We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple's Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's at the Cove

George's at the Cove
1250 Prospect St, Ste 110, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3618
+1 858-454-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George's at the Cove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,070 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: One renowned name. One dazzling ocean view. Three levels of inspired dining experiences. All yours to be savored at George's at the Cove in La Jolla, California. If you want a fine dining experience unlike any other, a special evening awaits at California Modern, featuring unique California cuisine tasting menus that change daily from one of San Diego's most admired chefs, Trey Foshee. If you're in the mood for a more casual dining experience try the Ocean Terrace, acclaimed as the region's best rooftop dining, or George's Bar, a relaxed setting where indoors and outdoors flow together. Reservations and gift cards are available online.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couple's Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I came here after reading many reviews. Before being seated we went to the bar on the second level. The bar has a nice midern look and great service. After having a few drinks we were seated and the view was great. We ate thier fish tacos and steak frites. Both dishes were great. This place is one of the best in San Diego.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    371
    129
    55
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and atmosphere - food very so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrived spot-on sunset for a fabulous view, - drinks at the bar first, given a superb front table shortly thereafter. My wife's chardonnay was fine, my own merlot very poor - a total of $32 = wow! The fish taco starter was nothing special, my wife's spaghetti/clams OK, and my own steak frites was pleasant enough, but not what your average Frenchman would recognise as such (a chunk of steak cut into slices). One more chardonnay, a beer, and bill for $125. The view really accounted for most of the value..........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breezy Terrace View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The only thing I disliked was that it was a 45 min wait to sit SOLO on the upstairs terrace...so I chose to go to the main level and have lunch.

The special was a halibut ceviche. OMG delish. It was served with tortilla chips, and I ate it for lunch with a side salad. It was a lot of food, and I wasn't able to finish both...but I wish I wouldn't have ordered the salad!

It was a special, so I think it is only there when Halibut is in season (*so the waitress said).

The view here is spectacular and the terrace is the place to be! Next time, I think that 45 min will be worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Food, incredible Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is ALWAYS busy ! I have been a few times and have always had to wait 5 mins for a table. The place is always buzzing with a vibrant energy, it is a really fun place to come for lunch. The rooftop terrace has glass walls and views out to the Ocean. It is beautiful!!

The food has always been delicious. I think the prices are great, a little over $10 for a good lunch. The fries are yummy !! ANd great salads and sandwiches. The menu has character and the food is always fresh and very tasty. I have never been disappointed.

You can also sit at the bar for drinks and cocktails, enjoying the view of the Ocean.

Great place, and always worth the wait at the door !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I would've given this review top ratings if it wasn't for the pretentious hostess at the front door. While we had reservations, we were still asked to wait for a while after our reservation time, and couldn't help but catch the attitude she was giving to many of the other customers. Other than her, the food was delicious. Try the Cuban. Unless you are sitting against the glass it's not easy to see the ocean. Wait staff was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's at the Cove also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to George's at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.