We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy's worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla

Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla
8670 Genesee Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92122
858-455-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $6 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)
Transit: Bus stop within walking distance
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Roy's worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Valet parking makes things easy. Packed. They loose reservations. Food very good, Island taste, fresh, some interesting offerings, room loud but what isn't these days. Service good, we have eaten here many times, obviously many fish offerings and some good fusion cross over dishes. We go back several times a year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello there!

Just wanted to thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you at Roy's soon.
Did we really lose your reservation? Please contact me directly so I can make your next reservation and ensure you have no problems when you arrive next time!

Happy New Year!

Mahalo, Jeannie Lee at Roy's Restaurants
jlee@roysrestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    54
    28
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent foor, but a tad noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food at Roy's is superb, but the architecture leaves a wide open dining room that allows voices to travel quite far, making it difficult to have a conversation if one does not want to shout.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food..and a great family restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We celebrated our daughters 18th birthday. It was a family affair so we decided to take our 6 year old twins. When we arrived the table was set including two children’s mats with coloring sheets and children’s menus. The twins felt very special, my 18 year old was very happy and I was grateful I found a family restaurant with "adult" quality food. Great job "Roy's" again...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food and chocolate souffle is to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Roy's is found in many US cities. If you have a chance, check them out. I have been to 6 now and in fact, when i travel i do a search to see if there is one I can dine at. Love the Hawaiian Fusion cooking. Tuna and butter-fish YUMMY.
Service AMAZING.
You must give them a try. I hope your experience is an amazing as my many times has been.
Nice location as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely and Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Loved the look and feel, the service, the excellent dinner, the varied menu, the romantic feel. First class experience on all counts.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy Yamaguchi's Pacific Rim Cuisine - La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.