We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice scenery with a cool breeze on a hot day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Soledad

Mount Soledad
6905 La Jolla Scenic Drive South, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-2314
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Soledad like an insider
Top Rated
$40*
and up
La Jolla Coast Bike Tour with Downhill Ride from...
Ranked #4 of 58 things to do in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice scenery with a cool breeze on a hot day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's worth the drive up, that's all there is to say. It was a bit hazy when we went so we didn't get a crystal clear view of the ocean but it was enjoyable to see 360 degrees.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    216
    33
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic View of La Jolla Cove and San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Went to dinner with friends and they told my wife and I we HAD to go up to Mount Soledad and see the view. They stated if you only do one more thing make this it, well I have to say I wasn't disappointed. 360 degree view of La Jolla Cove and San Diego. Great views of the oceans and the valley. Traffic was a little backed up trying to get there and you do go up through a neighborhood so respect them and watch your speed, but the views are amazing and it is FREE!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Panoramic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

You can't beat the 360 degree view at the top of Mount Soledad in La Jolla. It's just a short drive to the top of Mt. Soledad where you are rewarded with breathtaking views, a war memorial, and a grassy area and benches to sit and take in the scenery.

Warning: Gates close at 10 PM.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

It was an easy drive up the hill. The parking is free. Great panoramic views of San Diego. The monuments are touching. We spent less than an hour there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
“Sunrise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Traveling on a Mother/Daughter trip; 75 year old Mom says, ‘I have never seen a sunrise!’ Check that off the bucket list….Mount Soledad, the highest point in La Jolla, was the perfect spot to watch the sun rise over the mountain tops and spill over La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean. We got there early enough that the city lights were still twinkling; the Mormon Temple lit up. As dawn began to break, the Pacific went from a dark purple to pink to orange, before showing its blue tint. It was so peaceful. There were very few of the parking spaces taken at the very top. A few of the other people up that early were those doing their morning Yoga, running their dogs, or jogging/hiking. A day with a beautiful Sunrise, is always a great day!

Also on site is the memorial that honors U.S. veterans, living and deceased. Surrounding the huge 29 foot Cross are low walls with the pictures and information of those who have served.

Leaving Mount Soledad we took the scenic route down; twists and steep hills gave short glimpse after glimpse of the gorgeous Pacific below.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Soledad also viewed

 

Been to Mount Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Soledad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.