We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pacific Cuisine Concept, Mediocre Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's

Roy's
8670 Genesee Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92122
+1 858-455-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,259 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Sushi, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)
Transit: Bus stop within walking distance
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Rancho Santa Fe, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Pacific Cuisine Concept, Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had been to a number of a Roys (Kihei, Hawaii Kai, Nicolina, Peachtree, NewportBeach, san diego harbor, LJ, etc). We stopped being a patron after waiting for over an hour, with a reservation, on mothers day, for our large party. We decided to give the new rebranded Roys LJ another try last friday. Amazingly, the food quality is still average, service is below par delivered by poorly trained staff. My multiple requests for bread never materialized. My waitress seemed distracted. Even food runners seemed distant. My hibachi salmon was drenched in a sauce that is way way too sour. My soft shell crab rolls were extremely fishy (i.e. OLD). Deeply disappointed. I truly enjoyed Roys... Once upon a time. Too bad! Maybe I will give Waikiki another try when i visit Halekulani in August. Stay tune.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aloha Happy Hour Fun Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are from Hawaii Kai Oahu where the original Roy's is located. It is our favorite place to eat in the islands. When I saw there was one here I though we can eat there at home but then I saw where there is a Aloha Happy Hour every day so I could not pass it up. The food is as good as it is in Hawaii. This location was recently redecorated and rebranded to Roy Yamaguchi. The bar area was made larger with a large comfortable u-shaped bar and pub height chairs and tables on both sides of the bar. As always the staff is very attentive and friendly. There are $6 signature cocktails, $6 appetizers, discounted beer and a selection of discounted wine by the glass to pick from. We are happy hour people and this definitely is top notch not matter where you are in the world! Aloha Happy Hour is every day from 4:30 - 6:30 pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAsiatraveler293924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the interior changes at Roy's...although now the name is slightly different. The menu has also changed somewhat, however they were able to prepare some of our favorites off the old menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
362 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Roy's happy hour rules!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I always try and make it to a Roy's when I'm out west, and it was great as usual. One of the best and most delicious happy hours out there, and the Roy's in La Jolla does not disappoint. My favorite is the spicy tuna roll, with the shrimp roll and beef sliders a close second. And the staff is always so friendly and helpful. I've been to this Roy's many times and go back every time I'm in town on business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Radeksgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokelumne Hill, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A night out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We did not make reservations, but we were able to get a table in the bar. The atmosphere was nice. We enjoyed our dinner. But I must say my highlight was not ordering the desert which sounded amazing and I heard so much about. Instead we had a chocolate blackberry martini. It is now one of my favorite deserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing