We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy but not stuffy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donovan's of La Jolla

Donovan's of La Jolla
1250 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
(858) 450-6666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Donovan's of La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,261 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Village Drive at Genesee
Description: Celebrate Restaurant Week all year long! Enjoy a Chop House Salad, one of three special entrees, and your choice of desserts, all for only $50! Donovan's rich and intimate ambience is enhanced by world-class unobtrusive service. The Chef serves 100% USDA Prime beef 100% of the time. Donovan's wine list of over 700 wines features the best the world has to offer. Wine tasting dinners available. 6 private dining rooms to choose from.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very classy but not stuffy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The steak is excellent as it should be at a steakhouse of this caliber.

In other similar establishments the staff act like they're not working for you. Rather you're in a barter, steak for cash, so you're equally serving them.

What's unique about Donovan's is the wait staff is more hospitable, making you feel comfortable and catered to which is a courtesy common in your average sit down restaurant but absent in most fancy ones.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    38
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Was very good. We love steakhouses and take the kids when we travel to try different ones...Our Favorite is Matros in Beverly Hills but Donovans was very good, as well. Great atmosphere and tender steaks is a great mix for a wonderful meal!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Donovan's - One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been to several of the major steakhouses: Ruth's Chris, Morton's, Fleming's, LG's, etc, and Donovan's is every bit as good as any of them.

While they are all pretty much the same (great food and nice ambiance), there are slight distinctions between the top restaurants.

I'd recommend Donovan's to any person who enjoys a great steak. They are one of the best and can compete toe to toe with any steakhouse nationwide. Pricey, but hey, aren't they all?

Try Donovan's. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak in San Diego County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is must visit at least once a month for me. They have an excellent menu, wine list, cocktails if that's your thing, ambiance, servers, bartenders, valet, etc. You will not go away hungry or disappointed. They also have other locations in San Diego.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Has yet to be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Donovan's is our ALL TIME favorite restaurant! We have dined everywhere from the very expensive down to the hole in the wall across the US and this place is still our #1. The service and the food were unbeatable. Every single need was taken care of before we had to ask and the food was the best. We ordered a steak, the lobster, and a crab cake, along with some other items. It was all perfect. They had an excellent wine selection and we will continue to frequent Donovan's every time we are in San Diego.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donovan's of La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Donovan's of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donovan's of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.