We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lunch Perfect Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's at the Cove

George's at the Cove
1250 Prospect St, Ste 110, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3618
+1 858-454-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George's at the Cove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,263 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: One renowned name. One dazzling ocean view. Three levels of inspired dining experiences. All yours to be savored at George's at the Cove in La Jolla, California. If you want a fine dining experience unlike any other, a special evening awaits at California Modern, featuring unique California cuisine tasting menus that change daily from one of San Diego's most admired chefs, Trey Foshee. If you're in the mood for a more casual dining experience try the Ocean Terrace, acclaimed as the region's best rooftop dining, or George's Bar, a relaxed setting where indoors and outdoors flow together. Reservations and gift cards are available online.
Staten Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Perfect Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a table in front overlooking the water on the rooftop patio. It was a beautiful sunny day so we would have loved anything they served us. Therefore, it was a bonus that the food was fresh, flavorful, and beautifully presented. I would take off .25 stars if I could because I found the fish too thick in the taco and the bread too stale on the sandwich. Everything else was so delicious, I rounded up. Service was excellent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    295
    96
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was one of stops for lunch offered by Tim of Tour Guide Tim's. We were accompanied by another couple from the tour. We were seated immediately and chose the bar area. The views were amazing blue on blue and went on for miles.
We ordered the fish tacos and beer/wine. They were very good and the prices reasonable. Portions were generous. The restaurant was very busy and line ups were evident as we left, and we took a later lunch!
My wife did complain about the smell. We were told it was decaying kelp. But tour guide tim also said that there is an issue with bird/sea lion waste and no way to get rid of it that is environmentally friendly. Apparently it is not an constant issue but a seasonal one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Food and service excellent but smell will send you home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

i love it here, been here and have recommended it many times. Sadly, this was my last time here and in La Jolla restaurants near the cove until the smell from the cove is gone. Its unimaginable that the restaurant association alone does not force the city for faster action with this problem. I'd burn piñon pots or mesquite on the patios to cover the smell, but you have to find a way to disguise this ugliness. Get creative and restore this great treasure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

George's was recommended to us and as there was a wait for a table, we decided to ask to wait for a table right on the edge with the best view and go downstairs for a drink while we waited. Sharon had a 'blue cheese martini' which was a first. Food was very good - not cheap, but worth it. Despite wait times and jam packed restaurant we weren't rushed and enjoyed the view and very friendly server too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible Smell!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I'm sorry to say that we never ate at George's.

The sad story is this! We entered the restaurant and were shown to a table overlooking the water. Nearby, there was an open door to an outdoor dining area.

As we began looking at menus, the smell became so bad that after a short discussion we realized that we would not be able to enjoy a meal here. The atmosphere was really nauseating. We had to leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's at the Cove also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to George's at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.