day.
Would we stay there again? Not sure....

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanside room; make sure to request near the elevator if you don't want to climb stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. We are happy to announce that all of our rooms now have wireless high speed access! We also have terrace two bedroom suites available with spacious living room and dining rooms areas, full sized kitchens as opposed to a kitchenette and a beautiful panoramic ocean view from your balcony. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooftop breakfast, rest assured that action will be taken to ensure that this never happens again. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    161
    51
    47
    63
See reviews for
159
142
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the same review I posted at Yelp - I wanted to repeat it here.
Even though it's right across the street from my wife's favorite park in La Jolla, we really didn't know much about this place until I saw it showcased on an episode of "Hotel Impossible".
After some research on their website, I made a one night reservation for one of their deluxe 1 bedroom king suites for the night of Monday, Nov. 5.
Wow, were we impressed with the fantastic room (shown on the TV show), the cleanliness of the entire facility and the professionalism of the staff. Checking in and getting our stuff up to the room was easy with the luggage carts provided and the large elevator. There was covered and uncovered parking for a small additional fee.
The view from our balcony was awesome as it overlooked the park, the cove and the ocean beyond. Our room had a full kitchen and the sliding glass doors off the living room opened in the center making for a large unobstructed and fantastic view. The bedroom was huge had plenty of closet space and a second TV.
We took several walks along the ocean in the park, viewed the sunset from the fantastic roof deck at the hotel, spent a bunch of time on our room's large balcony and had the complimentary breakfast back on the roof deck the next morning.
With the different room options and specials we're planning a trip back early next year and hoping to stay two nights this time.

Room Tip: You must get an oceanfront room (the one bedroom King suites are awesome) and make sure you schedule...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic view from your newly updated king deluxe suite. Be sure to watch our follow up episode on Hotel Impossible premiering on February 4th! Thank you again for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family and I chose to stay here because he is getting surgery at the VA hospital. It is perfect, about 5 miles away to the VA hospital, and across the street from the beach. It has a fully equiped kitchen, which makes it nice to be able to cook instead of eating out. The view from the balcony is priceless. The staff here is awesome. They gave us a nice military discount, could not beat the price! We will definetely stay here again many times more. We have three kids and the room size was perfect for all of us, beats staying in a tiny cramped hotel room! I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Fourth floor, awesome view of the La Jolla Cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
There is nothing better than hearing back from guests regarding the wonderful stay they had here at La Jolla Cove Suites! We thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor and we also thank you for your service, it was our honor to offer you a military discount. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the one bedroom hotel room. It was small but adequate for just the two of us and the location and view were great. We then upgraded to a terrace two bedroom suite so our son and daughter-in-law could join us. WOW! What a great suite. The view was totally breathtaking. We were very pleased with the room and the location could not be better. Easy access to the beach out front or Prospect Street out the back. The room was very nice and very comfortable. Thanks so much to Erin and Misael (sorry if misspelled) for their friendly, courteous help with our upgrade. All the staff were very friendly. We will certainly stay here on our next visit to California.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the terrace suites are definitely worth the money. They are so spacious and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites! We are always delighted to hear back from guests regarding their stay and we are pleased to hear that you loved the view and were able to enjoy it with your family. I am very happy to hear that our staff was ready and available to assist you with your upgrade and any other request you may have had. We cannot wait to welcome you back and we thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was dissappointed in this hotel. Even though it had been recently rennovated, it looked old. For $200 a night, I would expect a larger, prettier room. The room we had was small. It had a tiny ktichenette and the bathroom was also small. It should not have been $179 + parking. I could see this as a $120 or so hotel for snorkelers but not this price.

The location is good. Our room faced the ocean and that is really the only good thing I can say about it. I agree with one of the reviews that said that the area is smelly. It is pretty gross. I won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. La Jolla Cove Suites has several room types, from 200 sq.ft. up to 1400 sq.ft., so there is a lot of choice when it comes to how big of a room you want. We do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future and perhaps try one of our deluxe suites which are very large and have full kitchens, a huge bathroom and of course, the beautiful oceanfront balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of this motel cannot be beat. We chose this hotel specifically for that reason. It's not your 5-$tar hotel - but then again, we didn't want that! There is no AC and the bathroom was a bit small - but this place offers great bang-for-the-buck. We were in town just a night or two for a wedding and wanted something near the ocean. The view was fantastic from our balcony, and the beach & park were within easy walking distance. We especially liked the free continental hot breakfast served on the rooftop. What a view! The selection was great and the breakfast area was kept clean and well stocked by a professional and courteous staff. We definitiely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We rented the mini suite because our adult daughter was traveling with us and wanted a balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy to hear that you found the location, views and our hot breakfast much to your liking. On your next stay with us we would be happy to install an air conditioner in your room before you check in. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!


Kimburley VanHaaster
Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoy coming to the La Jolla Cove Suites. Yes, there periodically was an odor issue from the coast, but I wouldn't think of staying elsewhere for our visit. The parking charge, on top of premium hotel rates, was a bit annoying. The view is amazing. Reasonable kitchen facilities. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I am happy to hear that that staff was helpful and friendly. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#15 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with guestrooms, full suites with kitchenettes & cottages, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private ocean front guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.