We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Beach Hotel with a plus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Cove Suites to your Saves list
La Jolla Cove Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 30% in La Jolla
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Sunny Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Typical Beach Hotel with a plus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

OK, If you are staying at the beach and it’s under the cost of your weekly paycheck a night, you’re not staying at a 5 star resort, however the La Jolla Cove Suites just might foot the bill for the low cost get away. Planted within feet of La Jolla Beach and La Jolla Cove, this beach front hotel (as beach front as they get in that area) has a rather large room, most likely in the 400-500 sq ft size and over looks La Jolla Beach. Walking distance to everything including the Prospect Street, this a great hotel for a reasonable price. Beware, it is NOT luxury in any sense but more of a 50’s – 60’s California hotel. My room came with a Kitchenette, Small Refrigerator, One private Bedroom (fold out in the Living room) and one great view. The Bathroom is small, hovering in the 100 sq ft arena. Add to that a nice sized swimming pool and a Jacuzzi you have a great weekend getaway. This may not be best for the kids as there is no beach access near this Hotel, but then again, it has Caves to explore! There is a small and safe swim beach near by, no waves but you might have to fight off the sea lions for it (or share it). Either way it's a great experience! One more thing, this room is NOT for the TV lover. TV's are flat LCD but small (I never watched it myself). WiFi is Available on the roof and in the Business Center. Most likely NOT in the room!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be a Beach view with a few exceptions. Get the view at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Hopefully by the time you visit us again we will have completed putting WiFi into every room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    212
    72
    58
    78
See reviews for
212
190
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is by far the best value in La Jolla. Stayed with friends in a one bedroom suite with a connecting regular room. Even with two rooms the price was half of what you would pay at the other hotels in the area and the views are spectacular. They have parking which is impossible to find around the beach and are in walking distance of everything in the town. I read that they have upgraded the decor which is the only thing it needed. I used to live in La Jolla and have seen all the hotels so I can honestly say, you can't beat this one. We stayed in room 201 which is a corner room that faces both the park and the cove. You can sit on the balcony and people watch or catch a beautiful sunset.
Staff is friendly and very helpful with directions and dining choices which are plentiful in town. Almost all the restaurants in town are good but my recommendations are Georges at the Cove for either drinks on their rooftop or if you want to spluge dinner downstairs, Cody's for an afternoon snack and La Valenica Hotel has the best Sunday brunch you can find.

Room Tip: Rooms 201,301, 401 are corner suites with the best views. The higher up the less noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Michelle,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. The staff and I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The location of this hotel and the view cannot be beat. The staff is very professional and courteous. Once they finish all the rennovations, it should be a premier place to stay in La Jolla. Our room had been rennovated and was very comfortable. The roof top deck was such a lovely place to enjoy our breakfast each morning and would be a beautiful place for a wedding or evening cocktail party.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Lookingforseagl…,

Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased that you found our location and view unbeatable! We hope that you will visit us again soon so that you may take advantage of some of the exciting changes we have planned for our hotel. Thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites!

Sincerely,



Kimburley VanHaaster
Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nfld
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

As many of the other posters mentioned the view is extraordinary. I stayed with my wife and toddler for abut a week. I found the location, self serve laundry, pool, grill, proximity to the beach very convienent. The room decore was dated - spent little time looking at the room and a. Lot of time looking at the view.

The service provided by the staff is better than any of the four or five star resorts at which I have stayed. All service requests were accommodated and were done so with impressive speed.

I have to say the maid service was inconsistent. example: One of the strange issues was I spilt some coffee -tried to get it out of the carpet but there was a stain. None of the maids attempted to clean. I had to advise the front desk to have the maid pay some attention to the issue.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear rewqasdcx,

Thank you for your glowing review of our property! We were so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the many amenities that our hotel has to offer. Thank you for your high praise of our customer service, it is something we take great pride in providing each and every guest.


We appreciate your input on ways in which we can improve and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites!

Sincerely,
Kim VanHaaster
Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The view is priceless, they are due that much. The older rooms though are in dire need of maintenance. The railings (i.e. room 322) look like they would fail be pushing on it slightly, and the footings of the railing looked like the concrete was spalled, and they used 'bondo' to hold it together and painted over it. The bathrooms were small, fixtures were old, and there's no thermostat. So the rooms are old, but staff was friendly I'm sure they are trying to hold high standards and keep the price over $100.00. The TV (i.e. advert. as a flat screen) was smaller than my computer screen (i.e. about 15" ). And no microwave. So ask if your room looks like the picture in the ad.
Guys, don't let my review deter you unless you're looking for a touch of elegance...this ain't it. But the price special was modest.

Room Tip: The hotel is a non-smoking room, but the neighbors were smoking on the patio and had a hibachi hooke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear SidKim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy our “priceless view”, we think it is very special as well. We also appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. At the present moment we are undergoing renovations that will affect the entire property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that we may share these exciting changes.

Thank you again for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites.

Sincerely,

Kimburley VanHaaster
Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Amazing experience, the deluxe room was so clean and spacious, even had a full kitchen (stove, microwave, big refrigerator, all dishes. HUGE 5 closets in the hallway, a sofa bed and did I mentioned the VIEW?? the amazing view!!. All I wanted to do is sit on that balcony and take all in...Amazing!! ...We will return...WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Oh..They placed fresh yummy cookies as a welcome, and they have those same yummy cookies everyday from 10-9 pm at the cafe (the breakfast area) for FREE with complimentary coffee or tea, and the VIEW!!...It was so convenience the provided parking garage and parking spaces inside the property also for FREE.

The only thing I can say is that at the breakfast buffet "I wish they had yogurt or some kind of protein" for those of us who are on a gluten free diet, and dry non-dairy products for the coffee.

The decor is dated...but WHO CARES!! with that view you hardly notice, and they were very confortable. Perfect for a big family who likes to cook

Room Tip: You have to ask for your extra needs...like if you need more coffee or shampoo or towels they’ll bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (as well as the cookies)! Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. We wanted to inform you that we are currently undergoing an extensive remodel of our suites so upon your return you will be able to enjoy the updated suite and décor along with the million dollar view. We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to you returning to your home away from home here at La Jolla Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the La Jolla Cove Suites just for one evening April 19. I had read the reviews from previous guests and decided to give it a try. We were looking for a great affordable place to stay in La Jolla, downtown with an ocean view. I had checked rates prior to our stay, but had not booked the room. We are a gay couple from Palm Springs and just wanted an overnight, beach getaway. We spent the day at the beach and decided to check out the hotel and availability. What a pleasant surprise it was. We were greeted by Bianca and Erica, what great personality, service, and accomodating to our ocean view requst of rooms. The room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the park and the ocean, great balcony, for a nice bottle of champagne! We took advantage of the hot tob, complimentary breakfast (even waffles) and I went to the gym, which was all included! The room was clean, had a kitchenette, and comfortable. We are both pleased that we have found a nice getaway to a great hotel with ocean views that is affordable. We look forward to a repeat visit within a couple of months, whenever we can get away. Thanks again to Bianca and Erika!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ for an ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Shift Supervisor at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you both and I was very pleased that I was able to assist you with your room accommodations for your night away from home. I’m delighted that the beautiful ocean view from your balcony along with the bottle of champagne made your overnight beach getaway even better. You both were so very sweet and gracious and it is serving guests such as yourself that makes me love coming into work every day. It was an honor having you stay with us and I am looking forward to having you return as I would love to thank you in person for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with guestrooms, full suites with kitchenettes & cottages, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private ocean front guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.